We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cozy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paje Beach Guesthouse

Paje Beach Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paje
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paje Beach Guesthouse
Save
You added Paje Beach Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 15 Paje B&B and Inns
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Are you interested in staying in a clean and safe place? Just only a few minutes walk from the beautiful white and long stretched out beaches there is cozy guesthouse hidden behind a red gate with clean and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed equipped with a big mozi net, ceiling fan and own shower and toilet. Price quality is on par.

I have stayed there a couple of times and many more will follow, I sure will spread the word around to the mainland people. The warm smile from Rashid makes you feel welcome and safe at all times. I suggest just try it out;-)
Jax

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackster-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paje Beach G, Owner at Paje Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hello there! Thanks for your kind words, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. And if you have any request for your next visit, don't hesitate to call us in advance. Greetings :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I'm a little late in writing the review, we stayed here in Feb 2012. We first stayed in nearby Dhow inn, splashed out and had a great stay. But we had to come back to Paje to finish a kite surfing course and needed a cheaper place to stay.

Paje Beach guesthouse is around 5-10mins from the waters edge near Dhow Inn. It has a few rooms and the manager is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not included but for a small price he will make breakfast for you, bread, eggs, fruit etc. They had a deal with Dhow Inn that guest could use the pool and wifi for free which is really great. The walk to the main section of Paje is around 15-20mins, best done by walking to the beach first. We walked along that section of beach many times at night (we stayed in Paje for about a week all up) and it never felt unsafe. That being said we always just carried a torch (the roads have hardly any light down to beach) and only enough money for the night. This is something we do in most places at night just for security reasons.

Each room is super spacious and if you get one of the two that are on the beach side, there are excellent sea breezes to cool the room down. No air-con, but there is fans. The beds had the massive mosquito nets common to Zanzibar.

The place is quiet, the road is somewhat nearby, but the traffic is non-existent! The only down points is the beautiful blue floors do rub off on things, I don't think it stains, it just mean be careful when putting clothing down (we didn't care about our backpacks it eventually rubbed off). The mattresses where covered in plastic still, which is great for hygiene but a bit hot and sticky in the Zanzibar weather. But the mattress were really new and comfortable otherwise.

Overall a very cheap place to stay in Zanzibar, only a small amount of walking required to get around. Recommended if you need to save some dollars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sea facing side of the building to get more sea breezes and less traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Im not usually in to leaving messages, but this place deserves it. Small but extremely comfortable, very clean and the beds... slept like a log, and that's almost a first, backpacking through east africa. And have rashid take you to the local pool bar just up the road! So funny and nice. Since the rooms don't have windows the wind breezes by, which is nice. Too bad you can hear the cars drive by on the road, but for that price, it's probably the best bet i got.

Thanks and i'm sharing, as promised!

Greetings,
Ruth

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paje Beach G, Owner at Paje Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind reply! It was great having you, and we look forward to you coming again. And I am sorry about the cars you heard from the road.

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paje hotels
0.2 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#5 of 7 in Paje
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
1.6 mi away
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#4 of 21 in Paje
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kitete Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paje Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paje Beach Guesthouse

Property: Paje Beach Guesthouse
Address: Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paje Guesthouse is located on the South-East coast of Zanzibar. The guesthouse is only a three minute walk from the beautiful white beaches with the finest collection of palm trees of the island. Rooms are clean light and safe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paje Beach Guesthouse Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing