We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Paje!”
Review of Demani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Demani Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Paje!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here in a dorm for three nights in June. It was the third place we stayed in Zanzibar and the second place we stayed in Paje. The atmosphere at Demani lodge is great! The staff are really welcoming, friendly and helpful!
The pool and gardens are gorgeous and a lovely place to chill. The shared bathrooms were really clean and looked new.
The food was great and the bar is a brilliant place to have a few drinks!
The manager and staff were really friendly and even brought everyone on a day trip up the coast to see more of the island!
I'd recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Paje for a few nights!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demani L, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Katrina155

So glad to hear you enjoyed staying here!!!!

PS: The bathrooms were renovated in May so they were brand new when you stayed :)

Linn & Issa & Demani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    32
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
53
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Initially from the photos i thought this place would be too expensive however upon viewing their website i was totally wrong.
We had a upstairs double room bungalow which had nice views over the gardens. Did not need the fan on as the wind came through the mosquito net windows.
Best Backpackers we have found in East Africa. Food is cheap for Paje and the staff are great fun. The pool is a really nice bonus for a backpackers. Walk to beach is ten minutes which was fine for us.
Only thing is at night you need to take a taxi to Paje as you might get mugged on the beach as a friend did. However we ate out in the day and ate at the backpackers in the evening which suited us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frydayuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demani L, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Frydayuk1

Ah, its always heart warming to hear it when you had a great stay here at Demani Lodge :) That means all the hard work pays off :)

Linn & Issa & Demani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We didn't stay at this place but we went there very often to have a drink and dinner.

Lynn and her husband are very kind and welcoming people. When we arrived from Germany, it was late and dark, we had a nice first dinner and we were sure to come back. Almost every night! :-)

It´s an relaxed atmosphere around the bar and they have a nice pool area with wonderful light in the night. Staff is funny and helpful, they knew after 2 nights what we want to drink and they had always a joke for guests. The food was very good. you can use wifi for a reasonable price. Lynn was always willing to help because our host never has spoken with us :-(.

I know we will never come back to Zanzibar but we wish Lynn and his husband all the best for the future! You are doing a perfect work over there!

PS: Lynn if you read this by yourself, what modern african music did you play almost every night? Was it modern? It was absolutely good music :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demani L, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear illi73

Our staff is amazing and they do whatever they can to make our guests feel as welcomed as possible, either staying here or another place. I showed all of them you review and made sure they know you enjoyed :)

Tried to find the modern african music that was played the nights you were here but the music files were mixed up and I couldn't find it :( I loved it too! :)

Hope you are both doing good!

Linn & Issa & Demani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I can highly recommend Demani. Great staff and service. Nice rooms and its a little paradise. I will go back again in 1 month as i enjoyed it so much last time I was in Zanzibar.And the prices are so cheap for the rooms.

The drinks served in the bar is Perfect. I would recommend the drink called "Peace Bomba"

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were lucky that we chose Demani Lodge for our Zanzibar holiday. Comparing with other accommodation that are sky-high expensive for what they offer, Demani´s quality is quite good. It has relaxing atmosphere, nice personal, great cocktails.
The beach near Demani is not so beautiful as you may expect from Zanzibar but as we were on holiday we had enough time to walk to better one.
The only thing, I felt not comfortable about ,was the fabric curtain between the bedroom and the bathroom. I definitely prefer the wooden door. But it was the only slight discomfort I had.
I think that the restaurant service should be improved. Although the food is very tasty, it takes a little bit too much to serve it and sometimes you receive just a part of your order .
The breakfast was very good but more variety would be appreciated because I was fed up with eating eggs during 7 days. I was dreaming of toasts…
But apart from all these things, we had a great time there and we don’t regret any second spent in Demani.
Many thanks to Demani team, and hugs for Doctor Ameir :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Berta2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demani L, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Berta2702

Glad you enjoyed you stay, despite the fabric curtain :) Since you stayed with us we have employed new chefs and upgraded the food & drink menu so hopefully the menu, food and service has improved to the better :)

Linn & Issa & Demani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We did not stay here. We stayed across the road at Domokuchu Bungalows but at present they have no restaurant so we frequently popped over the road and came here. We were always well looked after and the food and service is excellent and the hammocks and setting makes for a very chilled afternoon and evening and is well worth visiting if you're on the east coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demani L, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Anthony J

The owner of Domokuchu is our very good friend and any guests of his or from outside are very much welcomed and taken well care of :) Hope to see you again some time!!

Demani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Wonderful new established backpackers. Large area with a pool which is not common in this price category in Zanzibar. Apart from the very lovely premises (which include meals and the bar) the place is a bit far away from everything. The first beach which you can reach in 3min. is not really a beach (more stones and corals than beach) but the next nice sand beach is not far away.
Unfortunately at our room there were not really hot showers as promised and there was also no fan (which could have made a difference as most parts of the bungalow were concrete).

But if travelling alone or in (budget oriented) groups this place is really great!

Room Tip: Unfortunately the double room ensuite has not really warm showers, so it might make sense to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilmann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demani L, Owner at Demani Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Tilmann F

And thank you for your review! I am really sorry to hear your room didnt have a fan as all our rooms are suppose to have fans! Did you ask the management about this? Cause if we had known we would have provided you a fan straight away!! And for all the rooms with bathroom there are heaters which needs to be switched on for some time in order to provide hot water. I am sorry to hear this was not working properly in your room and we will check it straight away in order to fix it.

As to the nearest beach there are season during the year all sand is washed out beacuse of the wind and the current. January/February/March are some of these months and thats why these are great months for kite surfing :) Other parts of the year it is all covered. But as you found out there is a great beach just to the left of this part, in front of Domokuchu Beach Bungalows, where there are no corals and only white, beautiful sand all year round :) Since we know the different seasons we always advice our guests to walk those three minutes extra to escape the corals :)

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again on this beautiful island :)

Demani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
249 reviews
4.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.2 mi away
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demani Lodge

Property: Demani Lodge
Address: Jambiani Road, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers, Kitesurfers and barefoot beach-lovers will adore the easy retreat oasis of Demani Lodge. Situated just a kilometre from Paje on the Jambiani Road, Demani's lush garden, swimming pool and easy access to the beach are topped off by flexible accommodation options with singles, doubles, triples, dorm room and nice, big rooms with wooden floor and bathroom en suite. Pick-up's can be arranged for extra cost. We have a BBQ with live music and party with DJ every Thursday, delicious food in the kitchen from 12 pm - 22 pm, and an open bar as long as there is people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Demani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demani Lodge Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing