We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitas heaven - a hell of a night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sita's Heaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sita's Heaven
Ranked #45 of 145 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sitas heaven - a hell of a night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this place:
- pickup from station and tuk tuk driver was available for us whenever we wanted;
- owner laid back and helpful without being overbearing.

On the down side:
- downstairs rooms have no outside window and are open to the hall for ventilation so we could hear the other guests talking in the common area when we wanted to sleep. So take an upstairs room or nothing.
- neighbourhood filled with barking dogs at night, it's infernal!
- for added fun on the night we stayed, there was a Buddhist carnival which toured town stopping 3 times in front of the house between 2 am and 5 am, complete with flutes drums and chanting - bad luck on the night, but result was our poorest nights sleep of the holidays.

So not a fail, but can't recommend this one!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleFrance_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    64
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
110
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We loved our stay at Sita's Heaven in Ella, especially for the price - such good value for money! The rooms were clean and of a good size with a good bathroom. Great balcony where breakfast and other meals are served, with beautiful view of Ella rock - especially first thing in the morning. The breakfast was the best we had anywhere in Sri Lanka - I would highly recommend going for the Sri Lankan breakfast. We also ate here a couple of nights when we were too tired from walking to go into town, and the food was really good. Though it is not "in the centre" of Ella (ie on the main street), it is really close, less than 10 minutes walk, or 150 rupees in a tuk tuk and it was nice to be away from the traffic. The walks to Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock can both be started from the Guesthouse. The owner's son,who helps out with the guesthouse, has his own tuk tuk and took us on a day tour of the surrounding area including temples, waterfalls and a beautiful tea factory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a rip off! They move their children out of their rooms to accommodate guests. Whilst this can be the custom in some countries when you stay in someone's home, usually you have somewhere to put clothes such as a wardrobe, are made to feel welcome and treated as one of the the family. This place is using the tourist trade as a money spinner. It is a building site, there is no welcome, not even a smile, and I cannot agree with any positive reports on this place. However, in it's defence it was clean. We were two families staying, we cut our trip short and left as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACJColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sita's Heaven had one of the best views in any place we stayed in Sri Lanka. From the little veranda where we ate, we had a fabulous view of Ella Rock and the incredible valley below. The service was exceptional with very kind and helpful staff, and the owner was friendly and went out of his way to be helpful. The food was absolutely delicious, particularly the Sri Lankan breakfast. It was nice to not be in the centre of town, yet be only a 10 minute walk through a pretty little village laneway to get to town. The only (very minor) negative was that you could hear everything happening in the room next door. Otherwise, Sita's Heaven is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellabell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

It has a great view, delicious food and is run by a really lovely family. The host can't do enough for you without being interfering. There's a great little track to the main street, just be sure to bring a torch for walking at night. We stayed for 3 nights and loved it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank krista w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sitas heaven was a wonderful place we came by through a recommendation. It turned out to be a beautiful surprise. The deck which serves meals off the main building has fantastic views over Ella rock and you can see many a bird life frolicking in the garden , it is ony a short 5 minute stroll to town through the property's back garden and only a few minutes walk to little Adams peak which is a fairly easy climb to the top. The owner j.p knows what travellers need and is always willing to lend a hand, even calling your next destination in advance for you. They have a taxi, tuk tuk and long distance driver based on site, with modern vehicles available. There transport costs are displayed in the lobby so u know exactly what you are paying before you leave. All of which are very reasonable and fair. We stayed in the new building at the back, which has an upstairs bed for the little ones. Tip book for breakfast and dinner the dinners are the best in town, 5 individual curries which I imagine is what they taste like in heaven. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatRolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 16-17 may for only one night, we were passing though, but if you like to walk, Ella is a good place to stay. Guesthouse was more than okay with a great view, Nice rooms, Nice owner and Free wifi. No air-con. Recommandable place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Ella Flower Garden Resort
0.5 mi away
Sun Top Inn
Sun Top Inn
#47 of 145 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Folly
Little Folly
#9 of 92 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#28 of 145 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#53 of 145 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Planters Bungalow Ella
Planters Bungalow Ella
#19 of 145 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sita's Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sita's Heaven

Property: Sita's Heaven
Address: Passara Rd | Sapumalthenna, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sita's Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sita`s Heaven Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing