We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We only spent one night at this hotel, and maybe our rating would be higher if we had spent longer. The room was certainly large, clean and comfortable and the view was amazing. But while we were there we did not experience any of the great service others have commented on, and there were lots of hiccups not expected at a hotel in this price range. Only one cake of soap to share between sink and shower, blackouts in our room that we had to tell staff about (there was power in lobby area, but not in rooms), erratic (really non existent) wifi in rooms, mould on bread at breakfast (quickly replaced when we pointed it out). This would all be fine and acceptable if we were paying $80, as we have done in other hotels in Sri Lanka - but this hotel was double that price. Unfortunately, our stay was disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizandMikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 609 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had the most divine stay at Mountain Heavens Hotel. It's been recently refurbished and our room (deluxe with a verandah) was pristine - freshly painted, comfy bed, gorgeous bathroom with very hot showers! Much appreciated in the cooler, rainy weather!

While we were staying there, the road was under construction, so we had to walk up the railway track, but no problems there. Staff helped carry our bags both ways.

Best of all is the view - this must be THE VIEW of Ella - the hotel is smack bang on the hill, and you can see from Little Adam's Peak right across to Ella Rock and the waterfall nearby. I sat on the balcony one morning to watch the sunrise which was just spectacular.

Prasanna the manager goes above and beyond. He stayed up late on New Year's Eve to prepare our bill as we had an early train to catch the next morning. Then he got up at 5.30am, made sure we had breakfast and even gave us boxes of cakes and biscuits for the train! We so appreciated this half way through our 6.5 hour journey to Kandy. Many thanks to all the staff at Mountain Heavens for a great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mirandatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The view from this hotel is what makes it. Its stunning. The rooms all have balcony's which look straight down Ella's gap which was incredible. The room was really lovely with the bathroom looking straight out to the stunning scenery!

The food was pretty bad. We had booked half board and so had a starter before our curry. As there was no Sri Lankan option I had Cesar salad. It was a plate of lettuce and 4 croutons. Admittedly you don't go to Sri Lanka to eat Cesar salad but if you are going to have it on the menu then it should be ok!!! Unfortunately the curry was not great either -it was OK. Breakfast was better but we had to order the night before to say we wanted a Sri Lankan breakfast. Good dhal and rotti.

We would recommend staying for the view and the nice rooms. The wifi didn't work and there was no AC in the room but the fan was fine. We were recommended to stay here by our guide Upul from Sri Lanka Tailored Tours.co.uk

Great walk out to a waterfall along the railway line from back of the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Even if 98 Acres is 'better' than here according to Tripadvisor scores, I find it hard to believe it beats Mountain Heavens for location. This modern, friendly and very comfortable hotel offers spectacular views through Ella Gap to the Eastern plains beyond, and an unparalleled opportunity to watch the sun rise between the mountains from your bed! The deluxe rooms are very spacious and immaculately clean with huge white-linened bed, comfy chairs, and a modern wet-room shower, with a glass wall into the bedroom and looking through to the view beyond. Rooms 8, 9 and 10 are on the top floor, so probably have the best views (although sound does carry between them a bit).

The restaurant is more 'tourist cafe' than fine dining, but is very nice. Breakfast was adequate to good: fruit platter (a banana, a slice of mango and a slice of watermelon), mixed fruit juice, toast, coffee, eggs (nice plain omelette for us). One review said it was meagre, but we thought it was quite enough, especially as it was easy to get a few extra slices of toast. Dinner is a bit basic and tended to be overcooked.

Room Tip: Room 8 has the best views, but 8, 9 and 10 are all on the top floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattAlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is amazing - a stunning view awaits any guest who stays. We got up early to watch the sunrise. It looks like all rooms either have a balcony or terrace which looks out across the mountains. We found the staff to be very helpful - especially upon checkout when 1 of the chaps there carried our bags down to Ella station. Breakfast was good - fresh fruits and delicious tea. Could have stayed much longer :)

The railway track is very close by and is the locals short-cut into town (5 min walk) or to the water fall (40 min walk). Don't be alarmed walking on the sleepers - trains are not very frequent and you'll hear them coming quite a far way off.

*** The road to the hotel was closed when we stayed and the staff said it would be many weeks before it re-opens. Check with the hotel before you arrive if its fully accessible, otherwise you could be left carrying your cases 200 mfrs uphill ***

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My second visit to this location, which by far offers the best view in Ella. The morning sunrise view is simply breathtaking (far better than what I have seen in Nagarkot in Nepal)
On both occasions I traveled with family and the staff was extremely supportive in attending to child related needs.
Rooms seems to have been refurbished and private gardens / decks seems to have been added since my last visit. The location is likely to be more expensive compared to other places in Ella, but the price is definitely worth it.
Strongly recommend the location to anyone who is willing to chillax in Ella.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top most deck offers the best view I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhanushka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel has benefited form a modern refurbishment and is in a splendid position with a panorama of views right down to the coast (approx. 100 miles). There is a full view of the Ravenna falls, Ella Rock and Little Adams Peak all within walking distance. The room was comfortable. The service was good and so was the food. The best way to get to village is to walk along the railway track as the road is barely passable after the recent rains. Warmer clothing still required at this altitude.

Room Tip: All rooms face south and have balconies, but there are only 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tankengine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $157 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing