We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Ganga Lahari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ganga Lahari
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Haridwar
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi, Kerala, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I picked this hotel after reading reviews on the net. I am glad I did ! The location is superb - right on Har Ki Pauri and very close to Brahmakund. Every evening we witnessed the Aarti . The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. You can see the mighty Ganga flowing past as you sit in the verandah of your room. The river itself is just a few metres away when you step outside the hotel. Bara Bazaar with its maze of shops and little eateries is just a stones throw away. The staff are courteous to a fault, and very very helpful. Special mention about Mr. Himanshu Tyagi the manager. Had a great stay, overall. Cannot wait to revisit.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. The view is better. Please disregard the rating for the swimming pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivaram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Uttarakhand. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us.

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in the last 24 years and we are proud that today Leisure Hotels is the largest hotel chain in Uttarakhand with properties in 15 locations.

If given the chance, we will like to host you again at any of our properties.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    114
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
223
58
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there last week after seeing + reviews on TA, and were verifiably disappointed.

The rooms have no outdoor windows and feel permanently stuffy and dark.

Most of the hotel staff do not speak much English so it is hard to communicate.

One morning we had a taxi booked at 8am and was told breakfast started at 7am. We arrived at the restaurant at 720am and there was no one there and we were not able to eat breakfast prior to our ride.

They do offer a free guide to take you to Aarti nightly. (Ganges River ceremony)

TIP: the hotel area can only be accessed via cyclo rickshaw or motorbike.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

We have noted your comments on our services. Whilst apologizing most sincerely for the inconvenience caused, we would also like to thank you for sharing your views .

We sincerely do hope that we will be able to correct your perception about our services and product and shall deliver to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I read the reviews here and selected the hotel for our stay; came out pretty satisfied at the end.....Great location, on the ghat, Value for money......excellent staff response......Recommended for comfortable stay.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunal986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Uttarakhand. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us.

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in the last 24 years and we are proud that today Leisure Hotels is the largest hotel chain in Uttarakhand with properties in 15 locations.

If given the chance, we will like to host you again at any of our properties.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ganga Lahari was a pleasant surprise. I read the reviews here and selected the hotel for our stay; came out pretty satisfied at the end. We wanted to stay in Haridwar town to take in the energy of the place and this hotel offered just that.

As you approach the hotel you might begin to feel that you made a wrong choice...just hang in there, keep going! There is no fancy lobby to welcome you, but go further. Once you take the stairs/lift to the first floor you will start feeling better. The rooms are big and well maintained; clean sheets and toilet (I am very particular about clean toilets and was satisfied). The courteous, helpful, warm staff will make up for any other short comings. They pretty much catered to all our requests and made us feel at home. Thanks for Himanshu and his staff!

The best part about the hotel is the location...its bang on the river Ganga...what a view! The corridors overlook the river, perfect place for a morning/evening Tea, after aarti of-course!

Note: There is no parking in the hotel premises. They arrange rickshaws to the parking areas which is about 300 mts after you cross the river. Didn't find it to be a big issue!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Uttarakhand. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us.

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in the last 24 years and we are proud that today Leisure Hotels is the largest hotel chain in Uttarakhand with properties in 15 locations.

If given the chance, we will like to host you again at any of our properties.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location, just across the bridge, on the ghat, though hotel parking parking option is not possible, but across the road there is double story parking.. Hotel rickshaw provides pick n drop.
Market starts just in the side lane, so no rush in front of the hotel.

Hotel provided escort for evening arti, own my own i may not have reached the great spot for Arthi in such a crowd of devotees,

I would like to stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor gives better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Uttarakhand. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us.

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in the last 24 years and we are proud that today Leisure Hotels is the largest hotel chain in Uttarakhand with properties in 15 locations.

If given the chance, we will like to host you again at any of our properties.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajpura, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I visited Haridwar during 09-08-2013 to 11-08-2013 and stayed at Hotel Ganga Lahari. The hotel is well situated on the Ganga Ghat and rooms are excellent. The behavior of the staff at reception are par excellent especially Mr Sandeep, Mr Ashish and Mr Satish.The rooom was very clean. Stay at the Hotel is memorable. The complimentary breakfast offered on two days Puri-aaloo and kachauri-aaloo and sambhar -bada etc. As we'r punjabis, we need something like paronthas and separate dish instead of daily aalo(patato) sabji. Overall the breakfast is not up to the mark. Guests must be asked their preference of breakfast.
Wall Clock is missing in every room, which should be provided in the rooms. News Paper were also not provided in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Uttarakhand. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us. We value your feedback , we will forward your specific feedback to our Management for their perusal.


The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in the last 24 years and we are proud that today Leisure Hotels is the largest hotel chain in Uttarakhand with properties in 15 locations.

If given the chance, we will like to host you again at any of our properties.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am obliged and glad for such a welcome from this awesome hotel.You wont find a staff like that anywhere in the world. So cool welcoming in nature , they will listen to you and do anything and get you anything and in turn they dont need anything from you , Their SMILING faces will move you. That's the service they are providing . They are not here to do business with the Guest , they are here to win your hearts so that you will come again and again to explore this city.
They have the Best Modern amenities available in there hotel WiFi each and everything that a modern traveler would need and The Buffet Breakfast is so YUMMY! There food is almost ..i almost licked my fingers away. I would say they are living to the lines from the INDIAN culture were we say Atithi Devo Bhava which means... Guest is GOD .. I checked into this hotel on 10th August 2013 and when i reached back delhi i still remember them, The made our experience truly wonderful. My Name is Atin Dey , i checked in from Delhi and i really wanted to thank you the owner of this Heritage Hotel. Thank you so much Sir . It's a pleasure to find such magical staff and the Environment and ambiance that you have crafted inside this place. Thanks again. When i walked out and reached home i saw the smiling faces of my parents with whom i checked into this hotel and Thats what was most precious to me . You made there day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtinDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vibhas184, Guest Relations Manager at Ganga Lahari, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leisure Hotels Ltd!

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Uttarakhand. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us.

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in the last 24 years and we are proud that today Leisure Hotels is the largest hotel chain in Uttarakhand with properties in 15 locations.

If given the chance, we will like to host you again at any of our properties.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Guest Relation Officer, Leisure Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
0.2 mi away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#1 of 89 in Haridwar
764 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
11.5 mi away
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hari Heritage
Hotel Hari Heritage
#14 of 89 in Haridwar
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#28 of 89 in Haridwar
180 reviews
2.7 mi away
The URMI
The URMI
#3 of 89 in Haridwar
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Lahari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Lahari

Property: Ganga Lahari
Address: Hanuman Ghat Rd | Ram Ghat, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar District > Haridwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganga Lahari 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganga Lahari in Haridwar is a beautiful heritage ‘Haveli’ located on the banks of the Ganga at Har Ki Paudi. The Haveli is an architectural marvel that has been restored to recreate old world charm with modern day hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ganga Lahari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing