We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Bethel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bethel Guest House
Ranked #3 of 53 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had pre-booked and got a room with a window overlooking the side street so we cannot say that it was noisy. A lot of signs saying that smoking and drinking alcohol was forbidden and no " joiners". allowed in the rooms. The room were very clean, almost sterile if you wanted a single room you would be in the center without a outside window, The Restaurant - Canteen was popular with the local people but don't have the toast with your breakfast as it tastes like cardboard. The rest of the food was fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    95
    44
    8
    10
See reviews for
57
44
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Yes the rooms are very basic. But the lack thereof is easily out scored by genuine, quick and respectful service. Dumaguete is a growing city so noise should be expected (go to rural areas instead).

Some of the main lobby reception should learn from the floor staff services. The guys were exceptional, while some women needed to be more cheerful. No see yous or thank yous when I checked out, or come back again...

Hotel is very affordable, close to excellent restos and accessible transpo. What more can you ask for? Enjoyed my stay here, and may come back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kewihiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is no reason why you should visit this hotel.
The rooms are very basic and aging, the noice of the boulevard very disturbing, there is no isolation whatsoever. There is also no safe in the room.
We will not return here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC_and_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff were nice and accommodating. The location of Bethel is along Rizal Avenue and is very accessible. Over all experience is good except my aunt who was travelling with us reserved for beach front rooms and didn't get it. The plus thing is the wifi though it was a bit slow ony good for emailing and Facebook. There's a coffee shop which serves not so good food. What can I say there's room for improvement. Room is clean, with hot water, flat screen tv so will definitely recommend this to friends however don't expect too much.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I spent be night here between destinations. It's about 5 minutes from the pier, and they have a shuttle that runs between - you can easily walk or catch a tricycle (for P20 max).

It's fine - the room was clean, but basic and a bit old. Overall the hotel looked a bit like a hospital ward inside. They has a receptionist on the ground floor and in my floor which i liked - as a solo traveler safety is my number 1 priority.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent a week here while visiting my wife's family. Our family deluxe room had a nice view of the bay. The housekeeping staff here is excellent. The rooms were never less than spotless. If I asked for anything the staff brought it immediately. Big shout out to fifth floor housekeepers Rose and Virginia who were incredibly friendly and helpful. The front desk staff was good, but always glued to their cell phones. One girl would look at me reproachfully when I distracted her from her texting. The rooms are aging somewhat. Ours had a really noisy air conditioner. This is a popular spot for weddings and conventions and was quite noisy a couple of nights. I think if we return, I will stay in one of the newer hotels in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Don't expect anything special about this hotel, except for the beautiful view. Bethel has all the basic amenities of your typical hotel as compared to many other hotels in the Philippines who don't even provide shampoos, tooth paste or even a bath towel. Painfully cheap and the service personel are friendly to both Filipinos and foreigners. If you want the view of the sea, easy access to the different places and local transportation in Dumaguete and the basic trappings of a small hotel, Bethel is the place for you.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and we didn't hear a single noise from the supposed hustle and bustle i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleEmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 34 in Dumaguete City
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 34 in Dumaguete City
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#25 of 34 in Dumaguete City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nicanor
Hotel Nicanor
#19 of 53 in Dumaguete City
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Suites Inn
Manhattan Suites Inn
#10 of 53 in Dumaguete City
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
The World View Pension Plaza
The World View Pension Plaza
#23 of 53 in Dumaguete City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Guest House

Property: Bethel Guest House
Address: Rizal Boulevard, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bethel Guest House Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing