We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dumaguete City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Grande Hotel Dumaguete
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
480 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

At 1200p for an executive room, the price cannot be beat. It is within walking distance of the pier, but a tricycle is recommended for trips to restaurants and E Plaza (which has a good selection of wines, a few cheeses, olives, and all the regular grocery items).
(cocograndehotel@yahoo.com, www.cocograndehotel.com, 63 35 422 0746/7)

The room is large with parquet flooring in the living area and stone floors in the bathroom, cable TV, stocked minibar, AC, desk with coffee/tea making (though you need to request the hot water from room service), a circular wicker table with 3 chairs. It is somewhat dated, especially the soft mattress on the bed. Regulating the water temperature in the enclosed shower can be tricky and there is only cold water in the sink.

Wifi only works if you are next to one of the 2 routers in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
42
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

You can't ask for much more from this type of hotel. Big rooms, good bathrooms, friendly service and good restaurant. Close to the ferry port (5 mins walk). Hotel will organise and pick-up tickets for you. Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delmac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Hotel is centrally located and close to restaurants, shopping and the universities. The coffee shop is small but good choice of menu and friendly staff. The whole hotel staff are very courteous and friendly. Rates of rooms are very resonable and clean. Good security after dark. Plan on going back next Apr. 2011.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Makati Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Our Cebu Pacific flight from Dumaguete to Manila was canceled on 15 April 2010 due to technical difficulties. This was the last flight of the day and all the passengers had to stay overnight and had to be booked on a flight the next day.

The airline assigned hotel rooms to all the passengers that needed or wanted them, including a free dinner and breakfast...they also gave out free 1-way airline ticket vouchers for this inconvenience.
As far as this goes, Cebu Pacific ranks Par Excellence in my book.

About 7 or 8 of us were assigned to stay in this coco hell..
Fine, I thought as I had stayed here 3 years ago which was better then, 3 out of 5, then.

The hotel is profoundly out-dated in this new decade. Its linens look like they were picked out of "Ukay-Ukay" ( this is everywhere in the Philippines, places that have piles and piles of clothing on sale for peanuts. Imagine the garbage dumps of Salcation Army or Goodwil - exotice and disheartening at the same time).
Bathroom fixtures need severe maintenance and cleaning or changed. At 200 lbs., l almost went through a rattan chair in the room. The room service menu in the room, especially its dingy cloth cover looks lethally unsanitary. Towels in the bathroom were handwashed and dried out in the sun which was very rough and hard to the touch (manual labor in the Philippines is cheap and cheaper than machines).

This hotel is crying out for a renovation - or a new Owner.

What with other and newer affordable hotels in Dumaguete like Hotel Nicanor, Hotel Palwa (currently under renovation), Florentina, Dumaguete Royal Suites or Worldview, amongst others that I am not aware of, delightful resorts some of which are owned by foreigners.

I decided to have room service since there was no table open in their tiny, planned seating layout and besides. I am an architect. Since I love fish and prefer it to chicken or pork, I ordered their "fish and chips" which had 2 options, breaded (who knows what's in their batter) or pan-fried, which I chose. Room service arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes later, fine...that was around 9:00 PM which is equivalent to around 11:00 PM. I can be very patient which I was. I went to bed around 10:00 and woke up around 12:30 PM because I was scratching myself and felt hives forming.f
I thought I could sleep it off.

The fish that Hell served me was obviously bad but was disguised with some kind of Filipino or oriental seasoning. Late at night and early morning, I had gone up and down several times, put ice from the small cooler in the room to no avail. I was able to get some sleep around 7:00 AM, again hoping that the hives would go away as my tolerance for all kinds of food is very good. Nada...so I went down to the Lobby and showed them my right eye which I couldn't open because of a huge hive.
Think Elephant Man.

My left eye OK except for a huge on my forehead above. There were hives on my upper and lower back. The girl on duty was very nice and accomodating and I actually felt that she really cared about what happened to me. The Owner, a foreigner with an accent was there, shook my hand, told me that I would be accompanied to Silliman Clinic where I saw a doctor. I was given prescriptions for a steriod, antihistamine and a topical cream to make the swelling go down.
The hotel assistant accompanied me to see a doctor as well as 3 drug stores to get my prescriptions filled. I gave her the doctor's receipt which was about 1/3 of the cost of my prescriptions and receipts of 3 prescribed medications. Fine, up to that point. I can be very patient.

Upon checking out 2 hours later, I was told that the Owner would pick up the doctor's bill only and not the medications, as if I had to use them without cause. Furthermore, he had the nerve to charge Cebu Pacific for that disgusting dinner that sent hives up my back and covered my left eye.

Maybe he could get a few pointers from Cebu Pacific on how to treat customers properly and professionally.

I seriously and profoundly consider any establisment that threatens my HEALTH.

It'll take me another 3 or so days to get back to normal.

"Stay Away" from this hell house.

I could easily press charges.

Tempting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BienViajado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumaguete City hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Value for money Friendly staff Coffee shop needs a lot to desire Poor selection
Stayed 2 weeks Will stay again next visit to Dumaguete

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aropakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel inbetwenn a house on the left and an elementary school to the right. Across is a shack and a little bodega. Don't get me wrong the hotel is very clean, but the window views made me squirm.

This hotel has no parking, no pool, no high speed internet, no business center, and no view!

I also noticed that there were many elderly foreigners staying at the hotel, and allowing young, Filipina, girls come and out of their room. Definitely was not happy with this brothel picture! Should've expected this by looking at their room rates!

I had unfornate encounter with the manager, when I refused to pay for drinks charged to my room. I had bought the drinks from the market, and placed them to cool in their mini bar. One of the maids made of mistake of counting the drinks I bought, and charged it to my room.
The manager refused to remove the charge from my bill, and threatened to garnish the amount on my bill from one of the maids. I was really pissed off that she had planned to do that. It's bad eneough that these maids make less $1.00 per day, and now she wanted to garnish $7.00 from their paycheck. This place is money hungry, and has no remorse for it's custumers nor their staff.

I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone! Pick another hotel or you will end up like me, writing a negative review on tripadvisor!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Divexxxtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I didn't expect to find a hotel which is very affordable yet elegant and very nice in a faraway place from home. It is easily accessible and the location is less congested from vehicular traffic. The rooms too are very spacious. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobenrafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 34 in Dumaguete City
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 34 in Dumaguete City
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#25 of 34 in Dumaguete City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeycomb Tourist Inn
Honeycomb Tourist Inn
#24 of 34 in Dumaguete City
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Residencia Almar Hotel
La Residencia Almar Hotel
#27 of 34 in Dumaguete City
49 reviews
8.2 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Grande Hotel Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Grande Hotel Dumaguete

Property: Coco Grande Hotel Dumaguete
Address: Hibbard Ave, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Grande Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of the city along a leafy tree lined avenue. We are only 10 minutes from Dumaguete airport, 3 minutes to the Dumaguete Pier and a short walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Our spacious rooms are Spanish influenced with all rooms having air-conditioning, private bathroom and mini bar. We have a laid-back atmosphere offering friendly and professional customer service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing