We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewalicious!”
Review of View Point Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Villa
Ranked #29 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Viewalicious!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

As the name suggests, this would probably be the best place to get a 'take your breath away' view of Ella. My husband and I went here in the beginning of November. We were greeted by a team of young men who are just too sweet.
Our room was perched at a spot that seemed almost like it was in a cloud. The little balcony had log-style chairs. Sitting here you can be as close to Nirvana as possible!
The room is quite ok. The decor is a bit gaudy but it's neat and clean so you can overlook that aspect. And the bathroom has an excellent shower compartment!
I only wished that the lighting was better as i found the weird yellow lighting kind of eerie. Also the King bed was two twin beds put together and sort of uncomfortable.
The food is reallyy good., Very homey and flavorful.
I give View Point Villa a big thumbs-up for the perfect view and great service. The fact that is further away from the town is an appealing factor me,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeetha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    45
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
30
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a really great place to stay. The view is just as spectacular as promised and the young guys running the place are really nice, with a great sence of humour. The food is really worth the trip up, up and up the mountain. All home grown and organic. And the few things they are not able to produce themselfs they get from the local farmers in a nearby village. The water is collected fresh and clean mountain rainwater. All in all these guys have really thought the whole concept through. The rooms are very nice and clean and the bathrooms are very modern and very nice.

Room Tip: The large family room in a seperat house have the most spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lassedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was one of the favourite places that we stayed at in the whole of Sri Lanka. The views are breathtaking and there is a great sitting area on the private balconies of each room to soak it in. The rooms themselves are tastefully decorated, clean and the bathrooms are enormous. Breakfast, which is included, is very good and the location is also beautiful. We paid one night for the dinner which admittedly was one of the more expensive prices we'd seen for the Sri Lankan curry, but in the end was worth it because it was the best curry we had throughout our two weeks in Sri Lanka. There was one great dampener to our trip. We arrived with a phone and left without it, so be sure to keep an eye on your valuables and put them away (out of site from the balcony) when you leave the room. Otherwise this is highly recommended! The accommodation is out of town but it's worth the trip (and the drive itself to the accommodation is stunning!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadima
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We drove in with a drive to Ella with a long list of options and decided to go with this one on the strength of the Lonely Planet recommendation...in fact once we saw this place we saw no others- the view is absolutely stunning! It is a bit out of town if you need to be central this is not the place but you can not beat the view, excellent room, friendly staff- we stayed 3 great nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and loved it. Ask for the room at the top for the most privacy and spectacular views and breezes. The hosts are all super friendly yet very polite and want to make your stay the best they can. Location is out of Ella but so worth the drive. Food was delicious and beer always cold! Julie &Luke

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ella is a nice place to stay and there are lots of guest house options. We went to see a few and chose View point villa. The place is a ten minute tuk tuk ride from town, but you get treated to a very friendly atmosphere, very nice rooms and a terrific view. The Sri Lankan food is excellent and a cooking course given by the chef is highly recommended. We had a great time over here.

Oh, and we had a shower with built in radio. Now who can top that? ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankrhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Upon arrival I couldn't stop but looking at this amazing view. From the beginning the guys working there make sure you have everything you need, even in an unfortunate situation they managed to find a solution and help me out. I can highly recommend this place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
2.1 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#55 of 152 in Ella
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#5 of 103 in Ella
519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 152 in Ella
637 reviews
2.8 mi away
Will Guest Homestay
Will Guest Homestay
#8 of 103 in Ella
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Villa

Property: View Point Villa
Address: Passara Road | 6th Mile Post, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note, that due to a change of owner and major renovations, the View Point Villa will reopen as CHILL VILL HOTEL in August 2017. Therefore please check the new listing. Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon. Isolated spot 6km from Ella. View Point's brightly coloured villas combine soaring wooden ceilings with a modern bathroom. There are great hill and tea plantation views from the breezy open verandas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
View Point Villa Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing