We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view will not disappoint!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The view will not disappoint!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Incredible views from the room but room 6 had the most rancid smell coming from the drains which came and went.

We paid $160 USD for b&b so it was good value considering the spectacular view. Our mistake was staying one night instead of two.

There were however a few niggles.
- We were asked to make our selections for dinner at 530pm even though we weren't eating until 730pm.
-When the main course came we were still in the middle of eating our starters
- the plates were cold and the food was lukewarm.
- The fillet steak was tough and was not a fillet. I later learnt that the Sri Lankans don't eat a lot of beef. Avoid.
- The lesson is to stick to the Sri Lankan dishes which the other guests enjoyed.

Room for improvement but all round I would stay there again because of the view and the price

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    218
    59
    24
    6
See reviews for
131
315
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stumbled upon this hotel after discovering building works were going on at our first choice. it was a lucky turn of events as the deluxe room was like sitting in the heavens with its panoramic view through huge glass windows and the amazing balcony. you could even look out at the view through the bathroom. the food was average and the insect life prevalent, although not harmful. it would be better if there were some insect screens on some windows as it would be nice to have more fresh air in the room in the evening; perhaps even a mosquito net over the bed would allow this. sunrise was indeed breathtaking. what a place to be.

Room Tip: all nice but the deluxe rooms are the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had delux room with the balcony and greatest view on the valley. Room was huge, light and very nice. The only problem was with the service: we were hardly the only guests for that moment and the stuff was so lazy that it always took time to find anybody of the crew to order breakfast or drinks. We stayed only for 2 days, but after the first night they forgot to clean our room. It was quiet frustrating regarding the huge price of the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

There are so many photos showing the view, but really you have to be there in real life to truly appreciate the view. its out of this world. We stayed in room number 1, our room looked out to the view. Make sure you book this room number. We had breakfast on the table just outside, food was not that great, but to be honest all the places in town are expensive (for sri lanka standards) they are aimed at the tourist market. Tuk yuk is 200 rs to town... its a nice walk but no light in the dark..... friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Book room 1!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momo1975coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, this place has absolutely amazing views, breath taking, photos really don't do it justice. The views during sun rise was exceptionally special.

Rooms were clean, modern and new.

Only let down was the food, it was not great and the choices were limited.

Even if you don't stay here it is worth making the steep trek (tuk tuk around 150 rupees one way) and go for a beer, relax and admire the view.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cal12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with probably the most amazing view you'll ever have, even pictures don't do it justice! We stayed in the deluxe room and you get the view 24/7 with the panoramic windows, truly a-mazing. Warm welcome on arrival and staff were friendly & helpful. Short easy walk into Ella via railway track to be able to explore.

Only let down was the food. Plenty of other options in town though. No wine or anything either, just beer (not even chilled on one occasion)....minor thing in context though, go for the view you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedishKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It has a lot of steps but the views over the valley are great. We had the half board and the food was good. The beer s were nice and cold and the manager Prasanna will organise cheap Aussie wine for you at no extra charge. We had the rate prior to it being renovated. The rooms are huge with very large bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable. I believe the rates may have doubled by now. Prasanna the manager was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
97 reviews
16.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Property: The Mountain Heavens
Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing