We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice retreat from busy lives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Wanning
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As long as your only plan is to get away and rest , swim , do some exercise , go to a spa this is perfect , if looking for a lot of activities outside the resort choose another location. All restaurants had hig standard of food and service and the beachside bar and grill is a great way to watch the sunset and have dinner. Mid summer is quiet time for those who might prefer to have a beach to themselves although not all hotel activities seemed available . Beautifully landscaped , well appointed comfortable large rooms with balconies , It is a good resort for kids , the ocean beach waves are relatively safe and shallow near shore. Currently a very peaceful location but large amount of surrounding competing construction suggests it will develop into a much busier and possibly noisier area in future. Possible to take landscaped path south to a great seafood restaurant on the beach.

Room Tip: choose at least sea view or pool view , mountain views currently will only give you construction sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob999_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENSMBONLINE, Marketing and Communications Executive at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear reviewer, many thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa and staying with us. We appreciate for your sincerely sugguestions and look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 328 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

I visited a few hotels in the Shimei Bay / Shenzhou Peninsula area and this seems to be the best as it has been open the longest. The differentiator is that there are waves on this beach and you can body board and even surf. Lots of watersports are arranged and the hotel tries hard to use the beach to its advantage, with a great beach bar and restaurant, days beds, movies on a big screen at night, hammocks, etc. Swimming pool a bit boring, more like a lap pool for up and down swimming, not fun for kids. But one big downer, there is an ENORMOUS construction site around the hotel and they are starting piling. So you should be able to negotiate a fantastic rate, occupancy is pitiful. There really isn't any other reason to stay in this part of the island except price and waves as it is so isolated. OK for a few days but boring for longer.

Room Tip: Bungalows with own pools look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Reviewer, many thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa and sharing your discovery experience online with our friends. As mentioned in your reviews Shimei Bay is a good destination for diving, surfing and leisure vacation, our service team are trying our best to improve guest experience from every detail.

We do look forward to be of service again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This out of the way resort hotel has none of the frantic holiday air of Sanya. It is a place to just relax, walk the beach and, in general, pamper yourself. We stayed only one night on our way to Sanya and wished we could have stayed for much longer. Dinner in their excellent restaurant and drinks in the bar were a sheer delight.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankdalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for choosing Le Méridien Shimei Bay Beach Reosrt & Spa, it's great to stay with you and receive such a positive review.
We look forward in being of service should your travels bring you back to romantic Shimei Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The grounds are very nice and the beach is lovely and private. Quite a few staff speak very good English which is nice and welcoming; many properties, including very luxurious 5-star hotels have difficulty with good English staff.

So why wait?

1) Villa development construction across the street... 8am the pile drivers are being used and the noise is DEAFENING... not the way you want to wake up with pounding noise in your head.

2) I'd call before you make the reservation... when we went there, the kids outdoor play was being painted, the tennis courts were being renovated, etc. This hotel is so far out, you come to just be at the resort and use the facilities... not so fun when you don't have the facilities to use.

3) You get tired of eating the same food if you are there a long time, not much around and the town of Wanning is 20 km away.

4) Musty smell in the rooms as others noted... why is that.

5) No service... NEVER were there towels on the towel stand at the pool or beach. I always had to walk quite a bit to find it. Why not have a service phone if you are not going to have an attendant? There is an emergency phone, why not a service phone. So if you are at the pools/beach and want a drink, food, towel, etc... prepare to walk to get it yourself.

RE: Kids

there is a kids club which is fine, but the property is not set up for younger kids

a) not many ramps... we always had to lift the stroller several steps in many, many locations, such as the pool area (many mini bridges), from our hotel building elevator to the walking path (no ramp, 5 steps), in the common areas, to the beach, etc. So not ideal for those in a wheelchair either.

b) they offer complimentary bikes for use, which would have been fun... but no bike is offered with a baby/toddler seat on it. So, we couldn't use this "free" activity.

c) high chairs are not the most secure

Overall I think its a nice property, but not for us as a family with young kids and not for very long stays (more than 3-4 days) as you grow weary of the food choices. I'm sure in a few years it will rival Yalong Bay as Hainan Island keeps growing!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maldives44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel provided me with an exceptional stay during those three nights. I stayed in an standard room late summer 2010 short after some Chinese holiday. The hotel was running on very low occupancy and therefore really peaceful. I loved staying in that place: great pool, great food and friendly staff, just perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan_311283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRC06, Asst. FOM at Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Stefan,

Thanks for your great review and hope to see you staying with us in the near future.

baris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is a hotel in which to chill out, unwind and enjoy doing absolutely nothing. The lap pool is so long, with a waterfall one side of it and a view of the ocean on the other (though this ocean view may disappear soon as a beach restaurant is being built infront of the pool). It takes approx 1.5 hours travel from Sanya airport, the roads are good, but in the future this hotel will not be so isolated. A residential complex is being built behind it and another hotel at the side of it.
The food is good, lovely buffet breakfast, and any problems with a la carte meals are quickly solved by staff. When they get the meal right it is delicious. Some really genuinely friendly people work here.
We were lucky that the resort was pretty empty during our stay, they have a lot of functions at weekends which can be noisy, loud speakers on the beach, and the hotel rooms seem badly soundproofed. The beds (brand name King Koil) are to die for, the most comfortable hotel beds we've slept in in years. The containers of shampoo, body lotion and shower gel are not user friendly (very difficult to squeeze out, at times impossible).
When we checked in we had to wait about 2 hours for a room. Other guests were getting quite irate with reception but we always pack a swimming costume in our hand luggage so we were able to while away the time in the lap pool. It was like swimming in a warm bath because the pool gets the sunshine all day long. The pool was great but could be cleaner. We took a look at the other pool but it is surrounded by rooms and villas, perfect for families to use but not for serious swimmers. The sun is stronger than you think here, we got a bit of sunstroke, so we suggest you pack a sun hat.
We booked a pool room, the quiet area is to the right of the lobby where the square pools are but they need to do some renovation in this section, if you want a fully functional pool with working jacuzzi you'll have to choose the other side where they have round pools. We took a look at the seaview rooms on both the left and right side of the lobby The view from the top floor is stunning, especially from the right wing (although you also get a partial view of a construction site on this side). The other side overlooks the family pool and villas. If you feel like splurging then maybe a duplex villa is for you, the best are 1811 and 1810 with a clear view of the ocean but music all day long because they are right next to the lap pool. The hotel has excellent taste in music but it would have been nice to sometimes just be able to swim and listen to the sound of the waves and waterfall. They need to learn to appreciate silence. The seaview villas are out of this world. These villas have their own kitchen, their own sun deck/garden a reasonable size lap pool and the view is lovely. Once you check in here you won't want to leave.
The spa is the most beautiful we've seen and the massage was good though a bit expensive.
We were in our own little bubble of luxury but the bubble burst on the last day. We went for our final swim and in the pool was a 5 or 6 year old girl with her grandma and her mother. They started playing ball and somehow the ball ended up against our chairs which were quite a distance from theirs. We were in the pool and turned our backs to them for a moment, when we turned back we were shocked to find the girl on the poolside with her hand in our bag. The mother quickly said "wrong bag" and the girl got back into the pool. Security needs to be stepped up and unfortunately you need to be vigilant regarding other guests. If it wasn't for the fact that we'd met so many nice people during our stay this incident would have given us a bad impression of Hainan, instead it gave us a reality check. We were transferred back to the airport 4 hours before our flight but we regretted leaving the hotel so early, no check-in is allowed till 90 mins before the flight, if you are not using the hotel shuttle bus leave later.
Footnote to hotel management: Having lovebirds in the lobby and birds at the entrance to Breakers restaurant is a nice touch but please consider putting the birds in bigger cages and giving them some toys/mirrors to play with and spray them with water occasionally to keep them cool, show that you are a hotel with heart because to encounter a hotel with so many enthusiastically helpful staff is heartwarming.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nervousdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I am just back from this amazing place, the hotel is very, very beautiful, nice place if you want a quiet and relaxing vacation.
My only complain is for the room, clean, but with a bad smell inside, and also the spa is too expensive!!!!!Ok is a 5 stars but still we are in China!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 24, 2010

Dear Annyue,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment about your recent stay at Le Meridien Shimei Bay!

We feel privileged that you chose our resort for your trip to Hainan. We are absolutely delighted that your stay was fulfilled. The issue in your room has already been passed to the relative department and we will take necessary actions to deliver a consistently high quality guest experience.


We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Baris Bolat, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanning
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhou Peninsula Resort
0.3 mi away
The Westin Shimei Bay Resort
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Shenzhou Peninsula Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort & Spa
Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort & ...
#1 of 61 in Lingshui County
123 reviews
11.5 mi away
Narada Resort & Spa  Perfume Bay
Narada Resort & Spa Perfume Bay
#5 of 61 in Lingshui County
30 reviews
0 mi away
Xinlong Hot Spring Hotel
Xinlong Hot Spring Hotel
#11 of 80 in Wanning
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Shimei Bay Tourism Area, Liji Town, Wanning 571529, China
Location: China > Hainan > Wanning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wanning
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wanning
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wanning
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wanning
Price Range: $109 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Hotel Wanning
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Wanning
Le Meridien Shimei Bay Beach Resort & Spa Hainan, China - Wanning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing