We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Residencia Almar Hotel
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Staying there a month for biz
Small hotel, old house converted to about 10 hotel rooms. It's right on the boulevard, so it can be loud if there's a parade (and there's always a parade, there' must be 72 holidays in the Philippines). Clean, well-kept, and the staff is very courteous. Pedro M's comments are correct, if the room is not on the boulevard, it can be claustrophobic. recently renovated with a decent restaurant downstairs

Room Tip: Overlooking the water or bust
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bordeauxbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for La Residencia Almar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 52 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Do NOT stay in any rooms away from the front of the hotel that overlook the boulevard. They are tiny with no windows, poor design (no end tables or benches upon which to stow your luggage), and a bathroom shower with no door/curtain which means water all over the floor the first time you use the shower. Did I mention also the tiny size of the bathroom which must have been designed for people under 5'5 height. The noise from the street included a music from a nearby club which lasted until 12:00. Thank God for sleeping pills. Never again.

Room Tip: Gert a room in front facing the boulevard/sea...at least it has a window/balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

thank god when we came in this hotel, the hotel is newly renovated. I loved it. feels like a boutique only downside is that there are no table in my room where i stayed but i love the terace overlooking the sea along the blvd.

beds are good, the blanket is good, AC is good and WIFI speed is acceptable

the resto is great, had dinner though its pricey its really nice.

i love it here and will comeback

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hasonteh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was told that La Residencia Al Mar is one of the oldest hotel in Dumaguete so I thought that it must have been recently renovated as the interiors looks quite modern. Even the facade seemed very clean and refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBaldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Having stayed at most of the hotels in Dumaguete, I revisited. Why? Its not often you find service with a smile. The room was 217, which was clean and tidy. Hot Water wasnt a problem, as it is in most in Dumaguete. Wi-Fi however, one has to go in the foyer or downstairs to get a signal. I did mention this and was told they didnt know, and it would be fixed. all in all, even tho a little over priced, I will return.

Room Tip: If you would like a View of the Boulavard, just ask. The front rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christoper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

we booked this hotel under the impression that it was one of the really good ones in dumaguete. in terms of location, i would say that la residencia is hard to beat. but in terms of other things? not really.

first off, wifi. doesn't reach the room. strange. we could pick up the signal around 8 feet from our room then it disappears. the signal of the neighboring bar was stronger. not terrible, just inconvenient.

sleep quality was a bit on the poor side. lumpy, saggy bed and hard lumpy pillows. we could hear the noise from the boulevard, but we really didn't mind that - it comes with the location. what we did mind was hearing the guy in the next room hack and cough and all that. we wonder if, in an attempt to fit more rooms, the walls became too thin between them. aircon behavior was strange. i stayed up half the night trying to get it right. even outside the room it got weird. cold in the downstairs lobby, hot in the second floor one.

and no breakfast? c'mon! not even coffee in the room or complimentary water. considering this is one of the (if not the) most expensive hotels in dumaguete, a few perks wouldn't hurt. had the hotel eggs benedict for breakfast and there was no hollandaise sauce on it. tsk tsk.

but the location makes up for a lot of things. it's hard to imagine staying away from the boulevard. and the staff was also more than kind in helping us with special requests such as getting us boat tickets to siquijor.

we heard they renovated big time. that's good. maybe the next step would be to take care of the little details inside.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed overnight with family on Oct 31, 2011. I can confidently say that this is the best hotel in Dumaguete as of this writing. Hotel obviously underwent a major renovation recently and the outcome is unquestionably good for both guests and the hotel.

The g/f is well-designed as the lobby shares space with 2 (?) food outlets (Cafe Don Atilano and some other outlet). The hotel features the original wide grand staircase that was included in the house, which its past incarnation. The hallway is comfy and pleasant to walk past with its paintings and homey furniture.

All rooms are on the 2nd floor (like a house). We stayed in the executive suite with 2 double beds, a ref, flat screen tv and a spacious bathroom with a rain shower head. The room featured space, homey yet modern interior design (wooden floors, nice head rest, wall shelves for personal items, yet diamond frame windows and home-like window curtains), which was more than enough to keep us comfortable for the night's stay. The bed was comfortable, firm and features smooth sheets and soft pillows.

Staff was courteous and accommodating. All our requests were promptly attended to.

Last but not the least, the location was perfect! This hotel is right on Rizal Blvd. and within walking distance from everything (department stores for errand purchases, convenience and drug stores) and most specially, all the good restaurants Dumaguete has to offer.

We will definitely come back to this hotel the next time we go to Dumaguete.

P.S. The old pics from 2009 reviews on tripadvisor are no longer valid. There are new pics of a typical renovated room that were uploaded recently, which are more accurate. Will try to upload recent pictures after this review.

Room Tip: Get the executive suite, this room is only Php 2,600 and is the best that the house has to offer!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#26 of 35 in Dumaguete City
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#15 of 35 in Dumaguete City
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honeycomb Tourist Inn
Honeycomb Tourist Inn
#25 of 35 in Dumaguete City
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
White Knights Dumaguete
#23 of 35 in Dumaguete City
2 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Margaritha
Casa Margaritha
#1 of 1 in Sibulan
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residencia Almar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residencia Almar Hotel

Address: Rizal Boulevard, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6204, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Dumaguete City
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residencia Almar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your La Residencia Almar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Al Mar Hotel Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing