We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Ella Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Holiday Inn
Ranked #114 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were caugh on the road just after getting down from the bus, by a little man with moustache offering us a double room for 1000Rs, low season. It was for us the first time in SriLanka with Hot water in the Shower, GREAT..... The place is clean and Tidy and the staff is there to help, guiding for hikes and other things to see arround. We appretiated our stay there. It proximity form the main road makes it a little noicy during the day, but nights are quiet, it is the same for most places in this village. The brand New Terrasse offer a great place to eat and for all budgets, first price the traditional "rice and curry" for 270Rs. Right in the center of the shops and other Guest House, one is beeing currently built on the other side of the road....

Room Tip: Allways hask to see the room before saying YES....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    38
    16
    18
See reviews for
17
59
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ISLAMBAD PAKISTAN
Level Contributor
641 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in a quad room in this hotel, which is located on the main road of Ella. Do book through the internet to get better rates as we were overcharged when we just walked in and took a room. The location was central and there were no steep climbing on battered roads, but there was a lot of noise on the road which kept on disturbing us. The room had tasteful decor. It was airy but it had no air conditioning. The bathroom en suite was spotless. The service of the hotel was rather slow. There was internet access in the hotel foyer. We got free parking and driver stay.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the back of the hotel to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HINAWASEEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

stayed as they offered a fair price for the best room they had 1000rups for the (delux) room on the right with private balc.. normaly 6000 they say!? either way, not friendly, nor is it good value- stay at the Tea Garden further down the road on the right- problem solved...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

It was raining heavily that day and we check into the first accomodation that we could find in Ella. Ella holiday inn is in a terrific location, right in the centre of the accomodation and food street - that is what makes them so arrogant. The staff are uninterested and very impatient when taking orders for our dinner. The next morning, it was the same attitude for breakfast.
The van that we ordered, arranged for by the boss of the inn was a scam. He told us the exact places that the van would bring us, however, when we got to the place (Yala National Park), the driver said we have to pay about US20 more. When we explained that the price was included in the total fare (we made sure of that before we left in the van), he said he dont know what the boss told us but he would not let us transfer to the safari jeep unless we paid more. We had no choice but to do so as we were struck in the middle of nowhere. When we got back to the van after visiting the place, the driver once again demanded more. This time, my friends and I called the boss of Ella holiday inn and asked what was happening. He acted like he did not understand English when in the morning he spoke to us fine. We once again had no choice but to pay for it as there were no other cars or taxis around. My friends and I felt very bullied and cheated. THIS IS A TOTAL SCAM BY THE DRIVER AND THE BOSS OF THE INN.
PLS PLS PLS do not use this driver who is used by Ella Holiday Inn.Grey van, Car number: 51-3025. It really spoilt an overall wonderful experience in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: try not to stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsoverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ella hotels

Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

When we arrived in Ella our guide took us to another "hotel" - but no hot water and concrete floors just didn't cut it so it was off to the Ella Holiday Inn. As there were three of us we were given a triple room and his room happened to be on the side of the building, right away from traffic noises. The room was very clean, with comfortable beds, lots of hot water and mosquito nets. The dining area is great with indoor and outdoor seating and beautiful food and drink. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.Tthe location is terrific - Ella is only small but this place is set right in the middle of the town within easy reach of every thing, including the Roti cafe next door (also recommended). Definately recommended

Room Tip: Rooms at the side are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawtellrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is a horrible hotel and a total rip off! There are birds nests in all the rooms, and the birds poo everywhere and make a lot of noice. After complaining about this, we got another room but this room had the exact same problem! After complaining again, the manager said that they had a big trouble getting rid of the birds and that every room had this problem. We didn't want to move to another hotel because we where exhausted, but we had a terrible night. The birds where flying in and out and making a lot of noice. We were planning to stay 3 nights, but we left after 1 night because of the noice, the dirty rooms and the absolutely ridiculous price of the room! Do not go here!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2010

After arriving at the train station, take the short walk, less than 5 mins directly to this fantastic guest house, it is by far the best choice in Ella!! As a female travelling alone, I felt safe and happy here during my stay and the staff are most friendly, kind and helpful in organising local excursions and the next stage of my travels. My next stop will be Bundala and the owner helped me to organise a guide to the national park. I enjoyed an early morning stroll to Little Adam's Peak which was most rewarding. In short, don't waste any time, come straight to Mr Rodrigo at the Ella Holiday Inn! Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Elizabeth Thompson

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Country Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rawana Holiday Resort
Rawana Holiday Resort
#70 of 152 in Ella
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Up Country
Up Country
#72 of 103 in Ella
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spice Hut Hostel
Spice Hut Hostel
#124 of 152 in Ella
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Holiday Inn

Property: Ella Holiday Inn
Address: Main Street, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ella Holiday Inn is situated in the famous town of Ella, in the eastern part of the central hills. We are pleased to offer beautiful and comfortable rooms, each complete with balcony, en suit bathroom, hot water, satellite TV, computer and internet access. We offer delicious Sri Lankan and International food in our restaurant. Nearby is the world-famous Ella Gap, and within 5-10 minutes drive you'll be able to reach several historical heritage sites. We also offer tours (local and national), safari and trekking, as well as camping in our eco site with our specialist guides. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ella Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing