We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot. Great views.”
Review of View Point Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Villa
Ranked #43 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Quiet, lovely spot with excellent service. Great breakfasts and dinner (on the expensive side). Clean rooms with rather strange bathrooms. Shower door didn't close. But the views from the balcony were amazing. Lovely to wake up to. Ask for a room that has shade from the morning sun, if you want to sit on the balcony and read.

The place is 6km from Ella and costs 500 -600 rupees each way by tuk tuk. This can easily add up.

Room Tip: Take a room without morning sun.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locomotive_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for View Point Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here just one night and wish we could have stayed longer, it was a lovely laid back place with young friendly staff and a collection of friendly dogs and an elderly cat (Rosie).
We had the first villa up the steps on the right and it was a strange mix of styles but again nothing to offend, there was a comfy bed with a teddy bear, a kettle and water, clean towels in the shower room and an all singing and dancing shower cubicle which was no longer all singing and dancing but had hot water, what more do you need.
The balcony offered stunning views across to Ella rock.
we had some of the best rice and curry of the trip cooked fresh and again served by the young friendly staff and the lion beers were well chilled.
We sat on the porch after dinner and chatted to the staff about life in Sri Lanka and the dreams of owning their own restaurant one day while the dogs looked for a bit of fuss and the cat was clearly in charge!!
Breakfast was served outside and was good, toast and fruit and eggs and coffee then we had to leave.
From reading the previous reports i can see that the laid back style may not be to every ones taste and the bungalows aren't 5* but we loved it and would stay there again if we were in Ella.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great time at Viewpoint villa. Absolutely beautiful view, The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms themselves were great, all private bungalows with a great view over the mountains and surrounding countryside and the Location in Ella is great and the stay was well worth the money. Recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17KarlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a great time on our visit to Ella in March. This hotel was recommended to us by some other travellers and we are very glad we took their recommendation. As it was the beginning of the low season we were able to negotiate the price and were given a very clean, large room with an amazing view. The fish curry was one of the best we had and breakfasts were simple fruit and eggs but on very nice china. The staff were very friendly and even invited us to one of their after hour gatherings for drum playing and dancing. Would recommend hiring a scooter, we hired it one day to go off exploring ourselves through some surrounding villages, amazing.

The villas are 6km out of Ella, a tuk tuk costs about 250 rupees and takes fifteen minutes. Ella is a lovely town but it was great to stay somewhere up in the hills and watch the mist roll in.

Regardless, we would still give this place a top rating, but travellers should note that the staff here are incredibly honest. The day we checked out, one of us left behind two passports, credit cards and the equivalent of AU$150. We didn't realise, but when we got to our next hotel on the south coast, I had four missed calls from the hotel. They had gone to huge effort to contact us by finding our tuk tuk driver who had our number and leaving multiple messages to try and return our belongings, including cash! They even had it arranged to bring the items to us. Very kind, fun, honest and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to any traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had booked the Viewpoint for 3 nights in February 2013 to enable us to relax and unwind after the cultural visits we had made during our 30 day visit to Sri Lanka. We intended to do some walking and to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view

We arrived in the dark and pouring rain. The Viewpoint is situated a 20 minute drive from Ella, along a very bumpy windy road with some hairpin bends and to reach the property you go up a very steep drive.

We were greeted, but not offered a drink, and immediately taken to our villa which was situated at the top of a steep set of steps, which at that point were not lit although it was dark. From outside the villas look amazing, set in nice gardens, all the villas have large balconies with solid wood tables and chairs and fantastic views.

On entering our villa you cannot imagine my disappointment, as I had really been looking forward to this hotel. The room was very dismal, with very little light. The walls were black with mold and the room smelt damp, it was also very cold. There were multi coloured rugs on the floor to cover the damp.

The room had a large double bed with a brightly coloured cover and also a single bed complete with a large teddy. A Kettle, tea/coffee and a fridge and also a fan were supplied. There is no wardrobe, hairdryer or torch.Candles were provided which was a good job as we had a power cut as soon as we got in to the room. It was a good job that my torch was handy to enable us to light the candles.

The bathroom was very large, but again black mold on the walls and floor and very cold. It had a large all singing all dancing shower but only the main shower part worked and the water went on to the bathroom floor as a door was missing. The shower was not fitted properly and wobbled. We also found later that a family of frogs were living behind the shower.

We had dinner in the restaurant. A two course meal for 1550 rupees, most expensive we paid in any hotel on our trip. The meal was good, I had vegetable curry and my husband had chicken curry, both followed by Curd and honey. Good food but not good value. We ate by candlelight, not for romance but out of neccesity as still a powercut.

There was still no light when we went back up to our villa by torchlight and to bed by candlelight. My husband caught a frog in the bathroom and put it outside.

On going to bed the covers were damp and we were cold. The bed was comfortable.During the night I got up and nearly stood on a frog in the bedroom, when I opened the bathroom door it disappeared down the back of the shower.

The following morning we informed the hotel that we were leaving, they offered to change us to a better villa. We agreed and packed our bags and they moved us while we were out.

The second villa was an improvement. It still had some mold on the walls but did not smell as damp and the bedclothes did not feel damp.

We sat on the balcony in the pouring rain and then sat in the villa, but again at just after 4pm the power cuts started, so agian we were in candlight and notwhere to sit. It was also cold. As it was pouting down we cancelled our driver- we had planned on driving in to Ella for dinner, and decided to have dinner at the Viewpoint.. My husband wasn't feeling too good so just ordered soup and I ordered a vegetable rice. the waiteer soon came back to us and told my husband he could only have soup if he had the set 3 course menu at 1500, even though it was on the menu. We queried this and eventually decided that we would not patronise them for dinner but would eat the bits of food that we had with us.

We walked out and I fell down the steps as it was pitch black and you couldn't see anything. I requested a large torch and they gave me one.

On the third morning I informed the hotel that we were leaving as we had had enough.. As the hotel had been booked and paid for by our driver I am still unsure if he paid for the third night but I suspect that he had to pay it.

It is such a pity about this hotel as when they were built I think they would have been wonderful but it is poor management and upkeep that has allowed them to get to this state. They need a torch supplying in every room and some form of heating. They also need 2 comfortable chairs in each room. I appreciate that you pay extra for the view but the accommodation is of very poor standard and does not warrant the rate they are charging.

The balconies, gardens and views are excellent, but we only had 1 comfy chair on the balcony and a solid wood table and three chairs that could not be moved as they were too heavy.

The food was excellent although overpriced

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have recently travelled to this hotel with my family.
We have never had any problem in 5 years of traveling in Asia, i have even never written a report but this time i cannot but doing it. The View Point Villa was far below any standard. It did even fear for the health and safety of my family. Upon arrival we were sent to a room well below any standard, specially the bathroom, minutes later (about 4pm) power went off and was not back till late night. During those hours, no assistance from the staff was received. No a word to calm. Nothing at all. No light, no hot water, lightning outside, and all this with a 6 months old baby. Like 5 hours later power was back for a few minutes and gone again. The following morning not a single word was said, no a single reply to my complains. We obviously left the hotel despite having one night more booked.
I talked to the owner over the phone, he did not apologize either, had to call him several times until he committed to reimburse me the second night that we did not spend there. However and despite many promises, calls and sms, in the end he did not reimburse me as promised.

I know it is pretty normal that the power goes in ella from time to time, but not for so long, not putting in danger the safety of the guests and not giving any service or even a word.

Even the driver encourages us to complain to SL Board of Tourism since he hadnt seen something like that in his many years of service.

And we are not talking about a cheap hotel, we paid 120 usd/night. We were also charged for the dinner which we had under the light of a candle (no romantic at all).

I discourage everybody from going to this hotel, specially with children, but even without them.
Staff speaks hardly a word of English.
There an ella much better hotels and same price.

Room Tip: no good room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

VPV is set on nicely landscaped sloped gardens with individual chalets and good views. Decor of our room was an odd mixed metaphor of baby-doll meets bachelor pad meets safari hut. However, it was clean and spacious. A motor scooter is available for hire at 2000 Rps/day.

What is good: friendly staff (but that is true everywhere), especially the main young chap who seems to run the place. Rice and curry dinner was excellent, however the service a bit amateurish. Tranquil pleasant location with good views. Good breakfast.

What is bad: We paid €50 for the room plus bfast, but the rooms were in an odd state of maintenance/upkeep and styling that left them feel a bit hodgepodge. Dinner was very expensive relative to what else is around (an astounding 1500 Rps for a R&C!!). Location very far removed from Ella, making getting around inconvenient / expensive as was a 500 Rp tuk tuk each way every time you want to go to town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 163 in Ella
655 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ella Gap Panorama
Ella Gap Panorama
#29 of 163 in Ella
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Madushanka Resort
Madushanka Resort
#24 of 121 in Ella
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ella River Front
Ella River Front
#26 of 121 in Ella
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nice View Homestay
Nice View Homestay
#11 of 121 in Ella
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Villa

Address: Passara Road | 6th Mile Post, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Price Range: $18 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note, that due to a change of owner and major renovations, the View Point Villa will reopen as CHILL VILL HOTEL in August 2017. Therefore please check the new listing. Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon. Isolated spot 6km from Ella. View Point's brightly coloured villas combine soaring wooden ceilings with a modern bathroom. There are great hill and tea plantation views from the breezy open verandas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your View Point Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Point Villa Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing