We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, great service; best in Haridwar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganga Lahari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ganga Lahari
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Haridwar
Certificate of Excellence
POS TRINIDAD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great service; best in Haridwar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We're staying at the GANGA LAHARI now, from Feb 4 to 10th, enjoying every moment. Located at the edge of the Ganga with wonderful views of Ganga and mountains from our second floor bedroom; great service from an ultra friendly and helpful staff; delicious meals with free breakfast; and ideal location for daytrips to Risikesh and adjacent areas. Haridwar main shopping area is less than 200 metres away with various forms of transport available.
Hotel arranged transport from the train station and helped us with trips to various activities and places. Accept hotel's offer to accompany you to arti and other activities, at least for the first time.
Highest rating for the Ganga Lahari hotel, the best place to stay in Haridwar.

Room Tip: We were booked in a first floor room but based on Tripadvisor reviews we requested a second floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttpatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    105
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
199
56
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've just enjoyed two wonderful nights at Ganga Lahiri. After a less than enjoyable stay in Chandigarh, we were a bit nervous about what to expect in Haridwar. To our great relief the hotel did not disappoint. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were comfortable with beautiful, clean, white sheets( sometimes hard to find in some hotels in India). Location and outlook both excellent. Looking directly out on to the Ganges and on the doorstep of all of the activities you visit Haridwar for. We ate in the hotel both nights as the vegetarian buffet was delicious and healthy. All the staff were great with particular mention to Ankit on reception (nothing was too much trouble) and Amit (who looked after us in the restaurant). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azzie867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is a gem in Haridwar, waking up in the morning we felt like we were in a boat, being so close to the raging Ganges. Great clean room, friendly staff and wonderful food in the restaurant. Ankit greeted us at reception and looked after all our needs while we were in Hardiwar. I'd definitely recommend for the proper Haridwar experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnorBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed a couple of times here on my way up and coming back from the Himalayas and greatly enjoyed the days spent at Ganga Lahari. As Swiss citizen, we especially have a sense for cleanliness, quality and service, and Ganga Lahari fully meets the standards. The staff is very welcoming, friendly, well-educated, speaks good English, and provides everything to make your stay most pleasant.

The rooms are well designed, modern, and very comfortable, feeling like home, great linens, fantastic shower, the electric water kettle and coffe is ready (a survival item for me), plenty of space in the room to do my yoga practice in the morning. I enjoyed the luxury especially when I returned from my visit in Uttarkashi where warmth/heater is nearly non-existing indoors. I was looking forward to a RETREAT where all the comfort is available again, and Ganga Lahari has fully met my expectations.

Fun to be picked up by the bicycle rikshaw, you feel welcomed at anytime.
Assistant Front Desk Manager Ankit Singh gets a five star rating in accomodating my special requests, he's professional, very kind and finds a good solution for everything.

The breakfast buffet is excellent. Thanks also to Vipin Bhatt, F&B senior captain, for his professional assistance and service.

If you're in Haridwar and wish to have the comfort you are used in the "western world" or coming from cosmopolitan cities, Ganga Lahari is where you would want to stay at a relatively reasonable price.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, first or second floor, it does not matter, the view to Mata Ganga is spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG,SIN,CAN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Chose this hotel due to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and got a rate of slightly less than US$80 for a triple room from Expedia. Upon arrival at the carpark, the hotel sent over two rickshaws to help transport us to the hotel. The hotel has an excellent location, right at the bridge and overlooking a long stretch of the Ganges. Upon arrival at the hotel we were given beads and offered complimentary masala chai. The front desk staff were all excellent, and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the hotel. The rooms have very capable heating (through the A/C) and plentiful hot water - it was a bit cold when we stayed. It was obviously a slow period for the hotel as it felt like there was only 1 other couple staying at the hotel, consequently there was also no buffet at breakfast, but rather we were offered a wide variety of dishes cooked to order.

During our stay in Haridwar, we did visit their sister hotel, Hari Ganga Haveli which was a nice hotel (very homely) but we felt the location and service were not as good as Ganga Lahari.

As mentioned in my title, I was genuinely positively surprised by this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I went to Haridwar early January. We arrived there at midnight. Staff at the hotel knew about our booking. We could not contact them as the booking agents gave us the number of their Delhi office. Upon arrival, my husband and our driver went to the hotel. Staff named Deepak came to help us to carry our language. Yes, it is far away from the parking lot but the hotel has a 5 star location. The advantage of staying at this hotel is that one gets to see the clear view of the activities at the banks of the River Ganga. All kitchen staff were friendly and upon our request they got okra and bitter gourd and cooked them for dinner for my family. We felt very special and as if we were at home. Bipin was another very helpful staff and he explained a lot about the place. This hotel was very clean and comfortable. There was a little issue with hot water which was rectified immediately. Well done staff of Ganga Lahari. I have no hesitation of recommending this hotel to people for their stay. My experience at this hotel is: 3 star hotel with 5 star service and view.
Enjoyed my stay.

NZ tourist.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff could not get the aircon to work.
The staff were friendly
The food was good.
Access is not so good
If you are using this hotel ensure that you do not have lots of luggage- access is not so good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
1.4 mi away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#1 of 87 in Haridwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpana Hotel
Alpana Hotel
#25 of 87 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haridwar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The URMI
The URMI
#3 of 87 in Haridwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#37 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Lahari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Lahari

Property: Ganga Lahari
Address: Hanuman Ghat Rd | Ram Ghat, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganga Lahari 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganga Lahari in Haridwar is a beautiful heritage ‘Haveli’ located on the banks of the Ganga at Har Ki Paudi. The Haveli is an architectural marvel that has been restored to recreate old world charm with modern day hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ganga Lahari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing