We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
5
19
21
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
19
21
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next door welcome drink shower arcade castle station attractions breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

This rating is based on my expectations of a budget business hotel. I was only there to sleep.
Pros: excellent location. 6 min walk from Shimabara Station and central to all the sites. I could access anywhere within 10 minutes walking. I had an AMAZING VIEW!!!!(see pic) breakfast was the typical buffet with many choices 700¥. Room cozy and had everything I needed. Very nice lobby.
Cons:bathroom needed updating. The mirror was permanently fogged (without shower) you needed to be in fetal position to use the tub (but this is a hot spring town so go to a public bath already). It is not easy access. This wasn't a problem for me but you have to walk up at least eight steps to get to the main lobby.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Large room, very nice for a business hotel. Quite reasonably priced. I speak Japanese, so I can't say how much English would be understood, but it is a tourist town. Parking is limited at the hotel, but their is a second parking lot which was good for our larger car.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

About 10 minutes walk from the station,check in was quick and staff very friendly.
All the main sights were within walking distance and the hotel even gave us a discount ticket for the local onsen.
Room was larger than normal and the views across to the castle, sea and mountains were spectacular.
The room itself was somewhat dated but had everything you needed.
Breakfast 700yen offered a good choice and many local dishes.
Would stay here again

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Minkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Comfortable and spacious room. We got a room with a view of the Shimabara castle. Easy check in and check out process and friendly staff. The receptionist suggested a place for us to have dinner and it turned out to be a fantastic place. There won't be many restaurants open for dinner so its best to ask the front desk before stepping out.
Hotel is few minutes away from an area called the Arcade which is a covered walked way connecting many small shops and restaurants. The walkway can lead up to attractions like the carp stream area. Shimabara castle and the Samurai houses are 10-15 minutes walk away in the other direction.
What wasn't so great is that this hotel has unusual check in and check out times. Check in is at 4pm and checkout is at 10am (I do wonder what they do for six hours!). Also please be aware that hotel is not on top or right next to the station. It is about 8 mins walk away.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank anushka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

Around 10mins from Shimabara station and 1 min from Ote bus stop. It's typical business hotel, but reasonable price.

Defensively should pick the room for Shimabara castle view, which is very nice. The convenience(24x7) store is next. I booked a room without breakfast, it was difficult to find restaurants opening for breakfast as most of them open around 11:00

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Banquiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews