We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cristal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cristal Resort to your Saves list
Cristal Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 3917, Paje, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back to Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was my third visit to Zanzibar, due to the short noticed on the accmodation. We couldn't book in North, like we normally do. We managed to book at Cristal resort which was recommended by a friend. We had a lovely time. Staffs were friendly, and our huts were so romantic and the view of the ocean was breathtaking, the only disadvantage which we missed was the sunset, cause of the resort location to the east part of the Island.
We raised our concerns with the manager about their breakfast, the portion and the extra charges for certain items.

Nevertheless, all in all, we liked the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were really shocked to find that their internet presentation does not reflect the reality .... the hotel seems to be falling apart , not maintained at all , , the pool dirty , no shower to be seen so people jump in filled with sand . the breakfast is poor , and there seems to be zero manager dealing with the staff , I wonder what the owners do with the money , i don't think they put a penny in this place for maintenance and renovation , electricity cuts non stop , food , below average , beach filled with plastic bottles .... would not recommend this place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jade e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paje hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Last minute travelled to Zanzibar and decided to visit lovely Paje, on the other side of the island about a 45 minute ride from Stonetown. Cristal Resort is low key, on an endless great beach - ocean was warm, lovely and clean. Pool looked nice. No one is allowed to come near you or harass you on your chaise while at beach. There is a security guard during the day watching over the beach which was nice. Also very apparent at night.
My room was simple sort of rustic, bohemian with a fantastic view of Palms and beach! Heard the waves all night. Nice bed. The resort is owned/managed by a young French couple who go out of their way to accommodate you. The clientele consisted of many Europeans especially French but also a good mix of other nationalities mostly couples in their 30-40's. It is a family friendly resort so there were young children of all ages, and being the holidays, probably more apparent than usual. There is a non smoking policy in the open dining area. Smoking is allowed in the adjacent lounge area. The staff were all very kind and helpful.
Kite surfing is popular and ideal on this beach so fun to watch the colourful sails. There is a hip Thai /sushi restaurant that is nearby on the beach which is very good. Food at the resort was very good with a few wine choices.
I took advantage of getting a badly needed manicure and pedicure in the newly opened spa - all other treatments were available by a professional Thai masseuse.
The resort is laid back, so unless you are looking for more features or "luxury" accommodation, and if you just want to "get away" to swim and relax on a beautiful beach, this is a great value for sure. It's a pleasant drive from Stonetown with lots to see out the window plus some beautiful countryside - and not a long 2 hour + drive up north, taking up valuable beach time. Seafood is fresh, Jozzani Forest is 20 minutes, and excursions to Stonetown to shop or visit some of the out islands, ruins, spice tours or great snorkeling and diving trips are all within an hour or so away.

Room Tip: Owner told me all rooms are being renovated. I did not see new reno but sound nice. You might ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Good, power a problem, view great, great beach, good relaxing time. Breakfast okay, restaurants good. Beer not always cold :( Service acceptable, food good, eco rooms good but warm with fan only. Reception helpful and plenty to do.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great value for a deluxe bungalow with a/c. We were travelling as a 3 and the room was spacious and welcoming.

The beach is breezy but it keeps you cooler. Very fun to walk out and watch the seaweed farms being tended to in the morning. The breakfast was ok with nice coffee.

The swimming pool was clean and the water refreshing and it was nice to mix up beach and pool times! It was very quiet when we went so we always got a lounger.

The gem to this is the thai restaurant next door (owned by the hotel). The prawn curry was IMMENSE. We ate here three times!! Delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BengiCob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is an one hour drive from the ferry port in Stone Town (45 $ one way)that gets you to this resort. Driver sent by the hotel waited for us at the exit gate with the sign and he was helpful and courteous. On your way to the hotel don't miss out on stopping in a supermarket to stock up on whatever you might need*water, sodas, sun lotion...) since there are no stores in the hotels vicinity. Once in the hotel you might want to opt for eco lodge (best value for the money) It is very basic but definitely ads up to the entire Zanzibar experience. Eco lodge is small bathroom area is separated from the rest of the room by half wall it has netting on windows and all in all gives you Robinson Crusoe experience. Breakfast is very basic so don't keep your expectations high. We have decided on a half board option and I have to say that the dinner exceeded all expectations. (although the bar was set low due to the breakfast experience). Service is great. You can get beach towels from the reception desk so don't bother bringing extra towels with you..The swimming pool is small but clean and provides a nice refreshment during the low tides(which are really really low), If you are looking for a nice weekend getaway it's a perfect spot. Costs for two people are 160 $ ferry tickets round trip, 90$ cab ride to hotel round trip, 130$ two nights half board at eco lodge. For a total of 370$ not a bad deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgradeHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After reading of the reviews, I as a little nervous about my trip to Cristal Resort, but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the deluxe bungalow which was wonderful. We had AC, three beds (three girls were sharing) all with mosquito nets and a huge bathroom. The place was clean and tidy and inviting. We did at one point have a friendly guest of a gecko, but that’s too be expected anywhere in Africa. The staff were lovely, and we always had fresh towel, both in our bungalow and for the pool. The restaurant had a continual change of menu for dinner every night, and always had a variety of good meals. We also enjoyed our free breakfast, which consisted of toast, spreads, lovely fresh fruit and we could order eggs and/or pancakes as well. Yes it was extra for bacon or cereal, but why would you want it with all that was available for free?

For those reviewers who complained about power-outages, no welcome drink, having to carry your own bags and unfriendly staff, I do not know what you are talking about. Also, people should do their research before coming to Tanzania. Power outages are common, even in major cities, and when our power went out, it came back on within ten minutes (instead of 5 hours later in Arusha). Also, for the price of $23/person (with three girls) what do you expect, the Hilton? I was very impressed with the quality of the place, the beach, the variety of food and the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhia1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 7 in Paje
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pumzika Beach Resort
Pumzika Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Makunduchi
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Resort

Address: P.O. Box 3917, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cristal Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cristal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Resort Ltd Hotel Zanzibar
Cristal Hotel Zanzibar
Cristal Hotel Ltd
Cristal Resort Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing