We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced”
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ocean Restaurant, on the beach in Paje, Zanzibar, serves fantastic seafood, grills and pastas, with desserts to die for! Come straight off the beach and enjoy a cold drink, a lazy lunch or laid back dinner. We also serve a cafe menu during the day.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The restaurant has a great view, friendly but slow staff, OK wifi connection. Food was expensive and dull. Not worth the money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOUCAS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    57
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious king prawns and coralfish cooked perfectly”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had our last dinner here and it was really delicious! We had the grilled king prawns and the grilled coralfish with chunky potato chips with the skin on and aioli. It was super tasty and perfectly cooked and it was the best food we had on Zanzibar. If I ever return to Paje I will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christofer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“T. I. A. = This is Africa”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We ate there a couple of times and each time everyone enjoyed their meal. It was pricey but what can you expect when you want to eat expat food overseas?

I believe the place is owned by a Kenyan of English heritage. Nice, very friendly.

Service can be slow but T. I. A....well T. W. A. We even got our food one night when the power was out. Carrying a torch or head lamp can come in handy.

Also free wifi!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KidKodak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had just come from a beach walk and were very thirsty and hungry.

Made a special request for a steak and it was just the way I had wished for.

The service was impeccable and very friendly with the manager checking on us every so often to ensure we were well taken care of. The menu is very diverse and has offerings from grills, seafood to pasta with some fantastic desserts.

It has great views of the ocean and the breezze makes the restaurant very cosy to sit in and relax.

Definate "go back to" restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuindeKioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view, good food.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is facing the beach, the most beautiful beach in Zanzibar. We had a great lunch here. The service is good. The food is delicious. Highly recommended this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorettalo908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Paje, Zanzibar Island
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 
Pingwe, Zanzibar Island
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing