We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever!”
Review of Harolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harolds Mansion
Ranked #35 of 61 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I dont recommend Harold's Mansion, simply because it has horrible, terrible and worst service offer ever!
1. I waited at the airport for their "free pick up" but no one came. When i reached the mansion the receptionist says that "Sorry sir I forgot to text you to say that we have no available driver to pick you up!
2. They gave room 207 with a very dark aisle, and drifting water in the ceiling which we assume coming from the comfort room of the 3rd floor. Due to this they relocate us to 3rd floor. We went to a night life after that.
4. When we came back the whole room floor was flooded!! we call the front desk but no one is available to attend our concern. Only the guard on duty who knows nothing. They dont even have rugs or mops.
5. We decided to pull out our things and get refund. But they say no one is allowed to attend to our concern.
6. We demand the number of certain Harold who "owns the mansion" but they have no numbers of that said Harold.
7. Other guest also complained that they have concerns who no one attended.
8. to add up, staff didnt even know how to operate the wifi!
9. they offer free coffee or tea the whole day! but the canteen is until 10 pm only!

Please see attached Photo

I dont recommend this Mansion, you will have the worst stay in Dumaguete!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluethunder1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 509 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

Harold's Mansion is the most fun place I've stayed in the Philippines. The staff is friendly, the prices are reasonable and the owner is always checking in and making sure his guests are happy. They have activities planned and a great coffee shop overlooking a busy intersection in Dumaguete. It began to feel like home after a few weeks. I recommend it to everyone. It is child friendly, but Harold can also direct you to the city night life and outdoor adventures. I wish I could visit Harold's now. It is really great for divers and world travelers as the owner is a dive master and a Filipino who has traveled the world!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freydog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stay in HAROLDS MANSION...During our first day of Stay, it was fine.
Until the second day where we left the place early in the morning, 430am to do a Dolphin Watching in Bais City.

We entrust our 1 Mac Notebook and 1 Asus notebook to the guard-on-duty, since no receptionist was present during those hours.

To our dismay, after the day tour was done, we just found out that the two notebooks were gone and stolen!

The suspect/s!?? Initially, the guard-on-duty since he was the lat person we've entrust the notebooks.

But later on, the suspicions became so strong that a female staff was the culprit!!

HORRIBLE!!! they are harboring a thief within a guest house!!

What's worse??? The Owner- Harold didn't even showed up to fixed everything.
This is being reported to the Police and the guard-on-duty was detained, where the real(?) suspect was still at-large.

There are spy cameras but accordingly, it takes photos every 10 minutes and not a video that supposedly uploaded in a server.

Its a big shame! we have a foreigner/friend with us that owns the MAC book.

Dont trust them, they might stab you at night, the father of the suspect (Mariane) is a leftist-rebel (New People's Army).

How come that this establishment did not do a thorough background investigation before they employ this kind of girl.

NAKAKAHIYA KAYO!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nightwing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am amazed at how people could write badly about Harold's Mansion. I've been there 4 times, twice this year, and twice last year for the awesome dive sites and each stay gets better and better! Harold makes it a point to get to know his guests, their needs, and improves on them each time.

Naturally, you shouldn't expect 5-Star facilities, but for backpackers like us, they have the warm hospitality and comfort you need thats within our budget.

With free breakfast and internet-how can you go wrong? They offer the best deals on dive trips, tours and transpo rentals as well.

Most importantly, Harold and his team provide honest advice (where and where not to eat, the best shopping places, etc.) And for us, this is the best reason to stay at Harold's. You know you can trust them and after your stay, you become family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bee_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Me and my partner went on a month long Visayan island hopping and of course Dumaguete should not be missed.

We fell in love with Dumaguete, the peopl e, the places, the food- its small city feel with old houses and tree lined avenues.

We stayed at Harold's Mansion. Harold's is a back packers haven. Being backpackers and travellers we have heard of this place in the travelling grapevine as the place to be in Dumaguete. True to our friend's recommendation , Harolds place is great, is more than what we expected. The rooms are clean, good Wifi connection, and the mattress of the beds are really super not your three inch thick mattress, Harolds Mansion uses really thick mattress like those in hotels. This really impressed me as I have difficulty sleeping so Im a sucker for good mattress.

Bathrooms, very clean - with cold and hot . water. Aircon was functioning.

Staff is very friendly the invited us to help ourselves to free coffee and tea when we arrived. The best thing of all owner Harold is a young traveller as well - so he knows what travellers need especially the backpackers. Its like finding a kindred soul- and an environmentalist at that. He recommended places to go, and even organized the diving trip for us ! Two-thumbs up there.

We enjoyed our stay at his place, and we continue to recommend this to other traveller's. Harold is also popular not only to backpackers - even to other travellers . It is not a posh business class hotel, but its not trashy or seedy. It is a modest travellers budget place with all the right amenities and space one would need within a comfortable amount in the pocket. As it goes, this type of accommodation is not always for everyone - especially for big families who are used to hotels - and expects a staff to some up running at the beck and call. In the backpackers world remember you take only what you need, and make do with what you have.

In my book Harold's Mansions is under one of the best backpackers accommodation in the country - clean, decent, modest, budget-friendly, basic amenities, goof wifi - and the owner knows what he is doing- and he shares the travel bug to other people too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereddress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at Harold's Mansion twice, both times for around a week with a week long trip to Sequijor in between. The Mansion isn't posh or fancy, but offers great value. We got an A/C room, for 650 or 700 pesos I believe, with free breakfast and free WiFi (really fast as well!) This was really nice as I had some work to do, and could do it unedisturbed from our room. Other than that, Harold organised diving trips for us to nearby Apo Island and Dauin (I much prefer the latter by the way! Amazing diving there!)

There was a very good vibe in the guesthouse, but it's definitely a place with a young backpacking type of feel. Families may not like it - we however loved it! Many people hanging around for weeks, just enjoying themselves, going out, partying, seeing the local sights and such. Harold was a real gem, both in and out of the water!

When we come back in September we plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

we booked Harold's Mansion because of the rate and some good reviews posted on different sites. experiences vary from one guest to another and im just sharing with you mine.

we booked 2 rooms for 8 people (booking family rooms).

the tour we booked from Harold's was worry-free, which was good. apart from it being quite pricey to my standards, everything went well.

in the evening, when we arrived at the hotel, there was power interruption. thus, no electricity for a couple of hours. other hotels nearby have generator. we asked the receptionist why there is no generator. she said it was broken. she said it in a manner that suggests she's annoyed. we asked her what if there will be no electricity the whole night. she said "i dont know, there's nothing i can do. this is not my fault" we were asking for options but she was totally pissed off for a reason we dont know. we told her "we're not blaming this on you. we're just asking our options... are you allowing us to check out without having to pay?"... after checking with Harold upstairs, who didnt want to talk to us because he's busy drinking with other guests, the lady said: "you pay halfday"... and i just wish to let readers know that we havent even used the room because we checked-in in the morning... she's really annoyed and we said "we understand that brownout is not your fault and we understand that generator is broken but what can you do for your guests?" and she remarked with a frown: "some people really wont understand"

that's the last thing we expect from a front desk clerk from a hotel with broken generator.

door bolt is broken both the main door and the door opening to the balcony
hot and cold water is not working
if there's no electricity there's no water
1 of the rooms' aircon wasnt working properly
the bathroom floods

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone at all and will never return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
1.3 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#20 of 37 in Dumaguete City
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 37 in Dumaguete City
329 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mahogany Upland Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel and Spa - Dumaguete
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel ...
#19 of 61 in Dumaguete City
182 reviews
17 mi away
White Chocolate Hills Resort
White Chocolate Hills Resort
#2 of 2 in Zamboanguita
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
O.K. Pensionne House
O.K. Pensionne House
#31 of 61 in Dumaguete City
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Mansion

Address: 205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range: $15 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Harolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Mansion Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing