We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally brilliant!”
Review of Harolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harolds Mansion
Ranked #13 of 52 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally brilliant!”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I stayed at Harold's Mansion for about 2 weeks last year, my stay was so enjoyable I didn't want to leave and even revisited a month or so later. Situated in the lively university town of Dumaguete, the hostel is close enough to walk into town/shops/nightlife or a short tricycle ride away, but far enough from the hustle and bustle for a good night's sleep. The hostel is a sweet deal for the budget backpacker - it's cheap offering great value for money dorm rooms and single/double rooms with ensuite, tv etc. are very affordable and the place is clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and the cafe offers a tasty selection of cheap eats. Breakfast is included and free tea and coffee all day! Harold makes the place, he is always around to offer helpful advice and entertain guests. He once took us to the fish market on the way back from a dive trip and we bbq'd fish on the balcony that evening. Harold offers a personalised service to all guests and if you don't believe me you will have to go to see for yourself - It is not possible to stay here and not have a good time. The hostel is very sociable and the vibe is excellent. If you get involved with the small group excursions organised by Harold it is easy to meet new people. The tours offered are excellent; trekking, scuba diving etc. I dived both Apo Island and Darwin a number of times - both world-class diving, the tour was great value for money compared to local dive shops and very well organised.. often accompanied by Harold he will show you the local eateries for lunch. I would highly recommend Harold's Mansion to anyone visiting Dumaguete City and I will be sure to return there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    132
    97
    59
    54
See reviews for
23
148
130
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Yes, Harold is a good guy that will give you straight info and not jerk you around. It's a good place to get set up before you go to Apo or diving south of there.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MNDAVE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

If you want to get the most out of your money, this is the perfect place to stay! Wether you're travelling alone, with your spouse, partner, children or friends this place caters to all your needs and more.

Friendly staff. Great location (it's in the heart of the city) so you can get around the city on foot if you want to or rent a vehicle...you name it they have it. You can count my word for it, I'm originally from Dumaguete City but now resides in Europe! No doubt, I know what I'm talking about.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArvyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I can't tell you how much fun Harolds mansion is, you just have to go there! What a fun atmosphere and great source for travel tips and adventures! Don't stay anywhere else. This is the place you want to visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freydog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Harolds is the place to stay. The rooms are clean and nice. They have a excellent service you can have free coffee or tea all day even fresh water is included. The location is perfect just a few min to center of town the shopping district. Every thing feels near just jump on a jeepney an hit the beach fore surfing,diving or just fun swimming and relaxing. ,or u can get up in the mountain for some trekking and se beautiful waterfalls. Any thing you want to know you can ask the staff at Harolds, they are really helpful and have the best of information about the surroundings and all of the Philippine. You can also book tours fore dolphin watching or scuba diving and lots of fun activity. I went on a snoorkling tour to Appo island and swum with turtles and it was just amazing:) The tour guide was very professional and had great knowledge of the island and water life. This was one of my best travels of all time i highly recommend a stay and the tours at Harolds Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I had a great time staying here..it was a perfect hostel for a great deal! I have now come here 4 times, bringing my friends back with me! The first time I came solo, and was greeted with the friendly staff who answered all of my questions and dealy with my grumpy attitude after arriving early in the morning after an unpleasant plane ride. The 2nd time I brought my boyfriend and we did a 4 day diving trip, which Harold, the owner organized for us and came with us on! He then recommened us to a friend of his which was great, and we shore dove 2 days. The other times I brought my best friend, and each and every time we had an amazing experience. Its cheap, clean and everyone there is SO friendly! :) would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed at Harold's for two nights based on the Lonely Planet guide's recommendation. First thing I noticed was the rates have nearly doubled since LP reviewed them. 800P for aircon/tv/private bath/matrimonial bed. These prices aren't totally out of line with the rest of the city, but you can get something closer, cheaper, possibly much cheaper.

The rooms I stayed in were spacious, and the beds comfortable. I didn't find the rooms to be all that clean or particularly well kept. The first room I was in had obvious termite damage, and the A/C would only run on high, all the time. Due to the problems with the aircon, I was moved to a second room which was better, but the TV didn't really work very well. Not a huge problem, but for 800/night...

The staff wasn't particularly friendly or helpful, which really did surprise me. Outside of Cebu/Manila, the staff is usually the highlight of the place. When I asked about food when checking in, the desk clerk pointed me into town. I discovered the on-site cafe on my own. More than once I saw the staff sleeping; literally head-down on the counter.

Finally, the internet connection, while decent, is censored, and not just from porn. Youtube is one of the sites blocked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawker665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#13 of 34 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 34 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.4 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mahogany Upland Resort
0.6 mi away
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel and Spa - Dumaguete
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel ...
#14 of 52 in Dumaguete City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
17.0 mi away
White Chocolate Hills Resort
White Chocolate Hills Resort
#2 of 2 in Zamboanguita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Mansion

Property: Harolds Mansion
Address: 205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Harolds Mansion Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing