We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several Unpleasant Surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

FYI I mostly agree with the positives from other reviews but in comparison to other hotels that I will review it was definitely below average.
++ Service was friendly. Views were excellent.
+ Wifi was available in the room.
+/- Dinner was offered in the room which was helpful given a long drive to Ella. The dinner was poor but given the point below the only option at least when we visited.
- While a cheap ride into town, in rainy conditions it was the only time our guide advised eating in the hotel. Plan on at least half board.
- Bugs. Yes, going to Sri Lanka and expecting a sterile room is ridiculous but we received more stings here than any other hotel and insects were definitely more prominent in our room.
- Breakfast was meager compared to every other hotel. Not bad simply inferior. Probably should have ordered the Sri Lankan breakfast but not offered and so we did not know about it.
- Occasional blackouts
-- Value. This was the most expensive hotel of the 5 in Sri Lanka and offered the least services/amenities. Truthfully while I did not specify a regular room, I was given the deluxe room and so some of the points above maybe specific to that room. A surprise $30 on top of the most expensive room left a bad taste. No notification either by email correspondence or at checkin indicated that a deluxe room was part of the reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 622 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very special location with surprising view, great comfort in spacious room with integrated rock as part of the wall. Restaurant on terrace with view to the mountain and the valley. Interesting delicious breakfast beyond usual toast and jam. Very friendly service by very attentive staff but somewhat exaggerated for our taste.

Room Tip: Attention: Saturday night noise from party may disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The view from Mountain Heavens are magnificent. Dawn is so spectacular it feels like the first day in Earth. We stayed here for 3 nights and found it perfect in every way. The easiest access is to walk from the railway station which is approximately 5 mins at a decent pace. Best place we stayed all holiday. Thank you to the staff. David and Gill

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Mountain View for one night arriving late in the evening to a nice dinner, then awaking early in the morning to the spectacular view of Ella Gap! This and walking to Ella Rock was one of the highlights of our trip to Sri Lanka.

The Food was good and the rooms were modern, clean and spacious.The staff were all friendly in this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 - as do all have an incredible view with chairs outside on the grass where you can have break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice little hotel in the midst of misty paradise. A steep climb. The road is horrible. But once you get there it is all good. Friendly staff. Good food. Very flexible with requests and times. They give packed lunch for trekking, sight seeing trips if you request. A nice walk to waterfalls along the railway track. Enjoyed our stay; will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit smallish. But enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Overall: Spectacular views, good service, immaculately clean and bright decor, good value.

Physical Structures: Very bright, spacious, recently renovated in 2013. Plenty of indoor, common, and outdoor space for lounging and meeting people (if desired). The lobby is completely open to the valley, so you get a wonderful breeze from outside. Only negative was the presence of bees upon arrival, but the staff cleared that up within five minutes.

Food: Didn't have dinner, but the breakfast and curd & treacle were excellent. The Sri Lankan breakfast needs to be requested the night before, made to order (also delicious - see photo!)

Service: Very helpful, friendly staff. Attentive to requests and quick to respond.

Location: 150rp one-way tuk tuk ride up the mountain (about five minutes). Within minutes by foot to the train station.

Conclusion: Lovely place to unwind and take in the best view in Ella. Even if you don't stay here, come up for a beer and relax in the lobby. It's worth it!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room #2 which was the lowest room, but it was very lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mferng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Incredible views from the room but room 6 had the most rancid smell coming from the drains which came and went.

We paid $160 USD for b&b so it was good value considering the spectacular view. Our mistake was staying one night instead of two.

There were however a few niggles.
- We were asked to make our selections for dinner at 530pm even though we weren't eating until 730pm.
-When the main course came we were still in the middle of eating our starters
- the plates were cold and the food was lukewarm.
- The fillet steak was tough and was not a fillet. I later learnt that the Sri Lankans don't eat a lot of beef. Avoid.
- The lesson is to stick to the Sri Lankan dishes which the other guests enjoyed.

Room for improvement but all round I would stay there again because of the view and the price

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
177 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $187 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing