We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking little guest house”
Review of Ravana Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravana Heights
Ranked #56 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Scandalously we don't believe the below reviews do justice to the character of the guest house owner. He perhaps borders on the eccentric, but he has a heart of gold, doing his upmost to accommodate all of my wife's numerous and difficult requests (who needs 'em?).

As with everything in "lonely plant" Sri Lanka, 120usd night seems expensive for a double room bb, but is consistent with the competition and is possibly more of a reflection on my own reluctance to make a reach for the meagre contents of my wallet.

Otherwise it's a clean, friendly, comfortable environment with great views of the surroundings. Oh and the dinner in the evening is also worth a try.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 195 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

A great hotel perched on the mountainside overlooking Ella Gap. They serve huge breakfasts and delicately flavoured Thai meals. The staff are charming and the room was very comfortable. From all the rooms and the verandah you can enjoy the impressive view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here with 2 young kids and had a great time. Despite being understaffed the owner personally got involved in everything and had very interesting views to share on the country and area - a great character and couldn't have been more helpful. His 9 year old daughter played beautiful with my kids and much fun was had whilst we sat and admired the fantastic views. We'd love to come back and explore more of the trails in the area and great food here and in the village (just a short walk away).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

just a short walk from everything ella has to offer - stayed in one of the new rooms upstairs which was wonderfully spacious with a balcony and fantastic views (but then would imagine views from all rooms pretty good) the food was fantastic - never got to meet the owner but staff could not have been more helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoialondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

A great guesthouse in with amazing views. Booked for one night - extended to three simply because it was so enjoyable being here. Perfect location on the hillside with amazing views overlooking Ella gap. 3 minute walk into 'town' max - really perfect location.

Beds are super comfortable - rooms are spotless with lots of natural light. Good Wifi signal. Water pressure good in super clean bathrooms. All the rooms seam to have balconies/porches for gazing at the view. Couldn't ask for more really.

Breakfast is huge and super tasty. Dinner has a Thai slant and is super tasty - perhaps a bit more than in town but good.

Get chatting to the owner also - a really nice man who knows tons about the area and seems to know everyone in Sri Lanka. Good guy with great knowledge, a good smile and friendly staff.

Truly don't know what a negative review could be about here. If I come back to Ella - will certainly stay here.

If there is any complaint it could be that laundry is too expensive.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights here while in Ella. It's a great little guest house with amazing views and really lovely staff. Breakfast was fantastic, on the terrace overlooking the breathtaking scenery. The room was really comfortable and had great views from the big windows. It's a 5 minute walk from the busy centre of the town so good for some peace and quiet.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a lovely guesthouse situated on the hillside at the edge of Ella. Large rooms with quality beds with lots of light. The Thai evening meal was excellent as was breakfast, I'm sure it's expensive for Ella but it was worth it. The owner likes to chat but we didn/t mind that

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 165 in Ella
661 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planters Bungalow Ella
Planters Bungalow Ella
#18 of 165 in Ella
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravana Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravana Heights

Address: 27 km post Wellaweya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $117 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravana Heights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ravana Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravana Heights Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing