We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Mexican food!! Yum!”
Review of Mooon Cafe

Mooon Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Mexican food!! Yum!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We went here on a weeknight during the happy hour and ordered a margarita pitcher and chimichangas. The margarita was blue and tasted very fruity, although the alcohol is a bit stinging, it's was still a LOT cheaper than the usual. A pitcher costs Around 150pesos only which was good for 3-4 glasses. The chimichangas were toasted well and spicy enough to excite your senses!

Helpful?
Thank Bluepurple8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    99
    37
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
“Best Baby Back Ribs”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I thought i had the best deal for a baby back ribs at Casa Verde in Cebu City until I ate at Mooon Cafe and tried their baby back ribs which is only at 199pesos for a 500grams serving. It was delicious and sweet just the way I like it. It was perfect. I had another round of rice serving which was apparently free. Their selection of drinks is superb at a very reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank tipidwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visayas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok lang.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Firstly, the name of the restaurant is Mooon, not Moon. I ate here last Sunday before watching a movie. We started with the Molo soup, which we like. I decided to try a pasta for a change, some had tenderloin, which seemed ok, pork barbecue, which I tried but too sweet for my liking, gambas, which had plenty of prawns but very oily. My pasta was their in-house Mooon special pasta. It was terrible, I picked out the bits of prawns, chicken and mushroom and left the pasta, it was inedible. It was sickly sweet and had a weird taste, a bit like aniseed - yeuk! I've been before and the food has been ok, so I have given an average mark.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KendalVisayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bring Your Own Salsa”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was there at Moon on Silliman a few days ago and as usual lately the amount of salsa I get with my chicken fajita isn't enough anymore to use on the 3 (smallish) fajita wrappers. So I asked for more as I've done before..

Except this time I looked over the bill and see I WAS CHARGED P25 FOR THE SALSA!

It's not like I'm using lavish amounts of it on my fajitas...there's just less salsa and more salsa juice anymore lately

Is that good marketing?? Laying an extra charge on your customers for something they should have gotten in the first place?

Just more inept policy making at Moon

Btw, maybe have the wait staff do more than stare out the window while standing near the bar? How about looking around for dirty plates to be cleaned? Ours always seem to be left sitting as long as possible

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DumagueteCity6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“very good for Dumaguete standards only”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Food is fast, reasonably priced (for western food) and drinks are pretty good. As long as you stay away from the pizzas its all good. Tuna belly was particularly good. Most wait staff not that great but Richard in the Robinson's mall branch, you are a star! The best waiter in Phil so far and a lovely chap to boot. Me and my girlfriend loved having a chat while it was quiet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooon Cafe also viewed

Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Mooon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing