We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great food”
Review of Zion View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zion View
Ranked #11 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Zion view is an excellent guest house with stunning views over the mountains. The rooms are basic but fine, no air con but as it is not so hot in the mountains we didn't miss it. Each room has a large balcony with table chairs and hammock from which to enjoy the scenery. The staff were very friendly and helpful. What really stood out was the food - the veg curry selection was amongst the best I've ever eaten and definitely the best I had in Sri Lanka. Ella is a very pleasant little town, and well placed to visit the surrounding attractions (world's end, hapatula to ella railway). By the way, this guest house is a little hard to find, so ring them for directions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_H099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 661 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sena and his family are wonderfully accommodating and hard working. We travelled up from Colombo on the train with the kids and after 8 hours they were there to meet us. Within 5 minutes, we were in our family room on the top floor and we had dinner. We stayed 3 nights and could've stayed a week. The food is excellent and the views are incredible. The kids had a great time and we did plenty of local sightseeing - little Adam's Peak, Waterfall (via train tracks), Tea Plantation.....it's very mellow place and kid friendly......loved it. Sena organised a minivan to Mirissa for about 13,000SLrupees, via Ruwana Falls (by the road side) and the Ude Walawe elephant half way house. The only gripe would be that it's $150 / night. I'd expect to pay that in Hong Kong, not rural Sri Lanka........the rooms are basic but comfortable.

Room Tip: Book in advance directly with Sena in the busy season. There is a 'family bungalow' which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThoseThatDare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Walking into the family bungalow of the Zion View was like walking into a fantasy land. The majestic views of the falls, Little Adams Peak and Ella Rock from the verandah were so close we felt we could jump into them! The bungalow was the perfect size for a family of 4. On arrival we immediately headed for the Falls - an easy walk along the railway tracks from the Zion View. The manager, Sena, was thoughtful, considerate, and always keen to see we had all that we needed. Unfortunately we were only able to sample the breakfast at the guesthouse, as it was a public holiday on our arrival. Sena personally drove us to the restaurant in town (it was pouring with rain!) to ensure we were well fed for the evening.
I am just sorry we couldn't stay longer to explore the natural beauty of the area and the town of Ella itself.
We will be back!

Room Tip: The family bungalow was perfect for my family of 4 (children of 11 and 9). I wouldn't relax wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were a hefty $90/night!! They were full of spider webs and the paint was falling off from the walls! The bed was very uncomfortable and the rooms were very humid. The road that leads to Zion View is muddy and pitch black at night. Bring a flashlite and rubber boots!

The owner was helpful but we did not receive a single smile during our stay nor a warm welcome. There are two very big dogs at the property that don't seem to like all the guests..

Breakfast was very dull, fruit and white bread.

There are several other guesthouses in the area that probably have way better value for money! You get the great views from lots of places!

I wouldn't recommend this place if they keep their prices the same and lack the true welcoming feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheHillFamily14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I loved this guesthouse. Sena, the owner was very helpful and kind and very friendly. The views from our new family bungalow was amazing. We felt like we had been inserted into a fairy tale story. We walked to the waterfall along the train tracks as Sena had suggested and it was truly spectacular despite getting trapped in a tropical thunderstorm that was very fun but wet! We thought the room was very cosy but when the rain did not cease, Sena very kindly offered to take us into town so that we could have dinner. He was very kind to do so as it was his holiday (new year). We had an exceptional breakfast and service and it was a lovely stay! Thanks Sena!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank huskytravells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Room, food and view was excellent! To us the owner was quite friendly. Especially his wife was very helpflul. We had a great dinner there! And they have a small and good description how to get to the little adams peak which you can take with you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marioler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived by train from Kandy just as it was getting dark; an amazing 7 hour 'feast for your eyes' as we crawled across mountains, past tea plantations and waterfalls.
A man was at the station to greet us and take us to Zion View.
The room was really basic but adequate, and I didn't feel it was good value for money, until we awoke the next morning and opened the balcony door to one of the most stunning views I have ever seen. That's what you are paying for. Zion view sits on high, looking straight through Ella gap, with little Adam's peak on one side, Adam's peak on the other, and misty mountains in the distance. Absolutely breathtaking.
The staff were very friendly, but not particularly informative. We didn't get a big warm welcome or the enthusiastic hospitality other reviewers have written about.
Dinner was delicious; a buffet of fish curry, pumpkin curry, brown rice, beet root, kankun, Aubergine and coconut sambal.
We didn't sleep very well as the Gap acts like an amphitheatre and dogs barking from the valley below kept us awake.
We did have a great massage there for a good price.
Overall I thought this was a good base to explore Ella which serves great food, but the rooms don't live up to the view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion View

Address: Wemulla hena.Ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $92 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zion View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion View Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing