We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harolds Mansion is my favorite hostel!”
Review of Harolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harolds Mansion
Ranked #13 of 52 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Boston
2 reviews
“Harolds Mansion is my favorite hostel!”
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I can't tell you how much fun Harolds mansion is, you just have to go there! What a fun atmosphere and great source for travel tips and adventures! Don't stay anywhere else. This is the place you want to visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freydog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    132
    97
    59
    54
See reviews for
23
148
130
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Harolds is the place to stay. The rooms are clean and nice. They have a excellent service you can have free coffee or tea all day even fresh water is included. The location is perfect just a few min to center of town the shopping district. Every thing feels near just jump on a jeepney an hit the beach fore surfing,diving or just fun swimming and relaxing. ,or u can get up in the mountain for some trekking and se beautiful waterfalls. Any thing you want to know you can ask the staff at Harolds, they are really helpful and have the best of information about the surroundings and all of the Philippine. You can also book tours fore dolphin watching or scuba diving and lots of fun activity. I went on a snoorkling tour to Appo island and swum with turtles and it was just amazing:) The tour guide was very professional and had great knowledge of the island and water life. This was one of my best travels of all time i highly recommend a stay and the tours at Harolds Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I had a great time staying here..it was a perfect hostel for a great deal! I have now come here 4 times, bringing my friends back with me! The first time I came solo, and was greeted with the friendly staff who answered all of my questions and dealy with my grumpy attitude after arriving early in the morning after an unpleasant plane ride. The 2nd time I brought my boyfriend and we did a 4 day diving trip, which Harold, the owner organized for us and came with us on! He then recommened us to a friend of his which was great, and we shore dove 2 days. The other times I brought my best friend, and each and every time we had an amazing experience. Its cheap, clean and everyone there is SO friendly! :) would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed at Harold's for two nights based on the Lonely Planet guide's recommendation. First thing I noticed was the rates have nearly doubled since LP reviewed them. 800P for aircon/tv/private bath/matrimonial bed. These prices aren't totally out of line with the rest of the city, but you can get something closer, cheaper, possibly much cheaper.

The rooms I stayed in were spacious, and the beds comfortable. I didn't find the rooms to be all that clean or particularly well kept. The first room I was in had obvious termite damage, and the A/C would only run on high, all the time. Due to the problems with the aircon, I was moved to a second room which was better, but the TV didn't really work very well. Not a huge problem, but for 800/night...

The staff wasn't particularly friendly or helpful, which really did surprise me. Outside of Cebu/Manila, the staff is usually the highlight of the place. When I asked about food when checking in, the desk clerk pointed me into town. I discovered the on-site cafe on my own. More than once I saw the staff sleeping; literally head-down on the counter.

Finally, the internet connection, while decent, is censored, and not just from porn. Youtube is one of the sites blocked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawker665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed at Harolds for our last two nights in Dumaguete. I wanted to stay here the first 2 days but it was fully booked. This is the cheapest place you can find in Dumaguete, definitely. I read a lot of good reviews about this place but honestly I think it's pretty overrated. I wouldn't mind staying at a better hotel and paying 200 pesos more. We got a standard room with aircon and hot shower. The amenities were okay (free wifi in rooms) but it was not so clean (you cannot walk barefoot in the room and bathroom had cobwebs). The breakfast included was not really breakfast.. it was a slice of bread and jam and coffee or tea. The accessibility is not that good too because it is not too near from the boulevard or the restaurants, you would have to take a tricycle. Anyway, for the price it is good but there are other better choices in Dumaguete.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiempotiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Spent totally a couple of months at Harold's during the winter 09-10. Great value for money, ok, but in the end just TOO much that didn't work, that wasen't followed up...
Harold himself is great, and TRY to be in charge! But since he after all is not there all the time, and the staff is totally ignorant, even I got enough! After having experienced no more breakfast 15 minutes before end of breakfast-time, closing of the bar and internet-PCs also 15-20 minutes before closing-time (and VERY insulted staff when I told them what time it was...!), night-guard sleeping on duty in the lobby (so I had to pick up the room- key myself...), twice woken up in the middle of the night by "mis-calls" on the phone in the room - caused by a FIGHT between a prostitute and one of the hotel-guests - behind the lobby-desk!
Harold's Mansion could have been SUCH a fine place! But is totally destroyed by incompetent and impolite staff (very rare in the Philippines!). But for a couple of days, it might be OK...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2CVidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumaguete City hotels

davao, cebu, manila
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

my friends and i stayed here for a short weekend getaway. the hotel is accessible from the port. the hotel is also very near silliman university and boulevard. it's close to memento cafe for that cozy talks over beer, hayahay if you want to jive to live bands, and to almost anywhere. affordable place. clean room. they serve breakfast. i'm not sure if they have wifi service coz i wasn't able to connect but they have computers that you can use for free.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeejadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#13 of 34 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 34 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.4 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mahogany Upland Resort
0.6 mi away
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel and Spa - Dumaguete
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel ...
#14 of 52 in Dumaguete City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
17.0 mi away
White Chocolate Hills Resort
White Chocolate Hills Resort
#2 of 2 in Zamboanguita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Mansion

Property: Harolds Mansion
Address: 205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Harolds Mansion Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing