We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO Hotel - Dumaguete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We live in Dumaguete. We had concluded that we had little first - hand experience of hotels in our own city. How could we recommend accommodation to visitors? We decided to try it out!

The GO hotel is the second of an emerging set of national properties. It is located behind and adjacent to the Robinson Mall. Both are owned by Robinson Land Company.

It is walking distance from the CERES bus terminal. A pedicab quickly brings you to or from the port and a premium ride finds Dumaguete's airport. Well situated for the daytime exploration of Dumaguete, the location can prove a disadvantage when seeking transport outside the mall's operating hours.


The GO hotel is a good value at any price, which varies depending on the degree to which an advance booking is made. Even as "walk in" customers, our price was competitive with the local competition. In our case it worked out to less than PP 1K/night for our three night stay.

Having recently opened, GO hotel is still shaking out. Management is attentive to deficiencies and responded immediately and positively to those we reported.


This is GO hotel's second venture after the Manila EDSA location. Some minor improvements to that operation are noted. There is a retractable clothesline installed in the huge rainshower enclosure. The bathroom lighting level is, however, unacceptably low. My wife was forced to build her face in the large bedroom mirror. I found myself shaving there as well.

Key control is achieved through RFID technology, an enhancement over the magnetic striping at the EDSA location.

We enjoyed our stay and will repeat it. We will enthusiastically recommend it to visitors to Dumaguete.

Room Tip: None. All appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 191 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

It's the newest budget hotel in Dumaguete so you can expect everything to be in good condition. New small rooms, cool aircon, fast wifi connection. I liked their firm bed and fluffy pillows. I also like their courteous staff. They are so different from the ground staff of their partner airline.

We stayed there for 2 nights and experienced frequent though brief power outages in the middle of the night and during early morning. I asked my friends who lived in the city if they experienced any brownout and they said there was none. This meant the power outages were probably limited to the hotel.

What I didn't get was the low position of their shower head. Was it really meant for vertically challenged guests or did they feel that guests would prefer to hold the shower head while taking a bath, which meant you would have to exert more effort instead of just cooling down under the shower? Well, you'd have to bend down if you wanted to do this. I know this is a budget hotel, but placing the shower head higher didn't entail added cost so I don't understand why they had to do this.

We were also surprised that the housekeeping staff didn't clean our rooms. Well, yes we weren't able to hang that "pls make up my room" sign on the door but we never do in other hotels and yet, we still go back to a made up room at night. Guess, you just have to really hang that sign if you want your room to be cleaned and your towel replaced with a new one.

I also didn't like the fact that you had to reserve through the website if you wanted a lower rate. What about the people in the city who wanted to try staying there but didn't have internet access? They had to settle for the walk-in rate then. I booked through the internet and was given a room rate of about PhP1,000+/night.

I'm not sure if this hotel will still look this good after a year. Dumaguete has other budget hotels that are far better than this one in terms of rate, facilities, and location. So whether you're on a budget or not, you have other options.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank purplefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed at GoHotel for one night only since I wanted to experience their newly opened branch in Dumaguete. I was checked in here for the first night of my 5-day trip in Central Visayas. I booked the room only about a week prior to my arrival but I was able to get the room at P588 (should I made the booking a few days I earlier I would have availed the P388 rate). Anyway, it was still cheap considering the walk-in rate is P1,888 something. In case you don't know, GoHotels have a different pricing scheme - the earlier you book, the cheaper. :)

I arrived in Dumaguete City at 9am in the morning and went directly to GoHotel. Since check-in time is 2pm, I was expecting to work online while waiting but they don't have an area where you could comfortably sit and use your laptop. They don't have laptop stations like the ones in Mandaluyong branch (probably because the building is not that big). The convenient store inside the building was still not operational so I couldn't stay there either. Robinson's Place, which is just a stone throw away, was to open at 10am. I decided to go for a tour to Balinsasayao Twin Lakes and return just in time for the check-in. I was happy to know they can keep my luggage at P50.

After the tour, I went back to the hotel a little past 2pm. Checked in and glad to see their new and clean room. It has LCD TV, double bed, safety box, hot & cold shower, etc. I went online but couldn't access their wifi but their staff was very helpful. He went to see and checked my laptop. The wifi was too slow considering the router is just outside my room. I kind of felt disappointed because I was expecting a lot about it. The staff restarted the modem and eventually the internet speed became really fast - just like I expect it - during my entire stay.

From my room, I called their reception to inquire if they know the schedule of ferry trips to Liloan, Cebu for the next day. The staff informed me that they will call the shipping line to confirm the schedule. After awhile I received a call from the reception informing me about the updated sched. I was impressed.

The next day, I had to leave very early for my day trip to Oslob, Cebu. I'm not checked in for the second day so I had to check out before I leave. I was still glad to know that they could keep my luggage for a fee even if I'm not staying there for another night. I decided to leave some of my stuff since I will be returning back to Dumaguete after my Oslob trip late in the afternoon/evening. Returned to the hotel at around 6pm, claimed my luggage and left to transfer to another hotel.

I was not sure about my itinerary when I booked a room -- the reason why I only reserved for one night. When my itinerary was fixed, I tried to check the room rate to book for another night but the rate was already P888. I found it quite expensive (I'm checking in the evening and checking out very early the next day for my trip to Siquijor) so I decided to look for a cheaper option.

Pros:
-Friendly, helpful and attentive staff (including the security guards)
-Very nice, clean room
-Fast wifi
-Luggage keeping service
-There is a spa, travel agency and laundry service booths inside the building if you need them
-Stone throw away from Robinson's Place

Cons:
-A little far away from the downtown
-No laptop station in the lobby
-No nearby restaurants if you're looking for food late in the evening (if Robinson's Place is already closed) - probably not a problem when the convenient store starts its operation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank 亘奥
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Katso että pistorasiat todella toimivat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martti_Perikangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 37 in Dumaguete City
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
White Knights Dumaguete
#24 of 37 in Dumaguete City
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#27 of 37 in Dumaguete City
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Dumaguete Springs Beach Resort
12 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 4 in Zamboanguita
76 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 17 in Dauin
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Go Hotels Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Go Hotels Dumaguete

Address: Calindagan corner South Road | Dumaguete Central Business District, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Price Range: $21 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Go Hotels Dumaguete 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go Hotels Dumaguete is situated neighboring Robinsons Place Dumaguete Mall. The hotel rooms look out to a calm view of nature and the city. A mere 15-20 minute drive will take you to the airport and nearby tourist destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Go Hotels Dumaguete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing