We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Satisfactory”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ganga Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ganga Vilas
Ranked #58 of 135 Haridwar B&B and Inns
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Satisfactory”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very poor service. One of the door of the bathroom was not closing.
The water was not even warm in December when it's really needed.

We were told the heater is included when asked before booking. However, when we were checking out they charged us extra for 2 days of heater.

Plus the food prepared at the place is not good. 50% of the items on the menu were not available.

Would never stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conscioussoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Ganga Vilas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review , even though after almost one year . Whereas we are sorry that the bathroom door gave you a bit of problem , all our washrooms have individual geysers . Due to heavy winder conditions during the month of December, it takes a longer duration for the water to get heated . That may be the reason that you did not get hot water . Sir, you had probably booked a non AC room , that does not costs heavens and also does not includes heaters in the room. We may have told you to provide heaters if required , but they are charged extra . Generally we provide heaters for AC room bookings only . Regarding 50% of the menu items not available , we would like to let you know that during winter season in our city we have a very thin occupancy . We are running a small and budget property. Hence we operate our kitchen likewise during this season . Its better to provide fresh prepared food even though with less choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The biggest drawback was there was no restaurant in the hotel....Also the room was very small felt like being in cage but averagely cleaned...Location of hotel is good....Rest didn't used much of the staff services so won't comment about that...Overall not good not bad....!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Manik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Ganga Vilas, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review . Your reviews are very important to us . We do not have a resturant at our property as ours is a small property and also we do not have much space in the middle of the city to provide a facility of that kind .However we have an in house service kitchen and serve orders in the rooms.Our rooms are average sized , its 10'x12' . We are running a budget property in the heart of the city , where space is a big problem . But it has a location advantage as all that you need is nearby . And at the price that we provide our services , its a value for money deal .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Average hotel for a night stay.

Location of hotel is at the center of Haridwar, few 1-2 KM from the main market.

There are many regular food options near by the hotel.

Room service is not very professional, behaviour of housing staff is normal. The only problem I faced is uncomfortable spring mattress.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Ganga Vilas, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for the review for Hotel Ganga Vilas. Normally spring mattress is a standard used by much of the hospitality industry all over the world & is considered to be quiet comfortable. However some individuals do not prefer them as they are not used to them . We are sorry for the same and in future we shall consider other better options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is neat and clean, the staff is very co-operative and the food they serve is fresh and testy. the best part is it is located centrally very very near to market and hardly 1 Km away from Har ki Pauri.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThoughtPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Ganga Vilas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback . This is so important to us as it encourages us to do more and keep up to our reputation . We have always worked with passion to provide the guest with a comfortable and memorable stay with us . Being centrally located , it is easy to reach and move around the city without looking for any conveyance .All that is in the city is almost reachable at a walking distance .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I booked Ganga Vilas through Travelguru.we Had to change the room twice in a single day.They don't supply filtered drinking water.Even they don't have geyser in each room. Rooms are not specious enough.But staffs are cooperative.Foods were good.And the location of the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pr0senjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gujrat
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stay here with family this is good hotel with good service location and facility for advance booking online
With this budget and nearest attraction this is nice experience

suggest for all couples family friends etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I visited Haridwar with my family and stayed in this hotel for 3 days. We booked two rooms. It is perfect choice for short travel. Location is perfect. Not on main market road, but just 3 blocks away inside the lane. This keeps hotel away from noisy street and peaceful. The location advantages are many - you get as many cycle and auto rickshaws, 3 blocks walk and you are on the main market road to shop handicrafts, traditional ethnic apparels, medicines, almost anything. Many restaurants around. The Haridwar Railway station is just 5-7 min walking distance, though better to hire a rickshaw to wade through human traffic. Its near to Ganga Ghats too.. For all young, you can explore and reach almost anywhere on foot. The food service is also quick and tastes good. The Hotel Management is also very warm and helpful. Though they do not run any transportation service, they are very genuine and helpful in guiding you hiring a car - which I latter discovered that hire rate I obtained through them was little lower than the market rate. Hotel is not very expensive. Best part is bathrooms were clean and thats what matters most. Travel Tip: Hotel is excellent in the budget price category, though you may want to first check whether the intercom number is functional and if not get it replaced or check another room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ajay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#38 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpana Hotel
Alpana Hotel
#23 of 87 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chitra Grand
Hotel Chitra Grand
#13 of 87 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel King
Hotel King
#44 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ganga View
Hotel Ganga View
#16 of 135 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#26 of 135 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganga Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganga Vilas

Property: Hotel Ganga Vilas
Address: Jwalapur Haridwar Road | opp. Gurudwara, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ganga Vilas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir, May we introduce ourself as hotelier based at Haridwar, the religious capital of India. We have a small but centrally located property in the heart of the city. With fifteen well appointed all AC rooms , newly constructed, with all mordern facilities, LCD (22") TV , spring mattress, western toilets, shower mixtures, intercom connected, in house kitchen for room service from breakfast to dinner, local taxi service for sight seeing & pickup & all regular services , our property is a sure sellout.Even as we started our operations as early as mid MARCH,10 , we already have 50% occupancy by repeated guests or through refrence. Our guiding principle is to work for custmors Delight, not just satisfaction.As owners , we are personally involved to look at day to day affairs from services to housekeeping. May we have the pleasure to invite you to use our services and make us useful.We have been earning smiles for a while . With Best Wishes-- Sanjeev Panjwani (prop.) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing