We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, quiet rest place”
Review of Sita's Heaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sita's Heaven
Ranked #48 of 153 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great views, quiet rest place”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Pleasant, spacious, clean room. Great views from balcony just outside room - where we had breakfast. Quiet. Good location for area walks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwayfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    64
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
109
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

It is probably worth getting a tut tut from the main village (if you have bags) as it is not easy to get to in the midday heat. This should cost around 100 rupees!! The walk to the GH was worth the amazing views from the balcony....It is a lovely place to stay for a couple of nights to relax!! The rooms are clean and comfortable and it was great to have hot water. The brekfast was also good....the fresh mango's from the garden were very tasty!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Ella was a nice little village, worth a day or two. Sita's Heaven was ok, but having visited 5 different guesthouses in Sri Lanka during the trip I would say there must be better in Ella. It was clean, the food was alright and I did hear people complaining about other guesthouses but I feel as though i would try a different place if I went back to Ella. It is quite a way out of the main village and as Ella is small, not busy and not polluted, i see no reason to stay out of the village, as there was nothing for the kids to do here, except that the view of Ella Rock is good! The family were nice but it was necessary to ask for everything from towels and toilet paper, to hot water. One night (at 7pm) there was no hot water and I was told that it was because everyone had been showering - this meant I could not wash the kids properly until the morning Maybe i was expecting too much for the price paid, but again, having stayed in other guesthouses around Sri Lanka for the same price, this was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at Sita's Heaven for 3 nights and found it to be lovely. The owner JP speaks great English and is great for a chat or information. His son, Sitara, is very shy but friendly and helpful. Sita's Heaven is located a 10 minute walk out of town, and the walk follows a small path through the local village. Because it is out of town, it is very quiet and you get the best views.

The room was very simple (tiled floor, big bed and ensuite with hot water), clean but lacking any kind of character. The bed, although big, was made up of two singles - which doesn't work well for cuddles on cold nights. It was cool in the room, but plenty of blankets were provided and so once in bed we were warm enough. There is a main balcony - which has the most stunning view, but this is shared by all guests on this floor. While we were staying there, they were building more rooms, which will have their own balconies.

The food here is worth coming for alone! We ate in every night, sat on the balcony and devoured an array of curries prepared by JPs wife. Some of the best Sri Lankan curries I we had. JP uses all local ingredients, with a lot coming from their own garden.

Room Tip: Once the new rooms are built with their own balcony - they will be the best. If you are in a group t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

this is a place you come to either go treking or do nothing but admire the view from the balcony.
we stayed for 3 days, the place itself is clean, its cool enough that you do not need a fan,
the owner JP speaks great English and is very informative
the food is very tasty, and sitting on the balcony for breakfast is enough to put a smile on your face
I would recommend this place to anyone who would like to chill out for a few days

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bournemouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We travelled to Ella for the views and the view from the balcony at Sita'a Heaven couldn't have been better; literally staring straight down Ella's Gap. After the long train journey from Kandy, JP arranged for us to be collected from the train station and we were shown to a decent sized double room, with seperate shower room.

JP also gave us a number of walks to go on, so we headed to check out the views from the top of Little Adam's Peak, before heading through paddy fields and tea plantations, to the local tea factory.

On the second night we ate at Sita's, and JP's wide cooked us the BEST meal we had in Sri Lanka; all the curries were amazing, but the Black Chicken and bananna flower curry deserve a special mention.

JP also organised a car to take us to Yalla, via Ella falls and Buduruwagala Temple

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wewillcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at Sita's Heaven in Sept this year and were truly glad that we did. Mr. JP, the owner, and his son Sitara made us feel welcome, the room was spotless and there was hot water in the bathroom. We had the best curries and the best view in Srilanka here! If you are in the neighborhood , don't miss out on this amazing experience!
Thank you so much for everything, Mr. JP and the rest of the familiy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrosAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.5 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.5 mi away
Sun Top Inn
Sun Top Inn
#50 of 153 in Ella
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella Flower Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#55 of 153 in Ella
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#32 of 153 in Ella
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Folly
Little Folly
#9 of 111 in Ella
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sita's Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sita's Heaven

Property: Sita's Heaven
Address: Passara Rd | Sapumalthenna, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sita's Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sita`s Heaven Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing