We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savanna and Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savanna and Ocean
Ranked #3 of 15 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Good value for money - $60 for an ensuite, double room with air conditioning and mosquito nets. Hot water a bit hit and miss but not really a problem in a hot country. Not on the beach but only about 2 mins walk away. Thoughtfully designed, little oasis with plenty of room to relax. Is at the northern end of the beach but only 10mins walk to a cluster of restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
22
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paje
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Fantastic place to be if you want to have a nice and relaxing stay. It´s near to the beach ( which by the way is amazing), has the sweetest and most helpful staff, has good food in the restaurant and is surrounded by colorful flowers, palms and an authentic african ambiance - in the good way. Really recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissVisitTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This fits into what I call the East African Mid range hotel or guest house. Reasonable rates. Clean accomodations and a great host. I love this place!

Good restaurant, great beach (when the tide is in) and a wonderful staff.

The tours offered by the hotel are good.

This is generally a great value and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennethDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I experienced an amazing week staying at this hotel!

Highlights:
Right next to the beach!
Great rooms- with air conditioning!
Awesome restaurant- i suggest the beef burger!
Fun atmosphere- great lounge above the restaurant, plus hammocks and lounge chairs in the sandy court yard to relax with other guests

But what makes it different from the other hotels are the staff. Every member of the staff was extremely committed to making my trip as great as possible. They helped me set up all of the activities for the week (blue safari,blue lagoon, Prison Island, Cave tours, Spice tours, Jozani forest). They also helped me book a flight to Tanzania. Plus, they were extremely friendly.

Great Trip!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I didn't want to leave and I can't wait to go back. This is not a 'hotel' experience, but one where guests are made to feel completely at home. The small team of staff are friendly, patient and helpful. Jan, the owner, has a light touch on the whole concept and this makes the atmosphere very relaxing. My companion and I enjoyed interacting with staff and learning Swahili. Our requests were dealt with efficiently. The food was good and the bar had a reasonable stock, including cold Kilimanjaro beer (my personal favourite). Great music too.

The nearby beach is wide, with white crumbly sand, fabulous shells and a nice range of people selling kangas, Maasai jewellery etc, but without the constant hard sell that can be found in other places. Our Maasai beach guard, Isa, was the epitome of quiet strength and care. I really wish I had stayed longer to talk with him more. My best day in Zanzibar was spent on the beach, hanging out with Maasai guys who came to sell us jewellery and ended up coaching us in Swahili and explaining their lives. It was magical. Completely safe and no pressure to buy.

The rooms are basic. No TV. There is a reliable wireless connection and most of us sat around drinking coffee checking our email. This is not a hotel, but a place to sleep, eat, drink, hang out and enjoy the people and the natural environment. There are some problems, such as the air conditioning unit not working well in our room (but we were moved), and large holes in the mosquito nets. In spite of this, I have returned feeling fabulously relaxed and rejuvenated. I really want to go back there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Just check that the mosquito nets don't have holes and that the a/c units are working correctly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mafimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#5 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean Blue
Zanzibar Ocean Blue
#4 of 15 in Paje
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savanna and Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna and Ocean

Property: Savanna and Ocean
Address: Paje east coast, Paje 0915, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Savanna & Ocean Hotel in Paje on the beautiful east coast of Zanzibar. Here you can relax in the peaceful surroundings, while you are being swept away by the adventurous Zanzibar with its countless senses of impressions. When Zanzibar a few years back was given an honour by the BBC for being the world’s best holiday island, this was mainly because of the combination of paradise, adventure, history and the grand hospitality. Words that we do not just agree with 100 %, but also really believe meet the values of what we have to offer here in our little paradise hotel. We wish to inspire our guests with an authentic atmosphere and give them the opportunity to experience the many facets of Zanzibar and Tanzania. Our friendly and obliging staff will make sure that you get exactly what you wish for, out of your stay. We offer you one of the world’s most beautiful beaches, where you can relax and just dream away for a while, we are specialists within a big range of experiences for those who wish to explore that inner adventurer, we have local African art visible everywhere in the hotel area, and we offer short afternoon courses for those who would like to be introduced to the local language, Swahili or if you simply have interest in the Swahili culture in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Savanna and Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savanna And Ocean Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing