We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT PLACE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sta. Monica Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sta. Monica Beach Club
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Malabon, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A far cry from the past look. Well-refurbished! Great place to stay! The staff was very accommodating and cleanliness is very good. Very close to the beach which would be great for sunrise photoshooting. Hats off to the new management. Keep it up. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerbsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear GerbsDC,
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are still a few more things we have planned for the Beach Club! We hope you'll get the chance to visit us again. Thank you very much! Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We took a gamble with the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, noting the more recent positive comments, and did not regret our choice. Rooms are newly refurbished, and front desk staff exceptionally attentive (being one of the only few staying at the resort helps!). Sta Monica is currently under soft launch and they still have several kinks to iron out, but if her sister resort, Amorita (Bohol) is anything to go by, we believe this is one to look out for!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear sk0r,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Club! The most recent reviews we've been receiving have definitely served as a source of encouragement for the Sta. Monica Beach Club team. We hope that you and your family get the chance to stay with us again during your next trip to Dumaguete.
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

20 minutes from the airport, we turned left from the National Highway and entered a secluded area, passing through what seemed to be nipa plantations. At the end of the road is Sta. Monica Beach Club. I figured there’s no way one could walk from the resort to the national highway, but don’t worry as you can easily hire tricycles to take you to the city proper, and back.

Santa Monica is a sister resort of Amorita Resort, Bohol. Having visited Amorita last year, I somehow had expectations for this newly-acquired property.

As I disembarked from the van, I was warmly welcomed by genuine smiles from the resort’s staff. They led me to register and check in at their office since there was no appointed front desk yet. (The resort was not yet formally open during our visit. Various improvements are being undertaken to spruce up the property). After the quick check-in process, I was then accompanied to my room

A big white room greeted me. My room, which was recently refurbished, had nothing fancy, but I loved how it was all about space and simplicity.

The room had an open closet, a personal refrigerator and a cable TV. Complimentary bottled water was also provided and replenished daily.

The beds were all white and the pillows were soft enough to induce sleep.

The room had a clean bathroom and powerful hot and cold shower. But what caught my attention were two bottles which resembled liquor bottles. These actually contained the lemongrass shampoo and liquid soap. Both smelled so good that I wanted to take them home.

Just a few steps from my room is a pavilion, the main dining area of Sta. Monica.

The dining area was located directly beside the pool, perfect for taking dips before or after meals.

Santa Monica Beach Club has great food!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheLibotero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear TheLibotero,
Thank you for sharing a detailed account of your stay. There are slight a few more things we need to fix up at the resort but we're very glad that you and your friends enjoyed your accommodations. The Lemongrass-scented shampoo and body wash from our friends at Ritual have become a favorite among our guests. We'll be selling it very soon. It's a great and useful souvenir that will definitely remind guests of their trip to Sta. Monica. We look forward to having you back with us!
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Perhaps you will immediately have a picture of what the much better Sta. Monica Beach Club is if I say that they offer all-natural and organic lemongrass liquid soap and conditioning shampoo as their toilet amenity.

Dumaguete City may not be a very popular destination for both local and foreign tourists yet, but if you are visiting the city for pleasure or business, you must check in only at Sta Monica Beach Club. Forget about all the other available accommodations in Dumaguete, because we have seen their buildings in the city proper, and they are all not worth it, at least based on their respective locations (they are all in crowded, clluttered areas) and external appearance (small buildings that look like commercial spaces more than hotels). Meanwhile, at Sta Monica Beach Club, you feel the luxury that comes with exclusivity. I will dare say that at Sta Monica, it is like you are in a five-star resort of some international hotel chain, because everything they do and offer their guests speaks of excellence.

Upon our arrival at the Ceres Line bus station at around 3pm (we took a bus ride from Cebu to Dumaguete because our vacation started with Cebu then Dumaguete), we were already welcomed by a female hotel attendant in white polo and carrying a Sta Monica placard. She was all smiles in spite of the very hot weather (remember, it was 3pm and we were at a public bus terminal), greeted us as we approached her, and brought us to the white, clean Nissan Urvan which serves as the hotel vehicle.

The bus driver who was wearing orange was also very courteous and hospitable.The female attendant then gave each of us bottles of water and cold towel, which we sincerely appreciated considering that we came from a grueling 5-hour bus / ferry ride from Cebu City. From both our driver and female escort, we have instantly felt that Sta. Monica must be up to something good. We drove around 7 minutes until we reached the resort. There, I realized immediately that we needed to write a good review to clarify that indeed, the resort is under new management and the past Sta Monica Resort must be forgotten.

Upon check in, we were served a delicious and cold lemongrass juice as welcome drink. The rooms were clearly all new and well-appointed. White was the prevailing color. The beds were comfortable and big enough, the pillows were also just right, neither too hard nor too soft. The lighting was more than satisfactory and the curtains gave a beach feeling. Of course, the hotel carried the most recent line in the Samsung LCD TV family (in 32 inches) and the cable tv line-up was even better than what we have in Sky Cable in Manila.

As I have said, the lemongrass shampoo and liquid soap from Ritual Shop were a pleasant surprise, because usually, hotels in the provinces will just give guests the cheap and very small soap and shampoo in sachet. Sta Monica did not offer free toothbrushes, etc, but we all know nobody really needs or uses these. The shampoo and the soap are what are important for me, at least, and they surely delivered.

Just outside the room is a patch of grass that leads to the wide and circular swimming pool which is the center of the resort, considering that the beach is really not its attraction. The pool area is very relaxing, and the water is clean and warm. The pool bar, where people dine and drink (Sta Monica does not have an indoor restaurant, or if there is one, maybe it is still under construction), is also nice and surprisingly, it carried a pretty wide selection of beverages, including alcoholic ones. They brew their own coffee too. They also play upbeat music, and they're updated with their pop songs, considering they're in bucolic Dumaguete!

Of course, we all need internet access and while there is none in the rooms (understandable because the resort is large and setting up a wifi network will be difficult), there is in the pool area, and I can assure you that their internet access there is speedy and reliable. The fact that wifi is offered only in the public area is satisfactory I think, considering that we should also not be agog with what's going on in the cyber world when we are tucked in the comforts of our well-appointed Sta Monica hotel rooms.

The hotel staff are also polite and courteous, especially the urvan driver and the female escort (as I mentioned), the room boy in white polo, and another female staffer who attended to our kayak request.

Yes, Sta Monica offers a complimentary kayak (1hr for every guest) along the sea of Dumaguete. This is surely a valuable experience because in Boracay or elsewhere, kayaking is very expensive, and here it is being offered for free. The sea is very serene and calm, and we kayak-ed late afternoon so we were even able to see the sunset at Mt Kanlaon (the sea has a view of a mountain, which I think is Mt Kanlaon). Their boat and paddles are also new and imported.

Sta Monica also offered us a complimentary breakfast, which could either be filipino or continental. We chose filipino and we had a good serving of tocino, longanisa, garlic rice, and lemongrass juice for breakfasts during our stay. Also, security is palpable and there is stand by generator if you're concerned of the spotty access to electricity in rural areas in our country.

I have narrated all these simply to show that in all fairness, Sta Monica is indeed under new management and the new managers have clearly spent a lot of time, money, and attention to the old resort, and in fact, it seems that Sta Monica is a brand new resort that deserves to be equated with new five-star accommodations in Boracay, Palawan, and other provinces that have been gaining the attention of local and foreign tourists.

The bottom line is that if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Dumaguete, or if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation but you're already tired of Boracay and other crowded destinations, and you have the luxury of time and resources to choose the small city of Dumaguete, then please do consider Sta Monica. You do not even have to see the city anymore once you've arrived here. For our part, we just stayed in the hotel during our 2-night stay. It is simply comforting to know at least that even in small towns in the Philippines, away from Manila, there are quality accommodations that will not give you nightmares of beadbugs or what not.

And also, if there is anything that Sta Monica should improve in, it is their transportation service. I mean clearly, this is a beach resort, so it is not very near to the Dumaguete down town. However, the hotel transportation offers complimentary pick up from, and drop off to, the airport / bus terminal / sea port only. If the guests wish to use the hotel van to go to Robinsons Dumaguete or to Rizal Boulevard to try the famous Dumaguete sansrival for example, Sta Monica charges Php 350 for every trip. At the very least, Sta Monica must coordinate with a local tricycle operator to ensure that guests can have tricycles at least if they want to leave the resort, or add a complimentary shuttle service to their delightful amenities. This will be especially useful to business travelers who have appointments in the city (but whatever happens, Sta Monica is nowhere comparable to the poorly conceptualized hotels and inns in the city proper).

There, I hope you find this review satisfactory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Abet27,
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience in the newly renovated property. We are very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. There are still a few corners that need polishing - one of them is the transportation available around Dumaguete. We are working on a recommended list of alternative transportation that is safe and reliable for our guests. On your next trip to Dumaguete, we hope that you and your family will consider staying with us again!
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Dumaguete is an underrated city with a surprising number of really good restaurants and nearby spots for enjoying the sea.

Due to change in management, Sta. Monica Beach Club was under soft opening, so we were able to get value-for-money rates. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a cute design. Especially enjoyed the nice big pool and the danggit (small fried fish) for breakfast.

The hotel staff can help you arrange for a trip to Manjuyod Sandbar, which is a definite must-see in Dumaguete.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amoritamarketing, Manager at Sta. Monica Beach Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Joanna l,

Thank you posting a review about your stay at the Beach Club. It would be great to have you and your friends stay with us again. We will be glad to show you around Dumaguete City!

Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beecher il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though the resort was closed for major remodeling the new managment alowed us to stay which i thought was above and beyound what any other resort would do for you. We spent the month of june there we are hoping thy will have a room ready for us when we return in september. I would refer anyone to this resort the price is right also.We cant wait to see what thy have done to the property it was very nice pryor to the remodeling. The new managment is all about guest comfort and needs. We highly recomend staying here hope you enjoy your stay there as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 14ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beecher il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

when i was there thy were right in the middle of changing owners thy started repaires on day one.the upgrades were masive and quick i wouldent be surprised if thy were close to being done by early may 2012. the staff was great the food was good the grounds were well kept and the pool was cleaned daily . the rooms were clean also. thy were very attentive to what ever you wanted. i highly recomend staying here i was there for 2 weeks and had the time of my life. i rented a motor cycle so i never had a problem with transportation. if your looking for white sand beaches this is not the resort for that but for the money you cant beat it. one thing i hope thy do change is staying open later and open earler. there is an armed guard at the gate and walkes the grounds all night so security is very good felt safe the whole time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
7.9 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 33 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.3 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 14 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
10.4 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sta. Monica Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sta. Monica Beach Club

Property: Sta. Monica Beach Club
Address: Banilad, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines (Formerly Sta. Monica Beach Resort)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sta. Monica Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated amidst nipa plantations in a quiet fishing village in Dumaguete City, Sta. Monica Beach Club offers a revitalizing resort experience in the heart of the "City of Gentle People." Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the Dumaguete beach resort is one of the provincial capital's most iconic and elegant leisure, events, and wedding destinations. Utilizing the finest local materials and craftsmanship - with contemporary coastal design themes and a modern Filipino aesthetic - Sta. Monica Beach Club features a three-bedroom Beach House, plus 18 deluxe rooms and lofts that integrate seamlessly with the surrounding natural environment. Sta. Monica lies on the coast of Negros Oriental's southern peninsula, only 10 minutes away from the Dumaguete Airport and Seaport and a one-hour flight from Metro Manila. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sta. Monica Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Beach Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing