We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paje by Night is a wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paje by Night Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paje by Night Hotel to your Saves list
Paje by Night Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paje by Night is a wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked for my son at Paje by Night in Zanzibar, while my husband and I stayed at Arabian Nights. This is a fantastic place, especially for young people. My son was very happy with his accommodation. Paje by Night is two minutes walk from the beach. It has a lovely atmosphere. It is "hip" and "cool". The garden is full of hammocks and comfortable chairs to lounge on and the pool is very inviting. The bar and lounge area has a great ambience. But ... the cherry on the top is the restaurant. We enjoyed a couple of lunches and suppers there and must give all the compliments to the chef! If any active person would like to visit Paje for a week, I would suggest that they consider taking a two-day kite surfing course at the start of their stay, then they can do as much kite surfing for the rest of the time. Paje by Night comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: The "standard plus room B&B" is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Win_V2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightadmin, General Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Win_V2013,

thank you for this beautiful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities while visiting your son.
Our chefs send you a 'high five' - they work hard and always try to improve. So good to hear that they succeeded!

All our blessings to Pretoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here 1 week in January. Excellent hotel, rooms are okay (not all have AC) but service is perfect. They have a nice lounge/restaurant area with good internet, excellent to hang out when you are not on the beach. The hotel is positioned 1min walk to the kitesurf spot which is one of the best in the world, although prepare for light wind conditions (bring at least a 12m kite).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElgarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in PBN for three days and absolute loved it! The atmosphere, friendly staff, swimming pool, cosy rooms and most of all the chef - every single meal we ordered was fantastic, definitely the best we had on the island. Near the hotel there is a supermarket and some other shops in the village, the beach is 2 minutes away. There was some sea weed and a really huge low tide, but still it was ok, nice sandy beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It was a verry nice stay. Good vipe, Clean, good house keeping!!! Room was fine whit wooden floor, Nice bed

In the locker for kite was the bottom rusty. So play attention wen you put your kiten in!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ErikG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightadmin, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hey ErikG1974,
thank you so much for your review. We took your remark seriously and together with our kite centre, we changed the bottoms of the storage in order to protect even better all kite gear.
All the best,
/nadja & the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

During my last stay - while staying also in various hotels and hostels - I always spent most of my time at the wonderful atmosphere at Paje by Night. As I really loved the beach and island vibe as well as the kiting spot, I had to come back. That what makes Paje by Night so special are the people behind it and the good vibes between the hotel guests and the team.
This was the reason why I absolutely was looking forward to check in there this year - luckily the hotel had availability!

I was not disappointed at all and it surpassed all my expectations!

What I also have to mention the new member of the Paje by Night family - Otto. A beautiful and lovely "baby" greate dane. You will only have fund and lovely moments with him.

When I first time entered my room - I had to take pictures to make my friends jealouse in what a nice room I will spend my next days and weeks. But the rooms don't only look stylish , they also really comfortable. I slept so well, that I even didn't hear a rainstorm during one night. Anyway, the highlight of my room was the high-tech-shower, which was a gift after spending the whole day kitesurfing or doing yoga on the beach.

KITING! A MUST - for EVERYONE and EVERY LEVEL - on this stunning beach! I came with some skills in waterstart but decided to take some lessons at the hotels kite centre Paje by Kite. Instructors "super geil" and IKO-licensed, I improved quickly. After a couple of hours, I was issued the official IKO-card and could rent out equipement with the centre. Everything run smoothly, you even have beach assistance (guys helping you with the set up, starting and landing). Payment is more than easy as hotel guests can add everything on their room and settle everything at check-out.

I am really looking forward to come back to Paje by Night and its great team!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerstinCologne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightadmin, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
KerstinCologne84,
you are rock'n'roll! And in the end it didn't matter that you didn't bring domenico.

We miss you and hope to see you again soon!

Smiles
/nadja & the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We discovered PBN on our second day in Zanzibar. We were staying at a hotel in Bwejuu but came down to Paje Beach everyday. There is a disco ball above the pool, a little area outside where you can watch TV, tons of hammocks and sofas around the property where you can just hang out, and a bar. We were there every afternoon for drinks. The cocktails are 10,000 tsh each but they are awesome! The food was great too, but service is super slow so be prepared to wait. Since we came here everyday, we decided to spend our last 2 days at PBN instead of going to Stone Town.

The rooms are far back from the beach, but it wasn't a big deal to us since it was a short walk. The rooms could use some updating, but they weren't terrible. We did see more bugs in the room than we did in our tent in Tanzania though, and I got my first and only 2 bug bites while staying there. I'm not sure who decided that black tile would go well on a bathroom wall but it only makes it look dark and older. The water pressure wasn't too great and spilled out all over the floor, but it was the first place we stayed that had hot water so that was really nice! The pillows were super uncomfortable.

You get a large spread at breakfast. Tea/coffee, one glass of fresh juice, either fruit salad or a plate of fruit, basket of bread, eggs how you like them and sausage or you can have bacon for additional money. Everything was good.

Despite the rooms not being the best, the whole place just has this relaxed atmosphere. Everyone is lounging around, laughing and having a good time. We really enjoyed hanging out here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheslikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hey ShelikeTexas,

thank you so much for your awesomely kind and constructive review! We are completely "wahoo" that you have been convinced of not (only) being guests of the bar but also of the hotel!

Taking suggestions seriously, we are working on the bathrooms: some of them are already equipped with brand new rain-massage-showers! (Well, they are black as well, all matching to the proper PbN-style, but how beauuuutiful they feel!?). Come back to check it out whenever you like…

All the best,
Nadja & the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel-Bienne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Paje by Night for almost 3 weeks! It was a beautiful place to be! Because of the nice atmosphere in the hotel, you can easly make a lot of contacts and feel at home. You can also use the pool 24h...The bungalow was nice and clean( the bathroom is basic, but the shower is big). They cleaned our bungalow every day and changed also the towel every day ( and every night they sprayed some mosquito spray). Sometimes the music could be lould but for us it wasn't a problem. The food was good ( large choice and good wine) and the drinks at the bar were fantastic! Just the breakfast wasn't the best( the fruits and juice were very good). The service could be very very slow but in vacation we had time, therefore it wasn't a big proplem to wait. We had also Wifi at the bar and restaurant but it is very slow. The kite atmosphere that we found at Paje by Night and Paje by Kite was ideal and we will recommend this hotel to every Kite fan :-). Thank you Nadja, Kati, Bangee, Aiste (perfect kite instructor)and all the staff for this beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: Bungalow 10: you don't hear the music Bungalow 11: very big and nice, good AC and nice LED ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swedencarotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
As representatives of our whole team, we would love to tell you that we feel more than blessed knowing that you enjoyed your time at PajeByNight and the little new inventions such as new big showers and mood lightening.
Hope to see you around again soon!

/nadja, marco & the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 7 in Paje
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
5.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paje by Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paje by Night Hotel

Address: Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Paje by Night Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paje By Night Hotel is simply different to all the others, from unique decorations, to our way to relate with our guests. Definitely not a place for everybody but very special for lots of travellers. We want to offer emotions, make you feel in holiday even just turning the lights on and off using our switches turning on the beautiful golden lights vintage bulbs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paje by Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje By Night Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing