We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mountain Heavens
Nearby Hotels
$240
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Feelin'good Resort(Ella)(Great Value!)
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveler rating
310
245
68
29
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
245
68
29
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsella gapsmall hotelsri lankarailway trackadams peakenjoy the viewgreat viewceiling fanhuge windowssteep roadaccess roaddeluxe roomtuk tuktop floorprivate terracerooms are spaciousella station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 659 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The view from Mountain Heavens are magnificent. Dawn is so spectacular it feels like the first day in Earth. We stayed here for 3 nights and found it perfect in every way. The easiest access is to walk from the railway station which is approximately 5 mins at a decent pace. Best place we stayed all holiday. Thank you to the staff. David and Gill

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Mountain View for one night arriving late in the evening to a nice dinner, then awaking early in the morning to the spectacular view of Ella Gap! This and walking to Ella Rock was one of the highlights of our trip to Sri Lanka.

The Food was good and the rooms were modern, clean and spacious.The staff were all friendly in this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 - as do all have an incredible view with chairs outside on the grass where you can have breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice little hotel in the midst of misty paradise. A steep climb. The road is horrible. But once you get there it is all good. Friendly staff. Good food. Very flexible with requests and times. They give packed lunch for trekking, sight seeing trips if you request. A nice walk to waterfalls along the railway track. Enjoyed our stay; will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit smallish. But enough.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Overall: Spectacular views, good service, immaculately clean and bright decor, good value.

Physical Structures: Very bright, spacious, recently renovated in 2013. Plenty of indoor, common, and outdoor space for lounging and meeting people (if desired). The lobby is completely open to the valley, so you get a wonderful breeze from outside. Only negative was the presence of bees upon arrival, but the staff cleared that up within five minutes.

Food: Didn't have dinner, but the breakfast and curd & treacle were excellent. The Sri Lankan breakfast needs to be requested the night before, made to order (also delicious - see photo!)

Service: Very helpful, friendly staff. Attentive to requests and quick to respond.

Location: 150rp one-way tuk tuk ride up the mountain (about five minutes). Within minutes by foot to the train station.

Conclusion: Lovely place to unwind and take in the best view in Ella. Even if you don't stay here, come up for a beer and relax in the lobby. It's worth it!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room #2 which was the lowest room, but it was very lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mferng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Incredible views from the room but room 6 had the most rancid smell coming from the drains which came and went.

We paid $160 USD for b&b so it was good value considering the spectacular view. Our mistake was staying one night instead of two.

There were however a few niggles.
- We were asked to make our selections for dinner at 530pm even though we weren't eating until 730pm.
-When the main course came we were still in the middle of eating our starters
- the plates were cold and the food was lukewarm.
- The fillet steak was tough and was not a fillet. I later learnt that the Sri Lankans don't eat a lot of beef. Avoid.
- The lesson is to stick to the Sri Lankan dishes which the other guests enjoyed.

Room for improvement but all round I would stay there again because of the view and the price

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews