We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, lovely ambience, prompt service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Arabian Nights Annex, Paje 791, Tanzania
+255 777 144 804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ocean Restaurant, on the beach in Paje, Zanzibar, serves fantastic seafood, grills and pastas, with desserts to die for! Come straight off the beach and enjoy a cold drink, a lazy lunch or laid back dinner. We also serve a cafe menu during the day.
Karachi Pakistan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, lovely ambience, prompt service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Loved everything about this place - absolutely no criticisms. From the decor to the service to the food absolutey lovely. I had the best fish and my husband had the crab filled pasta - both were divine. the only thing that could be improved upon could be the selection of music - it didnt fit the mood of the space.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Summaiya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    40
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Tanzania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been in Tanzania for 3 weeks now and Ocean is the best restaurant so far. Delicious food, European service, very welcoming manager and attentive staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fresh,and well done food. Taste nice, excellent texture and presented nice. Friendly and quick serviced. Family enjoyed and we returned next day. Will for sure come again when in Paje!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeacockDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited Ocean twice on our recent visit to Zanzibar and were not disappointed. Very welcoming Manager, Humphrey and attentive staff. Try the fish cakes , the crab balls and definitely the grilled prawns , amazing !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6 nights in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ocean is definately the best place to eat in Paje! I enjoyed it so much i ate here 6 nights in a row! As a solo traveller I was welcomed by Humphry, the lovely manager, and made to feel at home. The food was delicious, very fresh and clean. The service was great and the food was served very promptly, which isnt often the case on the island. The wine was also really good. For about $20 you can have a two course meal and wine, which is probably quite a bit compared to some other restaurants, but definately worth it! Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jessvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Paje, Zanzibar Island
Michamvi, Zanzibar Island
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing