We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS view, it is really HEAVENLY here....!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2009

If you want to see the best view in this world, this is where you wanna be. I have gone to many places in the world, but nothing can beat the this location. Quite, you are away from the whole world and this geogeous panoramic view will take your breath away.

Rooms are clean and value for the money. Service is fantastic and food is second to none.

Either you are a nature lover or trying to get away from your busy life this is the place for you. MUST SEE PLACE and definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shani6761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Heavens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 600 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

Lovely view, no atmosphere.
Rooms were clean and basic, Hotel fairly new but expensive compared to other guest houses in the area. Lacked atmosphere and charm.
Rooms leak badly when it rains, maybe why the sheets on the beds are so badly stained. Food basic, no menu to choose from. Road(track) to the Hotel more suited to Goats. Our driver had trouble in a car getting up the track to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We had a three night stay at Mountain Heavens with myself, husband and two daughters 12 and 13 sharing a family room. (though the girls shared a single bed). The place was clean and friendly but most impressive is the view over the gap which is second to none. The hotel is only a five minute walk down the railway line to town which was easily do-able even at night with a torch. We used the services of a guide called Niroshima who was fab - he took us up Ella rock and to a lake south of Ella where we went kayaking. The breakfasts were bog standard European fare (like everywhere in Sri Lanka) and the evening meal OK though you're better walking into town. Overall a great few days in a stunning location. Go there!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eluned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

If like us, you're in Ella to soak up the view as you stop for a night in order to collect the train to Kandy (I suspect this will be true for many people) then you'll be hard pressed to find a better option than this.

The view is wonderful and each room has large French doors and outside space with what is surely the best view of the Ella gap, as the hotel is the highest in town (I think) and smack bang in the middle of the gap.

The rooms are spacious and clean with en suite facilities. The service was attentive and warm (our waiter/concierge even chased us down the railway tracks the next morning with our packed breakfast), and our evening meal was truly tasty rice and curry.

On the negative, the communal areas have a feeling of not being completed, as they are very sparse as we were the only guests, the atmosphere at the hotel was a little erie.

Despite this, it served its purpose and all we will really take away in our memories is the view. And what a view!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieBolognese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

I found this hotel by surfing the internet. Its new so is not on many websites. I had to book by email. (no deposit required)
Once in Sri Lanka I called and all was confirmed.
It was a bit out of the way, but well worth it. Set on a hillside we got the bottom room which opened up onto a lawn overlooking Ella Gap. What a magnificent view.
We were served tea while admiring the sunset and the valley below.
Rooms are basic but clean and even though we were the only guests in the hotel we were well looked after.
We had to order our dinner a few hours ahead. It was a delicious curry and we ate it in the dining room overlooking the view once again.
You will not get a better view for this price, thats for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maruschkaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fansipan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Florencegieskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $157 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing