We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed at all!”
Review of Hotel Nicanor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nicanor
Ranked #19 of 53 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed at all!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I love it's location for its very convenient. They have free transport from airport to the hotel. When I arrived at the front desk, the staff are not that friendly. I asked questions and they answer me in a sarcastic way. The room was ok but the air condition is not working. They have a clogged toilet. I asked housekeeping to fix the problem but still they were not able to solve it. They didn't even offer to transfer me in another room. I ordered room service and it took an hour or two because the guy who took my order totally forgot about it. Sorry but staying here is something you have to think about. I just don't deserve the experience with what I have paid for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatGatsbyStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
36
57
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We've only stayed for one night in this hotel. We found it clean and spacious. We had the deluxe room with the bath which is great after traveling for 24 hrs.
There is free wi-fi and an internet cafe, if needed.
Friendly staff and good value for money.
Shops and restaurants are within walking distance as is the pier and that is why we choose this hotel when we stopover in Dumaguette.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Was told that this is the best place to stay in Dumaguete. If this was the best, then I am not sure what "bad" is. The location was good, but I can't call this a hotel. To start there was only bath towels and the bed sheets, well let's just say that once covered you body was not able to breath. The internet was very inconsistent and kept on losing signal. A 5 night stay became only one night. There must be better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumaguete City hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Nicanor's main advantage is its location. It is right in the heart of the city; it's next to a bank, ATM machines, Mall and restaurants. It's very near the boulevard and the bell tower is a walk away.
What I dislike most are the noisy staff in the morning, the housekeeping crew likes to talk aloud and u can hear it in your room, even if you have the "Do not disturb" sign on your door. Sleep and rest is very important.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location as it's near Rizal boulevard and to all the go-to places in the city. they have accomodating staff and nice, spacious rooms. The hotel has free wifi on each floor. The room rates are not that expensive too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

the room is so clean, the interior design in the room is so relaxing that it would allow you to really relax and rest after an exhausting trip--specially if you've been island hopping.

it sits in the heart of dumaguete city and almost everything is within reach--from Jo's Chicken Inato to the supermarket, the wet market and the pharmacy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViArboleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three days and 2 nights. The staff at the counter were not as cordial as I expected it to be. Not hospitable as if guests are not welcome. One staff was so busy texting. They must undergo public relations training. Credit cards are not allowed if corporate rate is to be applied. Most hotels nowadays offer a free breakfast but this hotel does not. There is no reason for me to come back in this hotel. Quite an irony that dumaguete is dubbed as the city of gentle people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOVITO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 34 in Dumaguete City
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 34 in Dumaguete City
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#25 of 34 in Dumaguete City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Suites Inn
Manhattan Suites Inn
#10 of 53 in Dumaguete City
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The World View Pension Plaza
The World View Pension Plaza
#23 of 53 in Dumaguete City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nicanor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nicanor

Property: Hotel Nicanor
Address: San Jose Street, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nicanor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Nicanor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing