We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Place in Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of View Point Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
View Point Villa
Ranked #30 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our favorite place during our 3 week trip to Sri Lanka. The villas were spacious with wonderful views of Ella Gap. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed having breakfast in the garden; delicious fresh fruit and a choice of Western and local dishes. Dinner was very good although a bit pricey in comparison to other places but the cook was very accommodating and prepared a few special dishes for us; garlic curry, banana leaf curry and pumpkin curry and soup! We definitely would return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    45
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
30
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is one of the most peaceful and tranquil spots I have ever stayed in.We were very glad to be away from the noise of Ella and loved walking in the surrounding countryside. The villas are big with huge comfy four poster beds , lots of hot water and tea making facilities. The views are stunning and the staff went out of their way to make our stay a success. The meals are pricier than the tourist cafes in Ella but the food is good. Paid a deposit in Euros and then the remaining in Sri Lankan currency. Its a pain having to pay in cash but there is a ATM in Ella.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UndercoverMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had planned to stay at the View Point Villa for 2 nights but decided to extend another 2 nights because our little villa was very nicely situated with a beautiful view of the Ella Gap. We were required to pay a deposit in Euros when we booked our reservation. The price per night was quoted in US Dollars and the payment was expected in Sri Lankan currency. When we made the reservation we were led to believe that payment could be made using a credit card because that is how the deposit could be arranged. However, we were told upon arrival that we had to pay in advance for all 4 nights and could only use cash. As we were at the end of our Sri Lankan 10 day tour, our cash supply was low. It took some effort on our part to organize the cash payment. So, travelers beware, Sri Lankan cash only at the View Point Villas.
The room was nice but most of the lights were burned out and did not work. The boys who were running the place were dressed very casually but were friendly. View Point Villas are located 7km from Ella and require a 400 - 500 Rupee tuk-tuk ride or a 20 Rupee bus ride. The bus can get VERY crowded at times. Overall, it is a nice place but needs some work by the management to bring the View Point Villas up to an acceptable international standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kraminator888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

All the reviews are when the weather is fine. Our experience was when the weather was terrible.
The chalet was very comfortable but we had a 24 hour power failure, no lights, no hot water, no water forthe shower ot toilet. Dangerous steps and pathway inundated with pools of water.
We cut short our stay by 2 days and the staff wanted to charge us for the room even though we woulldn't be there. Apart from all that the food was nicely prepared and tasty. I little isolated from the town. 500 rupees for a tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Myself and my 16 year old daugher stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of Sri Lanka in summer this year (2012). It was our favourite place to stay in the whole of Sri Lanka. The views are fantastic, we had breakfast outside in a little spot under a tree surrounded by hills, trees and birds. The staff were lovely with a good sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble. We had a great walk around the tea plantations and were shown how to play the local boardgame (thank you again Mishal and Luhuru). The food was delicious and we also had a cooking demo. We loved the relaxed and sleepy dogs. The room was spacious and clean. What more can I say, only that I hope we will return again one day and stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatalinaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place is so worth a stay! The one thing you will value most is the silence during day and night. The sounds of the forest at night is simply gorgeous. Like everywhere in Sri Lanka the staff is very friendly and very helpful. We rented scooters for a day and zipped around the tea plantations and waterfalls. Ella & View Point was my favourite location of the entire Sri Lanka holiday, GO GO GO!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

As the name suggests, this would probably be the best place to get a 'take your breath away' view of Ella. My husband and I went here in the beginning of November. We were greeted by a team of young men who are just too sweet.
Our room was perched at a spot that seemed almost like it was in a cloud. The little balcony had log-style chairs. Sitting here you can be as close to Nirvana as possible!
The room is quite ok. The decor is a bit gaudy but it's neat and clean so you can overlook that aspect. And the bathroom has an excellent shower compartment!
I only wished that the lighting was better as i found the weird yellow lighting kind of eerie. Also the King bed was two twin beds put together and sort of uncomfortable.
The food is reallyy good., Very homey and flavorful.
I give View Point Villa a big thumbs-up for the perfect view and great service. The fact that is further away from the town is an appealing factor me,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeetha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.9 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#28 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#5 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#51 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.3 mi away
The View
The View
#27 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ravana Heights
Ravana Heights
#53 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Villa

Property: View Point Villa
Address: Passara Road | 6th Mile Post, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note, that due to a change of owner and major renovations, the View Point Villa will reopen as CHILL VILL HOTEL in August 2017. Therefore please check the new listing. Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon. Isolated spot 6km from Ella. View Point's brightly coloured villas combine soaring wooden ceilings with a modern bathroom. There are great hill and tea plantation views from the breezy open verandas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
View Point Villa Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing