We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, Quality experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ocean Restaurant, on the beach in Paje, Zanzibar, serves fantastic seafood, grills and pastas, with desserts to die for! Come straight off the beach and enjoy a cold drink, a lazy lunch or laid back dinner. We also serve a cafe menu during the day.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Overall, Quality experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ate at Ocean twice so far, both times i had the same thing (Beef skewers) on recommendation from the manager. The staff try really hard to appease everyone it seems, which for africa is a novelty. Value for money was impressive based on the high qaulity of food i received both times, would recommend to groups or a solo traveller alike... Thumbs up.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    57
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
410 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good food and relatively quick service for dinner (it helps if you pre-order). Nice atmosphere and good music too. We found prices a little bit on the high side compared to other places we ate in Zanzibar, but we're talking $1 or 2 per dish.
Another case of wrong location though - the restaurant is next to the Arabian Nights Suites and Annex and behind the Dive Centre but is not part of the hotel. If you eat at the restaurant in the Arabian Nights Suites you will be eating in a different restaurant; I think it's called Cinnamon, which is not as good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

some of the best food in paje, and i didn't meet the owner but apparently he is a legend too. highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank theycallmetrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The restaurant has a great view, friendly but slow staff, OK wifi connection. Food was expensive and dull. Not worth the money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOUCAS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious king prawns and coralfish cooked perfectly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had our last dinner here and it was really delicious! We had the grilled king prawns and the grilled coralfish with chunky potato chips with the skin on and aioli. It was super tasty and perfectly cooked and it was the best food we had on Zanzibar. If I ever return to Paje I will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christofer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Paje, Zanzibar Island
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 
Paje, Zanzibar Island
Pingwe, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing