We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WATER TORTURE”
Review of Hotel Nicanor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nicanor
Ranked #19 of 53 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Bayawan City
1 review
“The WATER TORTURE”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

room cleanliness- good, staff - good, accessibility - perfect! parking - problem! we had a great stay, my kids love it in this hotel specially the room overviewing boulevard and the city but the problem was that we had a terrible night (sleeping time) beacuase of the water dripping from i guess the aircon, it was so loud that it really pissed me off and my hubby. but thanks goodness we were eventually able to sleep, the next morning i politely informed the front desk of the problem, i hope they fixed it.. but we would certainly like to stay again next time (hoping there's no more water dripping)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotNesmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
36
57
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

we stayed here only one night , we had the ferry next day morning and we had to choose the cheapest hotel and we ve done an excellent choice!
rooms are very clean, wide bed :), the staff was very nice and helpful, they have wired and wi fi also in the room!
i certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clapatinul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Nicanor Hotel. At first i had a single room with no view outside (only a few rooms have a view outside). The second night i moved to the Suite room with a view to the sea and i stayed there for almost a week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Dumaguete after coming from Siquijor. Not sure why we stayed here so long? Neither are we. We needed to fly back to Cebu though and the ferry is too far from Siquijor so we came here.

We had some work to get done (my husband's a writer) so we utilized our Executive suite for doing just that. 2 king sized beds, a fridge, a bathtub and a huge shower all for $46 USD. Totally worth it.

Especially coming from a resort that claimed to have a king sized bed in all rooms (which was only a queen) it was really nice to spread out our things and not feel crammed. The hotel is walking distance to every restaurant around here, the grocery store, a mall and a few blocks from the Public Market.

You can't hear much from the street, there's a security guard at the door, the reception and maids are friendly.

Pretty good deal.

My only complaints would be that the lighting is really really faint, so it feels really dark in the rooms, especially the bathroom with no lights above the sink, the sink leaks badly when filled with water (room 302), there's no in room safe and they charge you per hour to "rent" a hairdryer. But we've paid more for much less on some of the resort islands in Philippines so it was overall a pleasant stay.

The best food in town we found was at Justz Cafe near Food Net and Casablanca on the boardwalk. The rest has really really poor quality food and servers that don't really give a ... about helping you and food can take forever to be made.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

A centraly located hotel in Dumaguete clean and tidy and smiling staff always willing to help and give advice good room rates the only negative some one stole some money out of my luggage in my room but apart from that a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Pros-- $22 per night for a couple with a 3 year old. Excellent!!
Pros-- For the money, the room is very well under-priced. The same room can easily fetch $50 a night.
Pros-- Included is FREE AIRPORT PICKUP in an aircon van.
Pros-- Really centrally located, mere steps away from the seaside boulevard.
Pros-- FREE unlimited drinking water from the hallway dispenser
Pros-- LInen is crisp, clean and fresh
Pros-- Hyper attentive staff, housekeeping, room service


CONS-- No Biddet, in the toilet
Non centralized hot water, it comes from an individual electronic heater with very low water flow to bathe.
Aircon is directly facing the bed so we simply moved the bed away from the direct blast of cold air..

Overall, for the money-- WOW!! This is the play to stay. You cant beat this under-valued hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZINNSGeneralManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Clean and spacious room, smiling and helpful staff, our stay was comfortable and convenient. The hotel is near to the most important spots in town. They do not offer breakfast but you are next to a shopping mall with a fantastic coffee shop. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caligola44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 34 in Dumaguete City
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 34 in Dumaguete City
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#25 of 34 in Dumaguete City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Suites Inn
Manhattan Suites Inn
#10 of 53 in Dumaguete City
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The World View Pension Plaza
The World View Pension Plaza
#23 of 53 in Dumaguete City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nicanor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nicanor

Property: Hotel Nicanor
Address: San Jose Street, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nicanor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Nicanor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing