We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed one night at Mountain Heavens. We stayed in the old rooms but they were extremely clean with nice views. The view from the dining room / bar is absolutely stunning. The staff was extremely friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The prices were also reasonable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 644 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mountain Heavens is just the right name for this place.
First thing you notice is the view from the restaurant/reception. And you also have this view from your room. We had a room with a little garden, also with this fantastic view. The staff were very helpful and nice. They joined us, when we went out watching birds. The rooms were clean and very good.
Next time we will stay more than one night.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Birknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a small hotel in Ella with a personal touch. We had a room on the top floor with a truly fantastic view on Ella Gap! The bathroom was very good with a rain shower and everything worked fine. The bed was disappointing compared with all the plusses of this place. It is very uncomfortable, small and hard. The owner told me that furnishings will be renovated this year.
The food in the restaurant was good and you have the same nice view on the mountains.
I have looked around in Ella, but this is definitely the best lodging address. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

You are on top of the world here. the views are spectacular. The service great, and the manager Prassa always helpful. Great location to relax and enjoy the views. Also a wonderful place to get all your hiking done from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the first moment of our arrival this felt like a good hotel. The manager mr.Prasanna was not only very correct in his emails but also in every personal contact that we had and he does a very good job in Mountain Heavens.We asked for a specific room ( nr. 7- deluxe room) because it had windows on both sides and it was very pleasant that we indeed got what was promised (almost an exception in our experience ). The extra money for the deluxe room was really worth spending. Very big, bright, clean, with a rainshower and naturally : the view ! We could not get enough of it and it never lost it's impact. We had a nice dinner the first night with a little bat flying in and out of the open dining room and this added a special 'local' touch to the place too. We went to Ella village on our second evening and if you have a flashlight with you than going on foot is no problem, the hotel is an easy walk from the center and if you're heading for Ella Rock than this is a good startingpoint too.

Room Tip: The cornerroom on the photo is deluxeroom nr.7 with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagle-eye-leuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This palce was suggest from the owner of Mount View cottage.this place was really amazing place in sri lanka.The view of mountains are very nice,i booked deluxe room at top floor which is execellent,clean and big .I love the view from my room,
walking distance from rail station,easy to walk to small down town.highly recomended .Specilay thanks for prassa

Room Tip: High floor deluxe room perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianM332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is fabulous! The view from our room was stunning... The room was also fantastic with very comfortable bed and pillows and beautifully appointed with great bathroom and rain shower head. It is a large bedroom with TV and couch and coffee table.they also have Wi Fi. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour if travelling and staying in Ella..staying at this hotel is a must. Word of wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainheavens, Owner at The Mountain Heavens, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are very much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Mountain Heavens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 12 in Ella
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 12 in Ella
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ella
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 12 in Ella
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#6 of 12 in Ella
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $158 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing