We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Ravana Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravana Heights
Ranked #58 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here with my wife in July for two nights and had a wonderful stay.

We felt very welcome as soon as we arrived. The owner (Jith) was very friendly and talkative and made us feel at home. The food was wonderful, Sri Lankan and Thai food which was really complimentary. It was a set menu and all of the dishes were outstanding.

The location was great, best view in Sri Lanka! Ella is a tiny village so it's not much of a walk to Ravana Heights. The price we paid was exactly the price quoted when we arrived.

I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

The place is small (3 rooms) but they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and knew where to go. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kak_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This small 4 bedroomed guesthouse with its slightly tricky entrance was quite up to expectations.
The price quoted for half board ($97US) was the price we paid on departure.
The serene and charming small garden looks out over the Ella Gap punctuated only by a stray power line. Avid photographers need only to walk up to the Grand Hotel for unencumbered views over the spectacular valley.
Dinner was a delicious fusion of Thai/Sri Lankan components and breakfast on the balcony was quite perfect.
The early morning meditations from the nearby Buddhist temple was a trifle unexpected but was a reminder that early morning is the way to go in sultry conditions.
The owner was very talkative but informative and helpful with directions for mountain strolls.
A/C is not available and not relevant even in midsummer; bathrooms were super clean and dinner music (CDs) atmospheric.
We had been warned that there would be no driver accommodation but there was plenty of choice in the village.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretagarbO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

It was an interesting stay. The owner, Jith, is a character. He is opinionated, eccentric and prides himself on the good Thai-inspired food he serves. He is a self-confessed foodie.
The rooms have an excellent view. The garden is lovely. However, the house is perched on the hill just above a main road, very near the Buddhist temple. Morning prayers may wake you at 6am, or the sound of the buses wheezing up the hill may be your dawn chorus.

We had one supper in the village so we could watch the cricket on the restuarant's tv. You need a torch for your return. We had one supper at the guesthouse. The food was good. The dining experience is not for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SABirder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights in this very clean well run guest house. The owner Jidth was away when I arrived but his staff were very welcoming and very capable. Everything was clean and well provided for inside the guest house but the fantastic view was a real plus. Having tea on the veranda whilst looking out over the plains on the south west of the island towards Kataragama was one of those great moments. When Jidth arrived he proved to be a most genial host with excellent English and a wealth of information about the local area and Sri Lanka in general. In particular he has an extensive knowledge of local walks and was pleased to draw a detailed map for a small party of guests the next day. The other great thing is the food, with Jidth personally cooking some wonderful Sri Lankan/Thai dishes for our evening meal. The only thing that i could perhaps mention as a negative was the hardness of the beds, though Jidth assured me that he's getting some new ones imported.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beetee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We usually stay in much more expensive hotels so staying in $50 / night place we were nervous. But the second we got there it was wonderful. The views are fantastic, the rooms are clean and spacious, each room has a lovely outdoor space.. And the best part is the food. The owner (Mr. Jidth) makes the most delicious Thai food. Everything is home made and herbs come from the herb garden. After having so many buffet dinners this was such a welcome change.. Even if you are not staying there go for dinner. Dinner is $15 per person and he cooks what's fresh and what was bought that day in the market.. Mr Jidth even let me stay in the kitchen and showed me how to make a few dishes. The walks around Ella are fantastic and Jidth is the best to know the area. He drew maps for us and organized a guide.. All in all this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaBStylish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Ravana Heights is great. Great view, great breakfasts, the best dinners we ate in Sri Lanka by a long way, and a charming if occasionally over-talkative host!

The place is slightly chaotically run, but is small and exclusive enough that this just adds to its charm. I think it represents very good value. We had a great stay, slept well, and the owner, Jhit, drew us a map of an excellent walk with beautiful views.

The house is beautiful too. The bedrooms could use some more storage space. Bats flew through the verandah in the evenings catching insects as we sipped our beers. But if there's one thing I'll remember about Ravana Heights, it's the amazing Thai food. And plenty of it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelican20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planters Bungalow Ella
Planters Bungalow Ella
#17 of 165 in Ella
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 165 in Ella
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravana Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravana Heights

Address: 27 km post Wellaweya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $117 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravana Heights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ravana Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravana Heights Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing