We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPIRITUAL IN A HAPHAZARD CITY”
Review of Haveli Hari Ganga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haveli Hari Ganga
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Haridwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our stay in the month of January' 2012 was more than expected. The location and atmosphere in the hotel is not like a hotel at all and thanks to the management for this unique style. The name HAVELI has a true meaning in this place of peace. The whole property runs like a very big family house with puja in the early morning in the unique GHAT of the hotel by the side of GANGA. Hotel allows to do your own puja together with other in-mets of the hotel and specific puja requirements also can be made and hotel is more than willing to oblige. Only drawback foods in the hotel is very costly considering the place and availability just outside the hotel and within a small walk. Bea ready for lots af walk anyway as cars cannot reach the hotel gate only rickshaw will be reaching however hotel has three of their own.

Outside the hotel is a different story hotel pujari will escort you to the evening puja in ganga ghat but you will be at the mercy of numerous people who will not keep any stone unturned to exploit your money in the name of god. Be careful.

Over all pleasant stay in the hotel with good and peaceful atmosphere and reasonable in charge provided food is a part of your package. Management should review the food price in the restaurant immediately to keep this place attractive and popular.

Room Tip: Choose ganga facing rooms if you are particular but these rooms will be costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabir_Visakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 775 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel was just ideal. Tucked away on the edge of the Ganges right in the heart of Haridwar. A rickshaw takes you to the hotel which is a very special way of introducing one to the hotel.. The accommodation, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff could not be faulted. The food was outstanding and enjoyed at every meal. The singing during and after the dinner time meal was a special additive and very soothing. Overall an outstanding experience.We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a great experience

Room Tip: River view room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loolew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Safe to say that a stay here is an experience in itself. Lovely people, nice large rooms, great service and absolutely fantastic food.
A rickshaw ride from the parking to the hotel.
Sitting around in the morning sun next to the splash of the fast flowing Ganga, with a cup of tea.
Walk out of the hotel into the narrow lanes for a samosa or a mithai or a pan.
Asking for something that's not on buffet, and getting it.

Wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in the first week of dec-11. I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. However, I was not sure about this place being my first trip to Haridwar and all. The entrance to this hotel is through very narrow streets and the cars will not be allowed during day time. So we had to park about a KM away and walk/take the pedal taxi. This experience scared me about the hotel. However, the moment we saw the place and stepped in it was an oasis, gem, beauty hidden between all the choas that is Haridwar. A great hotel. Actually its an old Haveli that has the rooms converted into guest rooms. My room had a marble bed with a mattress. The toilets are very clean and extremely well maintained. I really really enjoyed this hotel and I wish I can go back. I really do. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Coming to food. We had breakfast on all days and lunch once. B/f is a buffet and lunch is a set meal and is a purely veg fare. Food is great. I completely dislike veg food while traveling. However, this place knows how to make veg food great. Ask for the fresh gulab jammons. The waiters do a very good job and you will hardly notice them going about their work.

Apart from this, the hotel has a private ghat where my colleagues and I used to "hang out" and just watch ganga maa flow. What a serene and peaceful sight.

As mentioned earlier the hotel is located in ram ghat with narrow streets studded with shops on either side. They sell anything and everything. Personally I bought a blanket and some clothes and other misc "stuff". My colleagues also bought random items from these shops. Its very close to the main ganga temple as well.

Overall a great place and a real gem. In retrospect a great decision to stay here. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place in and around Haridwar.

Room Tip: Ask for the ganga facing rooms. They are a costlier but definitely worth it. They are booked in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashwin Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on 18th December. The hotel is a refurbished palace on the banks of Ganges. The hotel is just excellent for pilgrimage and leisure travel. Its USP is its location , private ghat and evening Bhajans. My wife loved it. The Bhajan singer is really a talented singer and able to instill spiritual emotion. The food is also good. The hotel also arranges for escorted tour to evening Arti. The room was excellent. Could do with more plug points. The Best in Haridwar.

Room Tip: Take a room in the Ist Floor-river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Haveli Hari Ganga at Ram Ghat, is a property that is pregnant with opportunities to make a spiritual sojourn in Haridwar a remarkable experience, however, that was not meant to be.
The USP of the hotel is the "private ghat", and perhaps the reason why I selected to stay here and not at its more modern cousin Ganga Lahari on Gau Ghat. But time and again, I had to remind the staff to clean up the ghat so that one could take a bath in the holy Ganga or just sit by its speeding waters. The staff took cognizance of my requests to attend to the maintenance of the ghat, which was appreciated by me. The meditation and yoga room was being treated like a store room and i had to ask the staff to clear it up so that the same could be used for its intended purpose. The major let down was the room service. Housekeeping ran out of laundry bags. Ugh! Though the rooms were kept clean but ordering anything from the havelis kitchen and having it delivered to one’s room was an uphill task. A fixed menu and the kitchens inability to cater to our needs on the pretext of being busy was unacceptable. I had to actually visit Ganga Lahari’s restaurant for most of my meals. Had I been in any other city, I would have checked out from the Haveli, but I guess the Ganges helped me soothe my nerves and I stayed on. All said and done, I would like to add that the kirtan in the evening was very nice, bonfire at the havelis sit out was good as well, and the spa provided reasonably good treatments. I was in a Superior Ganga facing room, which was spacious and presentable, though the walls were stained and had the reminisces of dampness.
I may just go back to the Haveli next year because of the private ghat………I just hope that the staff appreciates my giving them a second chance and get their act together.
Har Har Gange

Room Tip: ROOM 304 and 303 are truly Ganga facing as they have a private patio overlooking the Ganga
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dswduss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This place was recommended by a friend and boy did we thank him! While the approach to the hotel is difficult as it is situated in the bazaars and cars do not ply right up to the hotel, they make it up with a breathtaking location right on the ganges.
A very cosy heritage hotel with great service & great food. The rooms are spacious/ clean and comfortable though a little on the dingy side.. They also have their own private bath in the ganges.. While we were not in the "ganga facing" rooms, each floor had a gallery on the ganga, with some breathtaking views.. A special word of thanks to Mr. Kuldeep Saini who assisted not only during bookings but also took us through the royal family lineage that run the hotel and about places in & around haridwar. Must visit!

Room Tip: You can ask for the ganga facing rooms but the other rooms are equally good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansu_gotawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haridwar
0.2 mi away
Ganga Lahari
Ganga Lahari
#2 of 89 in Haridwar
377 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#24 of 89 in Haridwar
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
2.9 mi away
The URMI
The URMI
#3 of 89 in Haridwar
359 reviews
15.8 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haveli Hari Ganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haveli Hari Ganga

Address: 21 Pilibhit House Ramghat, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar District > Haridwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Haridwar
#1 Spa Hotel in Haridwar
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haveli Hari Ganga 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant and forever echoing the chant of a thousand prayers, Haridwar is an arresting blend of Indian culture and spiritual beliefs. The Haveli Hari Ganga is a resort situated on the banks of the Holy Ganga, a mere 500 meters walk through the bazaar at the sacred Har ki Pauri. Designated recently as a heritage property by the Government of India, the interiors of the Haveli are reminiscent of ancient Indian architecture where there are balanced tones of tranquility & comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Haveli Hari Ganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haveli Hari Ganga Haridwar
Haveli Hari Ganga Hotel Haridwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing