We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best decision ever!”
Review of Ganga Lahari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ganga Lahari
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Haridwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were booked at the Hotel Haveli Hari Ganga and when we arrived there dripping wet from the rain and mud throughout the market we were told that they did not have the riverfront rooms for us. We were very annoyed until the owner offered to show us rooms he had in another hotel he owned - the Ganga Lahari. After seeing the excellent location and the lovely rooms and the wide, airy verandas with large glass walls opposite each room we decided to move into the Ganga Lahari and we were extremely happy with our decision. The staff was amenable and prompt. The buffet dinner and breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The hotel is right on the riverbank and the life on the river took place right under our noses as we sat at the comfortable chairs and tables and looked out the glass wall opposite our hotel rooms. We strolled over the bridge to participate in the Aarti and walked through the market, all 5 minutes from our hotel....the Ganga Lahari may not be a heritage building but it is the best hotel in Haridwar in our opinion.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river and all have sitting area along the glass enclosed corridor outside the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiraNatanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 413 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Ganga Lahari for one night end of January as part of our pilgramage to Haridwar. We booked three rooms (2 superior, one suite).

I can only echo most other reviews when I say amongst all the hustle and bustle of Haridwar, this is a piece of tranquility on the banks of Ganga (Ganges). If travelling by car, parking is on the other side of river so the hotel provide pretty cool cycle rickshaws to transport the last 200 yards (including luggage). Reception is on the first floor, as were our rooms. The corridor is glass fronted so has view alongside the river. Major difference between superior and suite was the sitting room with a sofa, dining table and TV (TV also in bedroom).

Rooms have AC which double as heating in colder weather (this worked very nicely and kept rooms cosy). My only gripe was not against the hotel per say, but amongst guests staying in next room who decided to have a family conference in the corridor at 3 am. Since the rooms have shutter-type windows also facing the corridors, above average noise levels can be heard easily so light sleepers beware.

Otherwise all the usual high standard of facilities, modern bathroom (walk in shower, no bath)and countertop sinks, flat screen TV and very comfortable mattress beds.

We had the evening buffett in hotel restaurant which was pure vegeterian - very tasty and they even made a couple of off menu Indian breads (pranthis) when we asked.

Lastly a thumbs up to Himanshu who handled our reservations and couple of special requests very nicely. No hesitation in recommending and so truly look forward to going back to Haridwar/Ganga Lahari soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineaxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We're staying at the GANGA LAHARI now, from Feb 4 to 10th, enjoying every moment. Located at the edge of the Ganga with wonderful views of Ganga and mountains from our second floor bedroom; great service from an ultra friendly and helpful staff; delicious meals with free breakfast; and ideal location for daytrips to Risikesh and adjacent areas. Haridwar main shopping area is less than 200 metres away with various forms of transport available.
Hotel arranged transport from the train station and helped us with trips to various activities and places. Accept hotel's offer to accompany you to arti and other activities, at least for the first time.
Highest rating for the Ganga Lahari hotel, the best place to stay in Haridwar.

Room Tip: We were booked in a first floor room but based on Tripadvisor reviews we requested a second floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttpatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've just enjoyed two wonderful nights at Ganga Lahiri. After a less than enjoyable stay in Chandigarh, we were a bit nervous about what to expect in Haridwar. To our great relief the hotel did not disappoint. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were comfortable with beautiful, clean, white sheets( sometimes hard to find in some hotels in India). Location and outlook both excellent. Looking directly out on to the Ganges and on the doorstep of all of the activities you visit Haridwar for. We ate in the hotel both nights as the vegetarian buffet was delicious and healthy. All the staff were great with particular mention to Ankit on reception (nothing was too much trouble) and Amit (who looked after us in the restaurant). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azzie867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is a gem in Haridwar, waking up in the morning we felt like we were in a boat, being so close to the raging Ganges. Great clean room, friendly staff and wonderful food in the restaurant. Ankit greeted us at reception and looked after all our needs while we were in Hardiwar. I'd definitely recommend for the proper Haridwar experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnorBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed a couple of times here on my way up and coming back from the Himalayas and greatly enjoyed the days spent at Ganga Lahari. As Swiss citizen, we especially have a sense for cleanliness, quality and service, and Ganga Lahari fully meets the standards. The staff is very welcoming, friendly, well-educated, speaks good English, and provides everything to make your stay most pleasant.

The rooms are well designed, modern, and very comfortable, feeling like home, great linens, fantastic shower, the electric water kettle and coffe is ready (a survival item for me), plenty of space in the room to do my yoga practice in the morning. I enjoyed the luxury especially when I returned from my visit in Uttarkashi where warmth/heater is nearly non-existing indoors. I was looking forward to a RETREAT where all the comfort is available again, and Ganga Lahari has fully met my expectations.

Fun to be picked up by the bicycle rikshaw, you feel welcomed at anytime.
Assistant Front Desk Manager Ankit Singh gets a five star rating in accomodating my special requests, he's professional, very kind and finds a good solution for everything.

The breakfast buffet is excellent. Thanks also to Vipin Bhatt, F&B senior captain, for his professional assistance and service.

If you're in Haridwar and wish to have the comfort you are used in the "western world" or coming from cosmopolitan cities, Ganga Lahari is where you would want to stay at a relatively reasonable price.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, first or second floor, it does not matter, the view to Mata Ganga is spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Chose this hotel due to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and got a rate of slightly less than US$80 for a triple room from Expedia. Upon arrival at the carpark, the hotel sent over two rickshaws to help transport us to the hotel. The hotel has an excellent location, right at the bridge and overlooking a long stretch of the Ganges. Upon arrival at the hotel we were given beads and offered complimentary masala chai. The front desk staff were all excellent, and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the hotel. The rooms have very capable heating (through the A/C) and plentiful hot water - it was a bit cold when we stayed. It was obviously a slow period for the hotel as it felt like there was only 1 other couple staying at the hotel, consequently there was also no buffet at breakfast, but rather we were offered a wide variety of dishes cooked to order.

During our stay in Haridwar, we did visit their sister hotel, Hari Ganga Haveli which was a nice hotel (very homely) but we felt the location and service were not as good as Ganga Lahari.

As mentioned in my title, I was genuinely positively surprised by this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
0.2 mi away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#2 of 98 in Haridwar
810 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
1 mi away
Devnadi - The Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The URMI
The URMI
#4 of 98 in Haridwar
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hari Heritage
Hotel Hari Heritage
#15 of 98 in Haridwar
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa Hotel
La Casa Hotel
#9 of 98 in Haridwar
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Lahari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Lahari

Address: Hanuman Ghat Rd | Ram Ghat, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar District > Haridwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range: $71 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganga Lahari 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganga Lahari in Haridwar is a beautiful heritage ‘Haveli’ located on the banks of the Ganga at Har Ki Paudi. The Haveli is an architectural marvel that has been restored to recreate old world charm with modern day hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ganga Lahari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing