We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, nice view”
Review of Sita's Heaven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sita's Heaven
Ranked #50 of 184 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Sita's Heaven. The room and bathroom were clean and the owner friendly. The balcony has a nice view. We were the only ones there, until the last night, so it was quiet. We took the smaller room but got the bigger one as we were staying for 3 nights.
The walk to town was lovely, not long and we also walked back at night as for 2 nights we sampled some food in different restaurants. We ate at Sita's Heaven for one night, the food was good, but at other places you get a little more dishes for the same price.
The walk back from Ella' s village at night was OK, if you go via the shortcut bring a flashlight,(if you are as unadventurous as I am), otherwise you may want to go via the road, it takes you 4 minutes or so longer and is easier.
The only thing was that the toilet had some problems flushing, but that was solved.
JP gives good advice on walks with a map and check the guestbook as well, as helpful advice is also there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heleen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sita's Heaven. It is truly a place that is hard to leave, with a view that opens up onto a dramatic valley with Ella Rock in the distance just meters from your door. It is quiet here, away from the buses and clatter of the main street, and JP and his family are gracious hosts. JP himself is a wonderfully grounded and forward-thinking man, and our talks together were most enlightening. All in all, a lovely four days.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank liminalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

5 minutes walking from the Ella village, Sita's Heaven has a beautiful terrace with an amazing view on the valley, included the Ella Rock. We had a bright room and we slept so well, thanks to the nice temperature of this part of Sri Lanka. We spent two nights and would like to stay more, so we recommend it for travellers, even for the fair and cheap price. The dinner we had was not one of the best, but we are sure there are other good dishes we did not taste. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

just stayed there for 1 night. the hotel we previously booked refused to host us and the owner of this one was very nice to book a room for us over a phone without any secured deposit or payments.

the view from the guest house was amazing, the room was basic but very clean with bed nets, they had a common area which was excellent . breakfast is served in the balcony and you can enjoy the spectacular views of Ella while having your morning coffee . I would recommend this place for all my friends and if I am back i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We arrived for a 2 night stay, pre-booked in February and confirmed by e-mails and phone, to be met by a very surly owner who said he had booked us in to another guesthouse nearby "which would be quieter for us!" No apologies, no truthful explanation. Found him very untrustworthy.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sujen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Small, friendly, family-run guest house with lovely views onto the hills. An interesting walk into 'town' (during daylight). The room was very basic but clean, a bed with nets. Friendly service, bringing us drinks and snacks onto the communal balcony. We enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffAstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had a lovely time in Ella, JP picked us up from the station, the rooms were basic ensuite with mosquito nets and fans, not a lot of storage space, but very good value for the price. We liked the shared space outside the rooms as we got to know our neighbours. Spent time sitting on the balcony, the view too beautiful to describe, watching and listening to all kinds of birds, having drinks brought to us. JP was lovely he organised trips to Ella Rock, Little Adam's Peak, swimming in the waterfall, told us stories and fed us lovely food. Yes it was expensive, but worth it, one of the best meals we had home cooked and very tasty. Lovely breakfasts of Sri Lankan (spicy) omelette plates of pineapple, mango, bananas, tea, The service was informal and friendly and so helpful. It was 15 minute walk into Ella, which is very small but worth a look around. (Take a torch it got very dark) Yes there was noise, the poor man is being tortured by the laundry next door playing loud rock music sometimes early in the morning and the afternoon. But hopefully this will get sorted out soon and honestly it didn't bother me that much.

Room Tip: Lovely family appartment on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanjanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.5 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#6 of 12 in Ella
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun Top Inn
Sun Top Inn
#54 of 184 in Ella
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
#37 of 184 in Ella
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 184 in Ella
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#35 of 184 in Ella
298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Planters Bungalow Ella
Planters Bungalow Ella
#14 of 184 in Ella
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sita's Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sita's Heaven

Address: Passara Rd | Sapumalthenna, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sita's Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sita`s Heaven Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing