We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Dumaguete!!!”
Review of Harolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harolds Mansion
Ranked #14 of 53 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Dumaguete
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Dumaguete!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We absolutely loved staying at Harold's Mansion! It was sooo much fun! Harold is great and he knows so much about the area and goes out of his way to meet his guests needs and wants. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely return. We will recommend it to other travelers for sure. It's the only eco-friendly building in the province. It's a backpacker's mecca.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    135
    102
    62
    55
See reviews for
24
150
133
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I was in the Phils for three months as an net-based IT freelancer and was looking all over for a place to base myself.
I ended up choosing Dumaguete not only for the city, but because I was really fond of Harold's Mansion
-don't expect it to be a hotel with servants attending to you every minute; it's setup (and priced) for backpacker's basic needs.
And as far as backpacker's hostels go I can't fault it - beds are very clean, water's always hot, and if you want to be social (and you don't have to be) the cafe's a great place to run into other backpackers. And Harold himself is (as the lonely planet says) a cool, honest operator.
Nick

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickgreenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siquijor Island, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2010

i highly recommend Harolds to stay in Dumaguete. It has clean rooms, quality food and very reasobale room rates. They also run adventure tours snorkeling & diving apo island, twin lakes & casaroro trek, dolphin and whale watching. I joined there Apo trip and it was so good. Harold boat is big, very comfortable and brand new gears. Apo was amazing i swam with 3 green turtles and we became good friends. For sure i will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chingidedoldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I dont recommend Harold's Mansion, simply because it has horrible, terrible and worst service offer ever!
1. I waited at the airport for their "free pick up" but no one came. When i reached the mansion the receptionist says that "Sorry sir I forgot to text you to say that we have no available driver to pick you up!
2. They gave room 207 with a very dark aisle, and drifting water in the ceiling which we assume coming from the comfort room of the 3rd floor. Due to this they relocate us to 3rd floor. We went to a night life after that.
4. When we came back the whole room floor was flooded!! we call the front desk but no one is available to attend our concern. Only the guard on duty who knows nothing. They dont even have rugs or mops.
5. We decided to pull out our things and get refund. But they say no one is allowed to attend to our concern.
6. We demand the number of certain Harold who "owns the mansion" but they have no numbers of that said Harold.
7. Other guest also complained that they have concerns who no one attended.
8. to add up, staff didnt even know how to operate the wifi!
9. they offer free coffee or tea the whole day! but the canteen is until 10 pm only!

Please see attached Photo

I dont recommend this Mansion, you will have the worst stay in Dumaguete!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluethunder1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumaguete City hotels

Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Harold's Mansion is the most fun place I've stayed in the Philippines. The staff is friendly, the prices are reasonable and the owner is always checking in and making sure his guests are happy. They have activities planned and a great coffee shop overlooking a busy intersection in Dumaguete. It began to feel like home after a few weeks. I recommend it to everyone. It is child friendly, but Harold can also direct you to the city night life and outdoor adventures. I wish I could visit Harold's now. It is really great for divers and world travelers as the owner is a dive master and a Filipino who has traveled the world!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freydog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stay in HAROLDS MANSION...During our first day of Stay, it was fine.
Until the second day where we left the place early in the morning, 430am to do a Dolphin Watching in Bais City.

We entrust our 1 Mac Notebook and 1 Asus notebook to the guard-on-duty, since no receptionist was present during those hours.

To our dismay, after the day tour was done, we just found out that the two notebooks were gone and stolen!

The suspect/s!?? Initially, the guard-on-duty since he was the lat person we've entrust the notebooks.

But later on, the suspicions became so strong that a female staff was the culprit!!

HORRIBLE!!! they are harboring a thief within a guest house!!

What's worse??? The Owner- Harold didn't even showed up to fixed everything.
This is being reported to the Police and the guard-on-duty was detained, where the real(?) suspect was still at-large.

There are spy cameras but accordingly, it takes photos every 10 minutes and not a video that supposedly uploaded in a server.

Its a big shame! we have a foreigner/friend with us that owns the MAC book.

Dont trust them, they might stab you at night, the father of the suspect (Mariane) is a leftist-rebel (New People's Army).

How come that this establishment did not do a thorough background investigation before they employ this kind of girl.

NAKAKAHIYA KAYO!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nightwing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am amazed at how people could write badly about Harold's Mansion. I've been there 4 times, twice this year, and twice last year for the awesome dive sites and each stay gets better and better! Harold makes it a point to get to know his guests, their needs, and improves on them each time.

Naturally, you shouldn't expect 5-Star facilities, but for backpackers like us, they have the warm hospitality and comfort you need thats within our budget.

With free breakfast and internet-how can you go wrong? They offer the best deals on dive trips, tours and transpo rentals as well.

Most importantly, Harold and his team provide honest advice (where and where not to eat, the best shopping places, etc.) And for us, this is the best reason to stay at Harold's. You know you can trust them and after your stay, you become family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#26 of 35 in Dumaguete City
49 reviews
7.4 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mahogany Upland Resort
0.6 mi away
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel and Spa - Dumaguete
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel ...
#12 of 53 in Dumaguete City
178 reviews
17.0 mi away
White Chocolate Hills Resort
White Chocolate Hills Resort
#2 of 2 in Zamboanguita
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Mansion

Property: Harolds Mansion
Address: 205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Harolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Mansion Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing