We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel and its staff are amazing. Stayed here for 2 nights in room 7 with a fabulous patio and stunning views. Absolutely loved it. Rooms were huge and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was lovely and, although not a buffet, was enough. Decided to have dinner here the 2nd night, which we had to order by 2pm so that they could get in the provisions. Meal was delicious. Had originally intended to stay elsewhere, so glad we didn't. Can't recommend it highly enough. Well done Prasanna and staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    215
    57
    23
    6
See reviews for
129
309
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights in room 1 (superior room). The view is fantastic. We were still jetlagged so woke before dawn, and it was magical to watch sunrise from bed. The rooms appear to have been renovated relatively recently and are thankfully largely mosquito-proof.

The food was good home-style cooking. We took the half-board option, which meant a quite limited menu to choose from however.

You will get good exercise going up and down the stairs.

Their website mentions "drivers who will take you around Ella for free", but there was no mention of that when we there. When we checked out they organised us a tuk-tuk that we had to pay for to get to the train station.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are furthest from the reception/restaurant level (three levels of stairs) and are unfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96ChrisAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed two nights here in a de luxe room. Room was big and beautiful and with a nice balcony offering the most fantastic views to Ella Gap, Little Adams Peak and Ella Rock.
Service and quality of food in the small restaurant was great too.
Good location for exploring the Ella region by foot

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPad1173295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were two families with 4 small children between us. We stayed in rooms 3 & 4, which each have huge balconies out front to take in the view. The rooms were so clean, and the view is definitely a highlight. If you are staying in Ella, you would be remiss to choose a room without a view. Although it was probably over priced, Mountain Heavens has the best view in the Gap - sunrise was a treat! Also, the town is very easily reached by walking along the railroad tracks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurelS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had been advised to ask for Room 1 here and we got it. Room 2 would also have done. Both have the most perfect view and a little garden as well as being extremely comfortable.
It would be hard to find a better setting for a hotel though this is such a scenic place they no doubt exist. This hotel has recently been renovated/extended and has very pleasant helpful staff. The restaurant does super breakfasts and probably good dinners but there are so many alternatives in Ella we went out. The rooms are down a steepish stairway so not advised for the very elderly.
All in all one of the best places we stayed on our tour of Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Go for room 1 or 2 at the bottom of the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
397 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The views from mountains heaven down the Ella gap are world class & definitely worth the stay alone. The hotel is new and comfortable. The access road is steep and not easy to drive, but it is well worth the effort. Walk into town is 10 mins either along the road or along the railway track to Ella station (a fun walk generally busy with pedestrian traffic!). Staff are friendly, rooms comfortable and food good including western comfort food options if required. I would however recommend the curries which were excellent. Alcohol options are a little limited (eg no gin & tonic) but there are wine options & plenty of beer. A great base to explore Ella - for example little Adams peak is a 2 and a half hour walk from the hotel or considerably less if you grab one of the many tuk tuk options to take you to the start of the walk. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here just for one night and had a lovely room (no 7) with a great balcony overlooking the valley of Ella. Fantastic sunrise next morning. Lovely staff and service good. We ordered room service and I had a lovely Sri Lankan Curry and I asked for spicy and for the first time on this trip I had my lovely spicy hot meal. Our room was clean, spacious and looked quite new. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room no 7 or the other one on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsaLofvendahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Property: The Mountain Heavens
Address: Kithal ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing