We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Banks of the Ganges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bhaj Govindam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bhaj Govindam
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Haridwar
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“On the Banks of the Ganges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The only advantage of this hotel is its location. Its right of the banks of Ganga. The river flows by its backyard lawns. They have their private ghat which is good. However, the room are not that good. We were offered the older rooms on the ground floor which were not that great. The hotel at that time was run by a very few staffs, so the service was slow. Harki Powri is at about 15 min walking distance. Its good if you are looking at spending the nights only here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anirbanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    20
    7
    12
See reviews for
54
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

The rooms are filled with all sorts of insects, you can actually discover newer varities of same. Even 'Dharamshallas' of Haridwar would be much better than this place. Shabbily dressed staff with dirty linen, no room service, room toilets being used by all & sundry. The only good thing about the hotel is that its on the bank of Ganga river.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Saps2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haridwar hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We reserved a room by phone and requested a Ganga view. We were told that all rooms are facing the Ganga. We arrived at 4.00am by night train from Kathgodam. Staff were asleep but woke up quite quickly and showed us to our room (no Ganga view). The room was damp, windowless, very smelly, not clean and mosquito infested. We asked for a different room and to their credit the young boys working that night tried to accommodate us by showing us 4 other rooms. These were all in a better condition and neither one was damp and smelly however neither had been cleaned since the last people checked out and the state of the bathrooms was appalling.

We decided to sleep in the 1st room as it was the least dirty and were told we could swap in the morning.

The next morning the manager approached us and offered us a decent and clean room with a view and on the upper floor. He was very polite and apologetic.

Subsequently, our stay was very pleasant.

NB. rates are negotiable in low season

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Bhaj Govindam- a heritage property does not really stand up to its claims of being a resort. The ambience and location is good. Not very far from the main city but far enough to be a quiet place. Yes, it is situated next to the holy river ganges but during our trip, it was not maintained very well with a lot of weeds growing on the water surface. The food is highly recommended- very simple north indian cuisine and they make it less spicy if asked. The room cleanliness was not at par the standards of a resort, we found a cockroach in our bathroom! and the walls of the room were damp. With absolutely no room for ventilation, the rooms stinked. The pick up from the railway station was not free and we were intimidated of it only at the end of the stay- which was a big amount. Autorikshaws will cost 1/3rd of the price.

All over the city, strong bargaining is highly recomended. and avoid the trap of doing a aarti at the main banks. They initially only reveal the basic charges of the flowers and lamp Rs.20, its later when the puja is performed when they almost 'force' you to pay nothing below Rs.500 atleast 2 times. I was literally cursed by the 'priest' for not having enough money to pay! Its highly commercial so beware.
On the otherhand, the aarti at Rishikesh is a lot more genuine and lasts about half an hour. In general, I personally preffered Rishikesh to Haridwar for a more genuine retreat.

Kankhal is another very tiny village 5kms from haridwar which is more genuine of the area. This is a not much visited place and so tough to find restaurants here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed here in the days before Shivratri. It is a peaceful location with beautifully kept lawns running to its own private bank of the Ganges within 5-10 mins walk of Har ki Pari. The 18th century building has been recently renovated in a very attractive colonial style with very comfortable clean room suites. The bathrooms are to a high standard. The service is excellent with vegetarian food cooked on the premises to order. Many rooms have views of the Ganges. There is a private Ganga arti twice a day and puja to order by the Panditji on site. Cars reach easily and there is car parking. We had a very relaxing time spending days watching the Ganga flow by. Rishikesh is an easy 20 min car drive away. All the sites and sounds of Haridwar are within easy reach without any of the hassles.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna_normandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Checkin: No issues, had done booking over phone / mail.
Rooms: Basic, no room heater. The family had to spend one night in extreme cold before heaters were arranged next day after continuous protests and reminders
Food: Arranged, but takes forever to get ready
Tariff: Very high for the quality of the rooms
Travel cabs: Arranged externally, but very expensive - I would recommend guests to make their own arrangements, which is not difficult

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sga65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

we stayed for 2 night its a beautiful location garden ganga good staff every thing is perfect Manager is good

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ideoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpana Hotel
Alpana Hotel
#25 of 87 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ganga Lahari
Ganga Lahari
#2 of 87 in Haridwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haveli Hari Ganga
Haveli Hari Ganga
#1 of 87 in Haridwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The URMI
The URMI
#3 of 87 in Haridwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ambrosia Sarovar Portico Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#36 of 87 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhaj Govindam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhaj Govindam

Property: Bhaj Govindam
Address: Ganga Kinare, Bhim Goda | Near Har Ki Pauri, Haridwar 249401, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Haridwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bhaj Govindam 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bhaj Govindam is a peaceful sanctuary on the banks of the holy river Ganga. Here guests can stay within walking distance of Hari Ki Pauri and also enjot out private ghat facility. We have our own Pujaris here to conduct rituals. It is a serence place with chanting and a yajnashala. We also conduct guided tours of Haridwar and surrounding places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bhaj Govindam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhaj Govindam Hotel Haridwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing