We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mountain Heavens
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

As a business traveller I am used to 5 star Asian hotels. I want to make this point as I have read other reviews about this hotel and really wonder what people are looking for.
I found everything absolutely perfect,mthe view is priceless, it is so lovely you really think you are dreaming. The beautiful birds... Monkeys, the mist rising in the mornings, the amazing mountains and the great walks are all just too good to be true. It is the sort of place you could quite easily spend a month and wonder where the time went.
The food was really lovely fresh Sri Lankan fare, an amazing choice and beautifully served by the lovely obliging manager.
The rooms are spacious, extremely clean, great sheets and full of wonderfully clean crisp air. No air conditioning needed thankfully.
Personally I don't understand why some guests pick on ridiculous small things to highlight on Trip adviser. This hotel is a budget hotel and a very very good budget hotel. The staff fall over themselves to make guests happy....nothing is too much trouble for them. I rather think sometimes we, as westerners visit foreign countries with a very big " holier than thou" approach... As a constant traveller I hear bad attitude from some people and I cringe. Reading some of the reviews for this lovely place I really wonder if they are a fair appraisal or just a flipant comments from guests who absolutely delight in finding fault. Actually wonder if guests house owners would like to have a site for problem guests as my opinion there are more problem guests than problem hotels.
I recommend recommend this lovely place and I urge you to try it with a nice open mind.

Room Tip: Spend a few dollars and get the top rooms or the rooms with the view down Ella Gap. I believe they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missy88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainheavens, Owner at The Mountain Heavens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for your "Excellent' review and it's really encouraging. You may appreciate that it's quite a task to cater to every need of a guest and we are proud that we have been able to accommodate around 2000 happy and contented guests during the past six months. In fact we have been awarded the prestigious CERTIFICATE of EXCELLENCE by the TripAdvisor in that regard. And thanks again for choosing to stay at Mountain Heavens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 636 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

The view is phenominal - probably the best Ive ever seen from any hotel / guesthouse from around the world I have stayed, but if you wish to see an equally good view and can afford to spend more then go to 98 acres resort, it is stunning. I would have to say that the rooms are quite poor, reasonably clean and staff were quite nice but I would agree that its all about the view.

For a better value stay, check out waterfalls homestay. You can always walk up to Mountain Heavens and have a drink and admire the view. Oh and please see 98 Acres, go for lunch or a drink - its a secluded treasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikekwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The view from the balcony of our room was beautiful. The room we had was big but the decoration is a bit out of date and the food in the restaurant was poor. The price you pay is for the view, which is absolutely great. The rest of the hotel is nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I booked two nights here on the strength of tripadvisor reviews and decided to splurge out for what is meant to be one of the best rooms. The view from the room was spectacular, however, the room itself was very basic and not particularly clean. We decided to leave after we realized that pigeons were nesting in the roof just above our heads; they obviously appreciated the view too. They must have been celebrating the sri lankan new year; they were boisterous birds. The room is not worth the price and there are better, cleaner, more convenient pigeon-free rooms elsewhere in Ella.

Room Tip: To get a good room go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwenMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainheavens, Owner at The Mountain Heavens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

I am sorry that your brief stay at Mountain Heavens did not offer you the same scintillating experience that it apparently has offered others. We remember that you stayed at Mountain Heavens only for a few minutes but only if you’d conveyed your concerns to us, we certainly would have offered you a similar room with the same panoramic view. Anyway thank you again for opting for Mountain Heavens on the first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

GOOD:

The view of the famous Ella Gap is "jaw-droppingly beautiful" andhe walks around the property are great. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The food is fresh, simple and tasty.

BAD:

There are a quite few steps to climb if your room is at the bottom of the building. But, if you're only half fit, its not bad at all. The grossly obese will struggle and and people with cardiac problems should book a room close to the reception are. Wheelchair access is not available. The amazing view has a price tag.

UGLY:

There is nothing ugly about this wonderful place.

Room Tip: De-luxe rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a deluxe room and was blown away with the view. Room was very modern and clean. Service and food was excellent. Location can't be faulted. Definitely a highlight on our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpwise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

When I say expensive, it's not for a hotel in central London. This is Sri Lnka and for some things you pay almost nothing, yet for others you pay well over the odds. Hotel rooms with fantastic views fall into that category. By which token it is no more expensive than similar hotels, but the view is a one off. It's visible from the restaurant and your room. To wake up to that view is unbelievable.

Service is very friendly, although the food is unimaginative. There is no bar as such, but if you are staying only one night. then you can survive on beer. Yes you can.

Some people have said that you can seethe view from the road, but it's not the same. From this hotel you can soak up the view in the early morning as the light changes every minute.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Ella Gap, but the higher you are, the better the view - just.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ditchgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Heavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Heavens

Address: | Kitalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $159 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountain Heavens 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mountain Heavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heavens Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing