We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best restaurant in Tanzania” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ocean Restaurant, on the beach in Paje, Zanzibar, serves fantastic seafood, grills and pastas, with desserts to die for! Come straight off the beach and enjoy a cold drink, a lazy lunch or laid back dinner. We also serve a cafe menu during the day.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Tanzania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been in Tanzania for 3 weeks now and Ocean is the best restaurant so far. Delicious food, European service, very welcoming manager and attentive staff.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fresh,and well done food. Taste nice, excellent texture and presented nice. Friendly and quick serviced. Family enjoyed and we returned next day. Will for sure come again when in Paje!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeacockDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited Ocean twice on our recent visit to Zanzibar and were not disappointed. Very welcoming Manager, Humphrey and attentive staff. Try the fish cakes , the crab balls and definitely the grilled prawns , amazing !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6 nights in a row!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ocean is definately the best place to eat in Paje! I enjoyed it so much i ate here 6 nights in a row! As a solo traveller I was welcomed by Humphry, the lovely manager, and made to feel at home. The food was delicious, very fresh and clean. The service was great and the food was served very promptly, which isnt often the case on the island. The wine was also really good. For about $20 you can have a two course meal and wine, which is probably quite a bit compared to some other restaurants, but definately worth it! Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jessvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Paje”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff here were so welcoming and lovely, they always ensured that we were very happy. The food here is by far the best on Paje beach and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beckyw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Paje, Zanzibar Island
Michamvi, Zanzibar Island
 
Paje, Zanzibar Island
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing