We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth revisit”
Review of Hotel Alaknanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alaknanda
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Haridwar
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is on the opposite side of the river- quite near from the city centre- yet in a very peaceful locality. On one side you can see the Shibalik hills and the Ganga on the other side.The rooms are large and so is the toilet. The cleanliness could have been better. The hotel has is own banks and "Ghat" , It is very pleasant to sit on the lawn in the evening. The approach road needs resurfacing.

Room Tip: A non A/C room on the first floor extreme end would provide view of Ganga from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandip461d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I went with my wife and 2 kids( under 4 yrs) and stayed there for 3 nights. Being a govt property, I was apprehensive about the service quality. I must say that it was a pleasant experience staying there. The hotel's biggest advantage is the location. It is located on ganga bank, just 1.5km away from the main city. The AC rooms are spacious and comfortable. I could easily fit an additional bed. Lastly, the staff is very niceand willing to go out of way to help.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvneetPuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had been to this hotel twice with family . And stay was amazing in terms of the location. Few Points i would like to share .....
1) The service is above average , the staff is very helpful.
2) The food is really good. You can order anything blindly coz anything And everything they make is delicious. And also its very safe to have there because you might not find very good places to eat out in Haridwar.
3) The maintenance of the hotel should be improved , it'll surely raise the standard of the hotel.
Toilet was fairly cleaned i did not find any lizard though but i found one creepy crawling worm in the room .
4) The best part is the location. If you come here and stay then the next time you would not like any other location of any hotel in Haridwar .
The early morning view is Extraordinary , the sun rays fallinf on the opposite side , the Mansa Devi temple view and so many other things is just amazing.

Each time i go there i'll make my stay there only.

Room Tip: AC rooms are good so make sure you get that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardcapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had been to this hotel along with family and had a good time out there. The location was unbelievably awesome with River Ganga for your company at any time of the day. Had a great bath in the holiest river Ganges. The rooms were decent but infested with quite a few lizards. Be careful with the bathroom as the floor might get slippery. Food was alright with yummy paneer dishes. I would recommend this hotel for anybody visiting this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a second floor room wherein you get a fantastic view of Haridwar @ Sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aadi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel has an amazing location, just by the side of Ganga canal coming from sacred Harkipari. Good place to have a bath with family and friends, away from the crowd in Harkipari. Great for a great morning walk in the pathway alongside the canal. But the worst part is that this hotel is shabbily maintained. Air conditioners are old. Frequently fail. Carpets are old. Beds are so so. This hotel is maintained by UP Government, although Haridwar is located in Uttarakhand. UP Government does not want to leave this valuable property. They do not care about maintenance. If you want to stay for a day this place is OK. I would not recommend this place for a longer stay. Food is fairly good. The restaurant is well laid out.

Room Tip: This place has a nice cark park. The location is fantastic, but the overall services are disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramu121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As far as location is concerned this is the best hotel in whole town. Distance from Har ki pod is just perfect so that u can reach there with ease and you also dont get disturbed by the crowd; approximately 1 km walk by the ghats.
All the room have river view. We booked best and most expensive room of the hotel and we were not satisfied. Very Average. Quality part was missing. Hotels lobby's , corridors, lifts, walls and staircases were not maintained. All in all good hotel feel was missing. Bathrooms were clean but again not so well maintained and planned as per hotel standards.
Food- Absolutely no issues here. Food was just perfect for me at least. Loved there paneer pakoras. :P. By the way i am not fussy when it comes to food..
Service was fine. Staffs and waiters were cooperating but did not meet standards of servicing.

To summarize, i was not satisfied after paying 3k ( double room) for 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asjobner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed there in May-2012. i stayed in Air cooled room. The rooms are basic and no television connection in air cooled room which is little problem if some kids are traveling with you. Food is vegetarian and good. It is good to have chilly potato which is good. Food is slightly overpriced. Har ki pauri is little away from hotel. For young it is 15 min walk. But for aged you have to hire a rickshaw or auto. Those who wants to stay near Har ke pauri - it is not advisable to stay in this.
But those who wants a calm weekend they must go here. Breakfast is complementary. Nearby market is 5 min walk.

Room Tip: Stay in a/c room if budget permits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#22 of 93 in Haridwar
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel King
Hotel King
#60 of 93 in Haridwar
44 reviews
3.6 mi away
The URMI
The URMI
#3 of 93 in Haridwar
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
0.7 mi away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#1 of 93 in Haridwar
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Hotel
La Casa Hotel
#9 of 93 in Haridwar
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaknanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaknanda

Address: Delhi Bypass Road, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar District > Haridwar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range: $11 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alaknanda 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alaknanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing