We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jeff and gem aust”
Review of Bethel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bethel Guest House
Ranked #3 of 55 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2014

we stayed here in April and booked a suite on the 5 floor, when we arrived we were given a room on the 4 floor as later bookings were longer stay so we were down graded with out notice, very insulting, we should have been given what we booked. we had to hang a blanket over the blinds as the morning sun woke us, apart from that the staff were nice and all was OK.

Room Tip: double check your booking just before you travel. try to get a room on the 5 floor facing the ocean,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffngem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 219 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The 3rd floor smelled of a potent sanitizing agent. My room was close to the housekeeping desk that had a very loud phone and a bell that guests rang frequently. I work at a hospital and after one night at Bethel I have an idea how a patient must feel trying to get sleep at a hospital.

Room Tip: Make sure you are far from the housekeeping desk and have a view of the sea, otherwise keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris9lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The room on the 5th floor overlooking the shore was clean, spacious and bright. The 5th floor has a patio and a mini-garden which made it even more enticing to relax in. The value cannot be beat for the quality of the amenities and service provided. We felt very safe. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor with a sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfoz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very clean which is a big plus but walking down the corridor to your room is like walking in a hospital corridor and when in your room - it's like arriving at WARD C! Very friendly nurses oh I mean housekeeping staff, who by the way, sits around a counter which looks like a "nurse's station" at the bottom of the corridor waiting for calls from "patients" eeerr I mean hotel guests for room service. But if it's only for a night stay, it's not a bad place. It's at the heart of Dumaguete City, a promenade across the road good for a walk before retiring to bed, easy access to the bus station and robinsons place - it's very convenient and an ideal place to stay for those reasons. ;-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ulrica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked this through local contacts, hotel shuttle was there to pick us up.
Pleased to see how bright and vibrant the place is, reception were leaning over backwards to please, and we had a sea view.
You must remember that this is run by a religeous group, so as long as you respect their values, of no alcohol, and reasonable behaviour, you will be fine, and they will want to help you even more.
The ATM in reception often times out with foreign cards but theres another ATM a few 100 meters away.
Its cheap, clean, reasonable accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Basic accommodation. The hotel seems more like a retro-fitted hospital. Oddly clinical atmosphere. My room faced an inner courtyard with a Jesus mural. Price and location are a plus, as well as the helpful staff. Serviceable but there are better options in Dumaguete.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at this guest house (GH) for 9 days so here's a heads-up:
1) Make sure to remind the GH for airport pick-up (reminded them thrice & had to wait enough for some mosquitos to pick on us!);
2) The front staff is extra courteous for a few days, after that, the big C in the hospitality industry fades off;
3) For the length of stay, a personalized greeting is in order (i.e., "Good Morning, Mrs. Cruz"; they do this in 5 star hotels or the Hyatt Hotels starting from the Manager on down to the Chamber maids);
4) Initially, the food in the Cafeteria is tasty. After that, the selection is rather predictable & grows old;
5) Do not know why it takes so l-o-n-g for brewed coffee to be served? Reminders to wait staff has little effect on prompt service. Thus, is selective hearing the mantra for brewed coffee drinkers?
6) Wi-Fi/Internet services are an on & off again affair. If this was a business trip, would take my business elsewhere. Head to Netopia at Robinson's Mall for a seamless experience. Caveat emptor!
7) The bathroom floor leaks enough to generate potential liability issues for GH. Thank goodness the chamber maids are there to mop and dry the space up. They also complain that they slide all over the place when doing this chore. Pastilan!
8) Our AC was off & on for first three days. Should have asked for a rebate but the ocean view made up for all that discomfort.

Hope the aforementioned helps in your decision making process.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the Housekeeping station are quieter. Suggest to get a room with an Ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrimsonGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 35 in Dumaguete City
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#26 of 35 in Dumaguete City
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nicanor
Hotel Nicanor
#20 of 55 in Dumaguete City
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palwa
Hotel Palwa
#10 of 55 in Dumaguete City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Guest House

Address: Rizal Boulevard, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bethel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethel Guest House Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing