We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hour wait for a menu item at lunch time , yikes.”

Soban, Korean Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 182 Restaurants in Dumaguete City
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Korean
Description: The best Korean restaurant in town serving authentic Korean cuisines with the best service in a good ambience
Restaurant details
Description: The best Korean restaurant in town serving authentic Korean cuisines with the best service in a good ambience
Reviewed July 24, 2016

This was our 4th visit to this restaurant. The first three times it was quite good, with good service. This time we wanted one of the good for two chicken selections and the waitress told us it would be an hour. The place was not even busy either. No matter what we tried to change to it was an hour. Once she said 40 minutes, I think just trying to get us to order. How many people are willing to wait an hour for lunch ? We don't understand what is going on there. Hopefully the management reads these comments and can explain. Our chances of going back have diminished drastically.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEDHORSE, Owner at Soban, Korean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Good evening. I have no excuses for this happening but have to aplogise for our unusual service and sincerely thank you for the feedback too.

Actually, I heard about this from my manager before i read this and I was quite upset and embarrased too.

We already took an action with the unqualified waitress and i bet you will never experience this unprofessional service with us if ever you visit us again.

Anyway we appreciate your feedback and want to see you satisfied with our food as well as service.

Thanks have a good evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2016

This place is a little hard to find, and there is literally no parking, well in behind the 7-11 and pharmacies along the highway just south of the provincial hospital.
The food is very authentic Korean, there are many small portions of spicy vegetables for sampling. the main courses are plentiful. the staff is friendly and service is excellent.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank timballenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Honestly was surprised how good this place was!! And the portions large. Thank you for this delicious surprise. Left fully satisfied. Their kimchi was bomb

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank lena4629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Growing up in Hawaii I've eaten lots of Korean food and Soban is some of the best I've had. The extras like the Korean Pancake is excellent.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

The restaurant was somewhat hidden from the main road, but inside it was bright and casual. Aside from the food you order, you also get free side dishes and a round of iced tea. The Korean food was authentic, and the menu may say the serving is good for 2, but it could actually be for 3. The restaurant was clean and the servers were professional.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caryl Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soban, Korean Restaurant also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dauin, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Soban, Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.